\*House Committee\*

## COMMITTEE MINUTES for GOVERNMENT OVERSIGHT

Date: *April 2, 2015* 

Convened: *10:00 AM* 

Recessed: 10:05 AM

Reconvened: 10:25 AM

Adjourned: 10:55 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Kaufmann-CH, Heartsill-VC, Gaines-RM, Cownie, Lensing, Pettengill, Thede, Wolfe

Absent:

Excused: Representative Baudler

Chair Kaufmann called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m.

Roll call taken by clerk.

Approval of minutes from March 25, 2015 meeting.

Assignment of House Study Bill 238: Representative Pettengill (Chair); Representative

Heartsill; Representative Gaines.

Both parties went to caucus at 10:04 a.m.

Committee reconvened at 10:23 a.m.

Chair Kaufmann relinquished the chair to Representative Heartsill.

Chair Heartsill recognized Representative Kaufmann for opening comments on Senate File 449. Opening comments by Representative Kaufmann.

Chair Heartsill recognized Representative Kaufmann for opening comments on amendment 1286. Representative Kaufmann moved the amendment. Amendment 1286 passed with a voice vote.

Chair Heartsill recognized Representative Kaufmann for opening comments on amendment 1286.1310. Representative Kaufmann moved the amendment. Amendment 1286.1310 passed with a voice vote.

The Committee returned to Senate File 449 as amended. Discussion by Representatives regarding Senate File 449 as amended. Chair Heartsill recognized Representative Kaufmann for closing comments. Closing comments by Representative Kaufmann.

Representative Kaufmann moved Senate File 449 as amended. Senate File 449 as amended passed with 7 ayes and 1 nay.

Chair Heartsill relinquished chair to Representative Kaufmann.

Discussion among Representatives regarding Fort Madison prison issues.

Discussion among Representatives regarding Committee's future agenda and possible future speakers.

With no other business to come before the Committee, Representative Thede moved to adjourn the meeting.

Meeting adjourned at 10:55 a.m.

Location: RM 304

Representative Bobby Kaufmann

Amy Friedlander, Committee Secretary