COMMITTEE MINUTES for STATE GOVERNMENT

Date: March 18, 2014 Location: RM 22

Convened: *2:05 PM*

Adjourned: 2:35 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Danielson-CH, Jochum-VC, Smith, R.-RM, Bowman, Chapman,

Courtney, Dearden, Feenstra, Horn, McCoy, Petersen, Schneider, Sodders

Absent: None

Excused: Senators Anderson, B., Bertrand

Attendance

Approval of 3/13/14 minutes

Governor's Appointments put before the Committee:

Senator McCoy offered the following appointments:

Vision Iowa Board - Subcommittee of McCoy, Sodders, Bertrand: Eric Bookmeyer, Craig Johnson, Mark Kapfer, Tammy Robinson

Board of Massage Therapy – Subcommittee of McCoy, Sodders, Bertrand: Bruce Bockoven, David Edwards, Jill Ellsworth, Robert Johnson

Commission of Deaf Services – Subcommittee of McCoy, Horn Smith: Martha Meyer

Accountancy Examining Board – Subcommittee of McCoy, Dearden, Smith: Shelley Laracuente, Dale Leibfried

Senator Petersen offered the following appointments:

Board of Dentistry – Subcommittee of Petersen Dearden, Smith: Diane Meier, Mary Kelly Grief, Steven Fuller

Board of Dietetics – Subcommittee of Petersen, Dearden, Feenstra: Daniel Deutschman, Stacey Loftus

Board of Social Work – Subcommittee of Peterson, Dearden, Feenstra: Mark Hudson, Cynthia Schuman.

Board of Speech Pathology and Audiology – Subcommittee of Petersen, Dearden, Feenstra: Ryan Austin, Alison Lemke

Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy – Subcommittee of Petersen, Jochum, Chapman: Craig Newton, Rachel Judisch, Bradley Earp, Melinda Shetler

Senator Jochum offered the following appointments:

Commission on Community Action Agencies – Subcommittee of Jochum, Petersen, Anderson: Anna Brown, Tom Quiner, Mary Whisenand

Commission of Asian and pacific Islanders Affairs – Subcommittee of Jochum, Sodders, Schneider: Michelle Yoshimura, George Youi Sayavong, Karlai Thornburg

Commission for the Blind – Subcommittee of Jochum, Sodders, Anderson: Peggy Elliot

Senator Sodders offered the following appointments:

Board of Psychology – Subcommittee of Sodders, Dearden, Anderson: Heidi Vermeer-Quist, Adam Kurth, Sarah Henderson

Engineering and Land Surveying Examining Board – Subcommittee of Sodders, Courtney, Feenstra: Marlon Vogt, Jerry Shellberg, Robert Fairfax

Landscape Architectural Examining Board – Subcommittee of Sodders, Peterson, Feenstra: Jonathan Martin

Board of Mortuary Science – Subcommittee of Sodders, Courtney, Chapman: Rebecca Ervin, Carl Linge, Todd Kale, Martin Mitchell

Architectural Examining Board – Subcommittee of Sodders, McCoy, Schneider: Tyler Kamerman, Jerry Purdy

Senator Danielson offered the following appointments:

Administrator of the Alcoholic Beverages Division – Subcommittee of Danielson, Horn, Schneider: Stephen Larson

Administrator of the State Racing and Gaming Commission – Subcommittee of Danielson, Horn, Smith: Brian Ohorilko

Senator Jochum moved to put the appointments of Stephen Larson, Administrator of the Alcoholic Beverages Division and Brian Ohorilko, Administrator of the Racing and Gaming Commission on the Individual Calendar. The motion passed unanimously in a short form vote.

Senator Dearden moved to put the remaining appointments on the En Bloc Calendar. The motion carried unanimously in a short form vote.

| Senato | r Jeff Da | nielson | | |
|--------|-----------|---------|--|--|
| | | | | |
| | | | | |
| | | | | |

Senator Anderson moved the meeting Adjourn.

Kathy Peterson, Committee Secretary