COMMITTEE MINUTES for HUMAN RESOURCES

Date: March 14, 2013 Location: Room 22

Convened: *12:05 PM*

Adjourned: 12:20 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Ragan-CH, Wilhelm-VC, Boettger, Bolkcom, Ernst, Hatch, Jochum,

Mathis, Quirmbach, Segebart

Absent: None

Excused: Senators Johnson-RM, Dotzler, Whitver

Committee Chair Ragan called the meeting to order at 12:05 pm in Room 22.

Minutes from the March 4th meeting were approved.

Governor's Appointments

Senator Ragan recognized Senator Jochum for the report on Gary Lippe (Mental Health and Disability Services Commssion) and Arnold Honkamp (Council on Human Services). Senator Jochum moved the appointments to the en bloc calendar.

Senator Ragan recognized Senator Mathis for the report on Betty King (Mental Health and Disability Services Commission), Susan Tyrrell (Board of Sign Language Interpreters and Transliterators), and Wayne Schellhammer (Child Advocacy Board). Senator Mathis moved the appointments to the en bloc calendar.

Senator Ragan recognized Senator Hatch for the report on Bill Ainsley (Board of Sign Language Interpreters and Transliterators) and Eric Oostenink (Board of Behavioral Science). Senator Hatch moved the appointments to the en bloc calendar.

Senator Ragan recognized Senator Quirmbach for the report on Brett McLain (Mental Health and Disability Services Commission) and Sarah Thomas (Board of Behavioral Science). Senator Quirmbach moved the appointments to the en bloc calendar.

Senator Ragan recognized Senator Segebart for the report on Jeanne Sorensen (Child Advocacy Board). Senator Segebart moved the appointments to the en bloc calendar.

Senator Ragan recognized Senator Ernst for the report on Roberta Chamber (Health Facilities Council) and Richard Couch (Mental Health and Disability Services Commission). Senator Ernst moved the appointments to the en bloc calendar.

Senator Ragan recognized Senator Boettger for the report on Guy Richardson (Council on Human Services) and Elaine Sanders (Child Advocacy Board). Senator Boettger moved the appointments to the en bloc calendar.

Senator Ragan recognized Senator Bolkcom for the report on Scott Lindgren (Prevention of Disabilities Policy Council), Sharon Lambert (Mental Health and Disability Services

Commission), and Shaun McCarthy (Board of Athletic Training). Senator Bolkcom moved the appointments to the en bloc calendar.

Senator Ragan recognized Senator Wilhelm for the report on Neil Wubben (Commission on Aging). Senator Wilhelm moved the appointments to the en bloc calendar.

Senator Ragan turned the chair over to Senator Wilhelm.

Senator Wilhelm recognized Senator Ragan for the report on Bob Skow (Healthy and Well Kids in Iowa Board), Ruth Evans (Healthy and Well Kids in Iowa Board), and Rebecca Peterson (Mental Health and Disability Services Commission). Senator Ragan moved the appointments to the en bloc calendar.

Short form was requested. Voting for the en bloc were Senator Ragan, Senator Wilhelm, Senator Boettger, Senator Bolkcom, Senator Hatch, Senator Jochum, Senator Mathis, Senator Quirmbach, Senator Segebart.

Senator Wilhelm recognized Senator Ragan for HF 197. Senator Ragan introduced HF 197 and distributed amendment HF197.770. Senator Ragan recommended passage of the amendment. Senator Ragan requested short form vote on the amendment. Short form vote was taken on the amendment, passed unanimously. Senator Ragan requested short form vote on HF 197, as amended. The bill passed, as amended, with Senator Johnson, Senator Dotzler and Senator Whitver absent; and moved to the calendar under Rule 40.

Meeting adjourned at 12:21 pm.
Senator Amanda Ragan
Erica L. Shannon Stueve, Committee
Secretary