Senate Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for JUDICIARY

Date: *March 31, 2015*

Location: RM 22

Convened: 2:05 PM

Adjourned: 3:00 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Sodders-CH, Hogg-VC, Schneider-RM, Bisignano, Garrett, Horn, Kinney, Petersen, Quirmbach, Shipley, Taylor, Whitver, Zaun

Absent:

Excused:

Chairman Sodders called the Judiciary Committee meeting to order at 2:05.

The minutes of the last meeting were approved as distributed.

Democrats and Republicans went into caucus at 2:08.

Chairman Sodders called the meeting to back to order following caucus at 2:50.

Chairman Sodders turned the chair over to Senator Hogg.

Chairman Hogg recognized Senator Sodders for Governor Appointees.

Senator Sodders presented Jerry Bartruff for approval for the position of Director of Department of Corrections. The committee voted Mr. Bartruff for confirmation and should be placed on the Individual Appointment Calendar. The vote was unanimous via short form vote.

Senator Sodders presented Arlen Ciechanowski for approval for the position of Director of the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy. The committee voted Mr. Ciechanowski should be placed on the Individual Appointment Calendar without recommendation. The vote was 10 ayes – 3 nays with Senators Hogg, Petersen and Quirmbach voting nay via roll call vote.

Senator Sodders introduced HF 227.

<u>HF 227</u> passed with short form vote - 11 ayes - 1 nays -1 present with Senator Petersen voted nay and Senator Quirmbach voting present and passes to the calendar as a committee bill.

Senator Sodders introduced HF 299.

<u>HF 299</u> passed unanimously with short form vote - 13 ayes - 0 nays and passes to the calendar as a committee bill.

Senator Sodders introduced <u>HF 447</u>.

<u>HF 447</u> passed unanimously with short form vote - 13 ayes - 0 nays and passes to the calendar as a committee bill.

Chairman Hogg turned the chair back to Senator Sodders.

Senator Hogg introduced <u>HF 258</u>.

HF 258 passed unanimously with short form vote - 13 ayes - 0 nays and passes to the calendar as a committee bill.

Senator Hogg moved the committee adjourn at 3:00.

Senator Steven J. Sodders

Bob Christenson, Committee Secretary