COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date: March 27, 2014 Location: RM 103

Convened: *11:05 AM*

Recessed: 11:10 AM

Reconvened: 11:40 AM

Adjourned: 11:55 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Soderberg-CH, Highfill-VC, Jacoby-RM, Bearinger, Deyoe,

Dolecheck, Drake, Dunkel, Fisher, Gustafson, Hall, Heaton, Heddens, Huseman, Koester, Lofgren, Lundby, Olson, T., Rogers, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, T.,

Thede, Watts, Worthan

Absent: None

Excused: Representative Winckler

Representative Soderberg called the Appropriations Committee to order. Roll was called; quorum was present. Minutes from the March 24, 2014, meeting were approved.

The Chair assigned the following bill:

SF 2318 A bill for an act relating to state and school antiharassment and antibullying policies, establishing an office of support and analysis for safe schools, establishing a school climate improvement grant program, providing for training on harassment and bullying prevention and response, making appropriations, and including effective date provisions. (Formerly SSB 3149.)

Dolecheck, Chair; Lundby, Rogers

Both parties went to caucus at 11:10. Representative Soderberg called the meeting back to order at 11:40.

Representative Soderberg recognized Representative Deyoe for opening remarks on <u>HSB 683</u>, an Act relating to and making appropriations to the department of cultural affairs, the economic development authority, the department of workforce development, the Iowa finance authority, the public employment relations board, and the state board of regents and regents institutions, and providing for other properly related matters.

Representative Soderberg recognized Representative Deyoe for opening remarks on amendment 683.3611. Following discussion, Representative Deyoe was recognized for closing comments and moved the amendment on short form. The amendment passed on voice vote.

The Chair returned the committee to <u>HSB 683</u>, as amended, and recognized Representative Deyoe for opening remarks. Following discussion, Representative Deyoemoved the bill. <u>HSB 683</u>, as amended, passed, 24-0. Representatives voting yes: Soderberg, Highfill, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Drake, Fisher, Gustafson, Heaton, Huseman, Koester, Lofgren, Rogers, Watts,

Taylor, and Thede . Representative Winckler was excused and did not vote.
With passage, <u>HSB 683</u> , as amended,moves to the House floor as a committee bill.
With no further business to come before the committee, Representative Deyoe moved to arise at 11:55.
Representative Chuck Soderberg

Angie Goodale, Committee Secretary