Senate Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for STATE GOVERNMENT

Date: *March 13, 2014*

Location: RM 22

Convened: 12:40 PM

Adjourned: 12:55 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Danielson-CH, Jochum-VC, Smith, R.-RM, Anderson, B., Bowman, Chapman, Courtney, Dearden, Feenstra, Horn, McCoy, Petersen, Schneider

Absent: None

Excused: Senators Bertrand, Sodders

Attendance

Approval of 3/6/14 minutes

Senator Dearden moved to waive rule 39. The motion passed unanimously.

House File 2366 receive an Amend and Do Pass recommendation (Amendment 3220) by a short form vote of 13 ayes, 2 absent.

House file 2370 received a Do Pass recommendation by a short form vote of 13 ayes, 2 absent.

House File 2288. Senator Petersen moved to allow someone from the lobby answer a question regarding the bill. The motion was adopted by unanimous consent. House File 2288 received a Do Pass recommendation by a short form vote of 12 ayes, 1 nay (Petersen), 2 absent.

Governors Appointments put before the Committee:

Elevator Safety Board - Subcommittee of Courtney, Bowman, Feenstra: Jeremy Musil, Justin Carleton

Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine - Subcommittee of Courtney Bowman, Feenstra: Ann Werner, Keith Leonard

Commission on the Status of Women - Subcommittee of Courtney, Dearden, Schneider: Phyllis Peters, Rachelle Hunt Russian, Thomas Carnahan, Sherill Whisenand, Aaron Sewell

Board of Chiropractic - Subcommittee of Courtney, Petersen, Smith: Nancy Netolicky, Lorraine May, Rex Jones

Real Estate Appraiser Examining Board - Subcommittee of Jochum, Sodders, Smith: Gene Nelsen, Caryl Swaim

Real Estate Commission - Subcommittee of Jochum, Sodders, Smith: John Goede, Helen Kimes, Janet DeMott, Michael Telford

Board of Barbering - Subcommittee of Bowman, Dearden, Schneider: John Anderson

Boiler and Pressure Vessel Board - Subcommittee of Dearden, Courtney, Anderson: Lynn Rush, Thomas Dye, Frank Ballantini

Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers - Subcommittee of Dearden, Jochum, Feenstra: Jon McAvoy, Catherine Dangelser

Interior Design Examining Board - Subcommittee of Dearden, Jochum, Feenstra: Scott Hatfield, Dorothy Fowles

Commission on the Status of African Americans - Subcommittee of Horn, Bowman, Schneider: Veronica Sutton, Madai Taylor

Board of Cosmetology Arts and Sciences - Subcommittee of Horn, Bowman, Anderson: Mary Clausen, Jacquelyn Hein, Lois Leytem, Jeffrey Porter, Nicole Russell

Board of Physician Assistants - Subcommittee of Horn, Courtney, Chapman: Jon Ahrendsen, Peter Stopulos,

Board of Podiatry - Subcommittee of Horn, Courtney, Chapman: John Bennett, Gerald Edgar

Senator Dearden moved the appointments go to the En Bloc calendar.

Adjournment

Senator Jeff Danielson

Kathy Peterson, Committee Secretary