House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date: *March 12, 2013*

Location: Room 103

Convened: 1:05 PM

Adjourned: 1:45 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present:	Representatives Soderberg-CH, Lofgren-VC, Olson, T-RM, Bearinger, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Drake, Dunkel, Fisher, Garrett, Hall, Heaton, Highfill, Huseman,
	Kajtazovic, Koester, Lundby, Murphy, Rogers, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, T, Watts, Winckler, Worthan
Absent:	None

Excused: Representative Heddens

Representative Soderberg called the Appropriations Committee meeting to order. Roll was called; quorum present. Minutes from the March 6, 2013 meeting were approved.

At 1:07 PM Republicans and Democrats went to caucus.

Representative Soderberg reconvened the meeting at 1:31 PM and recognized Representative Lofgren for opening remarks on HJR 2, a Joint Resolution proposing amendments to the Constitution of the State of Iowa relating to state budgeting by creating a state general fund expenditure limitation, providing for a taxpayers trust fund, requiring authorization for certain bonds, and restricting certain state revenue changes. Questions and discussion followed. The Chair recognized Representative Lofgren for closing remarks on HJR 2. Representative Lofgren moved the bill, which passed 24-10. Representatives voting yes: Soderberg, Lofgren, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Drake, Fisher, Garrett, Heaton, Highfill, Huseman, Koester, Rogers, Watts, Worthan. Representatives voting no: Olson, Bearinger, Dunkel, Hall, Kajtazovic, Lundby, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, Winckler. Representative Heddens was excused and not present for the vote. With passage, HJR 2 will move to the House floor as an individually sponsored bill.

With no further business to come before the committee, Representative Deyoe moved to arise.

Representative Chuck Soderberg

Martha Raecker, Committee Secretary