\*Senate Committee\*

## COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date: March 18, 2015

Location: RM 22

Convened: *1:05 PM* 

Adjourned: 2:15 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Quirmbach-CH, Schoenjahn-VC, Sinclair-RM, Behn, Bowman, Dvorsky, Hart, Hogg, Johnson, Kinney, Kraayenbrink, Mathis, Schultz, Wilhelm, Zaun

Absent:

Excused:

The meeting came to order at 1:05 PM on March 18, 2015.

Senator Quirmbach moved to approve the minutes of February 11, March 2, and March 4. Approval was unanimous for all 3 sets of minutes.

Subcommittee Chair Schoenjahn presented the paperwork for governor's nominees Dan Dutcher, Brenda Garcia, and Larry Hill to the Board of Educational Examiners. A unanimous short form vote moved all the nominees to the En Bloc Confirmation Calendar.

Subcommittee Chair Wilhelm presented the paperwork for governor's nominees Robert Ockerman, Brook Rosenberg, Jean Stadtlander, Shaun Ward Taylor, and Betty Zan to the Early Childhood Iowa State Board. A unanimous short form vote moved all the nominees to the En Bloc Confirmation Calendar.

Subcommittee Chair Mathis presented the paperwork for governor's nominees Katherine Averill, Michael Bunde, Terry Harrmann, and Leone Junck to the Early Childhood Iowa State Board. A unanimous short form vote moved all the nominees to the En Bloc Confirmation Calendar.

Subcommittee Chair Kinney turned in the paperwork for governor's nominees Brandon Arkland, Theresa Croonquist, Erika Hertel, Steven Muller, and Jenny Phan to the Iowa Autism Council. A unanimous short form vote moved all the nominees to the En Bloc Confirmation Calendar.

Subcommittee Chair Dvorsky turned in the paperwork for governor's nominee Gretchen Tegeler to the School Budget Review Committee. A unanimous short form vote moved Ms. Tegeler to the En Bloc Confirmation Calendar.

Senator Quirmbach thanked the various subcommittees for their work.

Senator Quirmbach introduced speakers from the Iowa Assessment Task Force:

- Tammy Wawro, President, Iowa State Education Association
- Jane Lindaman, Superintendent, Waterloo Community School District

• Mary Ellen Miller, State Board of Education

Each spoke about statewide assessment of student performance. Colleen Anderson of the Iowa Department of Education was asked to speak from the audience.

Senator Quirmbach thanked the speakers and had questions. He then recognized Senators Johnson, Bowman, Hart, Dvorsky, Zaun, and Kraayenbrink for questions and comments directed at the Task Force speakers. Senator Quirmbach thanked everyone.

Senator Quirmbach moved to arise at 2:17 PM.

Senator Herman C. Quirmbach

Rebecca Hoeppner, Committee Secretary