## COMMITTEE MINUTES for AGRICULTURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES APPROPRIATIONS SUBCOMMITTEE

Date: *January 29, 2015* Location: *RM 305* 

Convened: *10:00 AM* 

Adjourned: 10:45 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Wilhelm-CH, Kinney-VC, Rozenboom-RM, Dearden,

Schultz; Representatives Drake-CH, Mommsen-VC, Ourth-RM, Isenhart, Jones,

Paustian, Ruff, Wills

Absent:

Excused: Representative Miller, H.

Senator Wilhelm called the meeting to order at 10:02. Roll was taken, with every legislator present excepting Representative Miller, who was excused.

Representative Ruff moved to approve the minutes from the previous meeting, which were approved without objection.

Senator Wilhelm then introduced Sherman Lundy – Chair of the State Soil Conservation Committee, and Alex Schmidt, who filled in for Jane Weber – President of the Conservation Districts of Iowa – who was unable to attend the subcommittee meeting. Mr. Lundy and Mr. Schmidt then presented their budget requests for FY2016.

Mr. Lundy and Mr. Schmidt requested the following budgetary levels for FY2016:

- An additional \$1.7 million to full staff the 100 Soil and Water Conservation Districts
- \$6.75 million for the Water Quality Initiative/Nutrient Reduction Strategy
- \$1 million line item for Urban Conservation
- \$3.84 million to close half of the Agricultural Drainage Wells
- \$6.75 million for the Iowa Financial Incentive Program/Cost Share
- \$2 million for the District Initiative/Conservation Reserve Program
- \$2.75 million for Watershed Protection
- \$850,000 for Farm Demonstration Projects
- \$600,000 for the Loess Hill/Hungry Canyons project
- \$250,000 for the Southern Iowa Development & Conservation Authority project
- \$5 million for the Watershed Improvement Review Board
- \$20 million to fully fund the Resource Enhancement and Protection Fund (REAP)

After their presentation, legislators posed questions and comments. Senator Rozenboom, Representative Isenhart, Representative Ourth, Representative Ruff, Representative Jones, Representative Wills, and Senator Wilhelm each spoke in turn.

Senator Wilhelm then thanked Mr. Lundy and Mr. Schmidt for their presentation.

Representative Ourth then moved to adjourn a	at 10:45.
Senator Mary Jo Wilhelm	
Kevin Protzmann, Committee Secretary	