COMMITTEE MINUTES for JUDICIARY

Date: February 5, 2015 Location: RM 22

Convened: *3:05 PM*

Adjourned: 3:40 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Sodders-CH, Hogg-VC, Schneider-RM, Bisignano, Garrett, Horn,

Kinney, Petersen, Quirmbach, Shipley, Taylor, Whitver

Absent:

Excused: Senator Zaun

Chairman Sodders called the meeting to order at 3:05 pm

The minutes of the 2/03/2015 meeting were approved unanimously without objection. Democrats and Republicans went to caucus at 3:10 pm. They returned from caucus at 3:25 pm. The following Governor Appointees were presented and approved via short form vote unanimously.

- John Hodges for the Board of Parol Member and Chairperson by Senator Quirmbach
- Timothy Carmody for the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy Council by Senator Petersen
- Norman Granger for the Iowa Board of Parole by Senator Taylor
- Adam Gregg for State Public Defender by Senator Sodders

Action on the following Bills:

Senator Sodders introduced <u>SF 21</u>. Passed unanimously with short form vote - 12 ayes - 0 nays - 1 absent

Senator Sodders introduced <u>SSB 1003</u>. Senator Sodders introduced amendment 1003.25.

Amendment passed unanimously with short form vote - 12 ayes - 0 nays - 1 absent. <u>SSB 1003</u> passed 9 ayes- 1 nay- 1 present - 1 absent. Bill will be passed to the floor via Rule 40.

Senator Kinney introduced <u>SSB 1011</u>. Senator Kinney introduced amendment 1011.25.

Amendment passed unanimously with short form vote - 12 ayes - 0 nays - 1 absent. <u>SSB 1011</u> passed unanimously with short form vote as amended - 12 ayes - 0 nays - 1 absent. Bill will be passed to the floor via Rule 40.

Senator Kinney introduced <u>SSB 1090</u>. Roll call vote was called. The following Senators voted "Nay": Senators Bisignano, Horn and Quirmbach. All other Senators present voted "Aye". Bill passed 9 aye - 3 nay- 1 absent

Senator Quirmbach moved to adjourn at 3:40 pm,

| Bob Christenson, Committee Secretary | |
|--------------------------------------|--|