House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date: April 27, 2015 Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: **2:05 PM**

Recessed: 2:45 PM

Reconvened: 3:35 PM

Recessed: 3:45 PM

Reconvened: 5:05 PM

Adjourned: 6:10 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Soderberg-CH, Rizer-VC, Hall-RM, Bacon, Bearinger, Devoe,

Dolecheck, Drake, Dunkel, Fisher, Forbes, Heaton, Heddens, Huseman, Landon, Mascher, Oldson, Rogers, Running-Marquardt, Sexton, Stutsman, Taylor, R.,

Taylor, T., Thede, Worthan

Absent:

Excused:

Chair Soderberg called the Appropriations Committee to order at 2:05 pm. Roll was called; quorum present. Minutes from the April 22, 2015, meeting were approved.

Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey provided the committee with an update on the avian influenza situation and response. Questions and discussion from the committee followed.

Republicans and Democrats went to caucus at 2:45 pm. Chair Soderberg called the meeting back to order at 3:35 pm.

Chair Soderberg recognized Representative Landon for opening remarks on <u>HSB 248</u> – A study bill relating to and making appropriations to certain state departments, agencies, funds, and certain other entities, providing for regulatory authority, and other properly related matters.

The Chair recognized Representative Landon for opening comments on amendment 248.1621. Discussion followed. Representative Landon was recognized for closing comments and the amendment passed, short form.

Chair Soderberg redirected the committee back to <u>HSB 248</u>, as amended. Discussion followed. The Chair recognized Representative Landon for closing remarks and Representative Landon moved the bill as amended. <u>HSB 248</u>, as amended, passed 14-11. Representatives voting yes: Soderberg, Rizer, Bacon, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Drake, Fisher, Heaton, Huseman, Landon, Rogers, Sexton, Taylor, R, and Worthan. Representatives voting no: Hall, Bearinger, Dunkel, Forbes,

Heddens, Mascher, Oldson, Running-Marquardt, Stutsman, Taylor T, and Thede. With passage, HSB 248, as amended, moves to the House floor as a committee bill.

Both parties went to caucus at 3:45 pm. Chair Soderberg called the meeting back to order at 5:05 pm.

Chair Soderberg recognized Representative Dolecheck for opening remarks on <u>HSB 247</u> - A study bill relating to the funding of, the operation of, and appropriation of moneys to the college student aid commission, the department for the blind, the department of education, and the state board of regents, providing for related matters, and providing effective date and retroactive and other applicability provisions.

The Chair recognized Representative Rogers for opening comments on amendment 247.1626. Discussion followed. Representative Rogers was recognized for closing comments and the amendment passed 14-11. Representatives voting yes: Soderberg, Rizer, Bacon, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Drake, Fisher, Heaton, Huseman, Landon, Rogers, Sexton, Taylor, R, and Worthan. Representatives voting no: Hall, Bearinger, Dunkel, Forbes, Heddens, Mascher, Oldson, Running-Marquardt, Stutsman, Taylor T, and Thede.

The Chair recognized Representative Dolecheck for opening comments on amendment 247.1633. Discussion followed. Representative Dolecheck was recognized for closing comments and the amendment passed 14-11. Representatives voting yes: Soderberg, Rizer, Bacon, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Drake, Fisher, Heaton, Huseman, Landon, Rogers, Sexton, Taylor, R, and Worthan. Representatives voting no: Hall, Bearinger, Dunkel, Forbes, Heddens, Mascher, Oldson, Running-Marquardt, Stutsman, Taylor T, and Thede.

The Chair recognized Representative Dolecheck for opening comments on amendment 247.1602. Discussion followed. Representative Dolecheck was recognized for closing comments and the amendment passed, short form

Chair Soderberg redirected the committee back to <u>HSB 247</u>, as amended. Discussion followed. Representative Dolecheck was recognized for closing comments and Representative Dolecheck moved the bill as amended. <u>HSB 247</u>, as amended, passed 14-11. Representatives voting yes: Soderberg, Rizer, Bacon, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Drake, Fisher, Heaton, Huseman, Landon, Rogers, Sexton, Taylor, R, and Worthan. Representatives voting no: Hall, Bearinger, Dunkel, Forbes, Heddens, Mascher, Oldson, Running-Marquardt, Stutsman, Taylor T, and Thede. With passage, <u>HSB 247</u>, as amended, moves to the House floor as a committee bill.

With no further business to come before the committee, Representative Dolecheck moved to arise at 6:10 pm.

Representative Chuck Soderberg	
Angie Goodale, Committee Secretary	