Senate Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date: *March 25, 2015*

Location: RM 22

Convened: *1:10 PM*

Adjourned: 2:05 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Quirmbach-CH, Sinclair-RM, Behn, Bowman, Dvorsky, Hart, Hogg, Kinney, Kraayenbrink, Mathis, Schultz, Zaun

Absent:

Excused: Senators Schoenjahn-VC, Johnson, Wilhelm

The meeting came to order at 1:10 PM on March 25, 2015.

Senator Dvorsky moved to approve the minutes of March 23, 2015. Approval by the committee was unanimous. Vice chair Schoenjahn, and Senators Johnson and Wilhelm were excused.

Senator Quirmbach yielded the chair to ranking member Amy Sinclair. Senator Sinclair recognized Senator Quirmbach who identified the governor's appointees to the Iowa Board of Regents: Mary Andringa, president & CEO, Vermeer Corporation; Patricia Cownie, community volunteer; and Rachael Johnson, UNI student. The subcommittee recommended confirmation of all three. The committee approved the appointees 12-0; their names were moved to the Individual Confirmation Calendar. Sinclair returned the chair to Quirmbach.

Senator Quirmbach recognized Senator Mathis who identified Sigrid Lane, retired educational administrator, as a governor's appointee to the Early Childhood Iowa State Board. The committee approved the appointee 12-0; her name was moved to the En Bloc Confirmation Calendar.

Senator Quirmbach recognized Senator Dvorsky who identified John Hartung, governor's reappointee to the Iowa Higher Education Loan Authority. The committee approved the appointee 12-0; his name was moved to the En Bloc Confirmation Calendar.

Senator Quirmbach introduced Catherine Welch, Director of the Iowa Test Programs and Luci Willits, Deputy Executive Director, Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium. Each woman spoke. From the audience, Pat Roschewski, Data Recognition Corporation and Dave Tilly, Iowa Department of Education, spoke very briefly.

Senator Quirmbach recognized Senators Johnson, Sinclair, Bowman, Dvorsky, and Hart for questions and comments directed at Ms. Welch and Ms. Willits.

Senator Hart moved to arise at 2:05 PM.

Senator Herman C. Quirmbach

Rebecca Hoeppner, Committee Secretary