Senate Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date: February 16, 2015

Convened: 2:05 PM

Recessed: 2:10 PM

Reconvened: 2:40 PM

Adjourned: 3:00 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Q

Senators Quirmbach-CH, Schoenjahn-VC, Sinclair-RM, Behn, Bowman, Dvorsky, Hart, Hogg, Johnson, Kinney, Kraayenbrink, Mathis, Schultz, Wilhelm, Zaun

Absent:

Excused:

February 16, 2015

The meeting came to order at 2:06 PM.

Senator Schoenjahn made a motion to approve the minutes of the 02/02/2015 meeting. Approval was unanimous.

Senator Quirmbach & Senator Sinclair took their members to caucus at 2:08 PM. The meeting came back to order at 2:38 PM.

Senator Wilhelm made opening and closing remarks for <u>SF 69</u> and its amendment 144. <u>SF 69</u> and its amendment both passed unanimously on a short form vote.

Senator Mathis made opening and closing remarks for <u>SF 77</u>. Senator Johnson commented. The bill passed on a 10-5 vote. The ayes were from Senators Quirmbach, Schoenjahn, Bowman, Dvorsky, Hart, Hogg, Kinney, Mathis, Wilhelm, and Zaun. Nay votes were from Senators Sinclair, Behn, Johnson, Kraayenbrink, and Schultz.

Senator Wilhelm made opening and closing remarks on <u>SSB 1056</u> and its amendment 57. The amendment passed unanimously on a short form vote. The bill, as amended, passed 10-5. Aye votes were from Senators Quirmbach, Schoenjahn, Sinclair, Bowman, Dvorsky, Hart, Hogg, Kinney, Mathis, and Wilhelm. Nay votes were from Behn, Johnson, Kraayenbrink, Schultz, and Zaun.

Senator Quirmbach yielded the chair to Schoenjahn and then made opening remarks on <u>SSB</u> <u>1099</u>. Senator Schoenjahn asked for discussion. There was none. A record vote passed the bill, 9-6. The ayes were from Quirmbach, Schoenjahn, Bowman, Dvorsky, Hart, Hogg, Kinney, Mathis, and Wilhelm. Nay votes were from Senators Sinclair, Behn, Johnson, Kraayenbrink, Schultz, and Zaun.

Senator Quirmbach made opening and closing remarks on <u>SSB 1101</u>. Senator Schoenjahn invited discussion. Senators Zaun and Sinclair had comments and questions. A record vote passed 9-5. The ayes were from Senators Quirmbach, Schoenjahn, Bowman, Dvorsky, Hart, Hogg, Kinney, Mathis, and Wilhelm. The nays were from Senators Sinclair, Behn, Johnson, Schultz, and Zaun. Senator Kraayenbrink was excused from this vote.

Action on <u>SF 1109</u> was deferred by the Committee.

Senator Wilhelm moved to arise at 3:00 PM.

Location: RM 22

Senator Herman C. Quirmbach

Rebecca Hoeppner, Committee Secretary

-