House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date: January 29, 2014

Location: RM 102

Convened: 2:05 PM

Adjourned: 3:00 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present:	Representatives Jorgensen-CH, Stanerson-VC, Steckman-RM, Abdul-Samad,
	Cohoon, Dolecheck, Forristall, Fry, Gaines, Gassman, Hanson, Hess, Koester,
	Mascher, Miller, L., Rogers, Ruff, Salmon, Staed, Winckler, Wood

Absent: None

Excused: Representatives Byrnes, Hanusa

Representative Jorgensen (CH) called the meeting to order at 2:07 pm.

The roll was taken.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

The Chair assigned the following bills:

- <u>HF 2038</u>: Hess CH, Rogers, Winckler
- <u>HF 2044</u>: Stanerson CH, Hanusa, Gaines
- <u>HF 2045</u>: Dolecheck CH, Rogers, Mascher
- <u>HF 2055</u>: Salmon CH, Fry, Abdul-Samad
- <u>SF 220</u>: Fry CH, Gassman, Hanson
- <u>HSB 580</u>: Byrnes CH, Forristall, Ruff

A presentation was given by Dr. Michelle Hosp, Director of the Iowa Reading Research Center. Discussion followed the presentation.

As there was no other business to come before the committee, Representative Ruff moved to arise.

The committee adjourned at 2:59 pm.

Representative Ron Jorgensen

Dillon D Malone, Committee Secretary