House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Date: February 17, 2015

Convened: *1:00 PM*

Recessed: 2:00 PM

Reconvened: 4:50 PM

Adjourned: 5:00 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present:

Representatives Koester-CH, Heartsill-VC, Staed-RM, Baxter, Branhagen, Carlson, Forbes, Gaskill, Gassman, Highfill, Hunter, Jones, Kaufmann, Kooiker, Kressig, Lensing, Mascher, Meyer, Rogers, Sheets, Thede

Absent:

Excused:

The House Local Government Committee was called to order at 1:05pm by Chair Koester in Room 19.

Roll call was taken. A quorum was present. The minutes of February 10 meeting were approved as distributed electronically.

Chair Koester reported consideration of the following bills: <u>HF 201</u>, <u>HF 89</u>, <u>HSB 109</u> and <u>HF 23</u>.

Committee members met in their respective caucuses.

The committee reconvened for voting at 1:40pm.

Chair Koester recognized Representative Rogers for opening remarks on <u>HF 89</u>. Following discussion, Representative Rogers moved the bill. The vote passed by 19 Ayes, 2 Nays and 0 absent. The Aye votes were Koester, Heartsill, Staed, Baxter, Branhagen, Carlson, Forbes, Gaskill, Gassman, Hunter, Jones, Kaufman, Kooiker, Kressig, Lensing, Mascher, Meyer, Rogers, and Thede. The Nay votes were Highfill and Sheets. Bill advances as a committee bill. Chair Koester recognized Representative Carlson for opening remarks on <u>HSB 109</u>. Following discussion Representative Carlson moved the bill. The vote passed by 21 Ayes, 0 Nays and 0 absent. The Aye votes were Koester, Heartsill, Staed, Baxter, Branhagen, Carlson, Forbes, Gaskill, Gassman, Highfill, Hunter, Jones, Kaufman, Kooiker, Kressig, Lensing, Mascher, Meyer, Rogers, Sheets and Thede. The bill advances as a committee bill.

Chair Koester moved to recess the meeting at 1:55pm until conclusion of house floor debate. Committee reconvened at 4:45pm. Chair recognized Representative Jones for <u>HF 23</u>, a bill previously deferred for which the Amendment 23.33 passed on February 3. Following discussion, Representative Jones moved the bill. It passed as amended on a vote of 19 Ayes, 1 Nay, 1 absent. The Ayes votes were Koester, Highfill, Heartsill, Staed, Baxter, Branhagen, Carlson, Forbes, Gaskill, Gassman, Jones, Kaufman, Kooiker, Lensing, Mascher, Meyer, Rogers, Sheets and Thede. The Nay vote was Hunter. Kressig was absent. It advances as a committee bill.

With no further business to come before the committee, Representative Jones moved to adjourn at 5:00pm.

Representative Kevin Koester

Location: RM 19

Representative Kevin Koester

•

Linda Koester, Committee Secretary