## COMMITTEE MINUTES for WAYS AND MEANS

Date: February 14, 2013 Location: Room 102

Convened: *12:00 PM* 

Adjourned: 1:00 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Sands-CH, Landon-VC, Oldson-RM, Baltimore, Byrnes,

Cownie, Forbes, Forristall, Gaskill, Grassley, Hagenow, Hein, Isenhart, Kearns, Kelley, Maxwell, Muhlbauer, Prichard, Riding, Stanerson, Stutsman, Thomas,

Vander Linden, Windschitl

Absent: None

Excused: Representative Moore

Chair Representative Sands called the meeting to order at 12:00 Noon.

The roll call was dispensed with until after caucus.

The committee stood at ease at 12:01 PM for both parties to caucus.

The committee reconvened at 12:37 PM.

As there were no corrections, amendments and/or deletions to the February 11<sup>th</sup> meeting minutes, they were unanimously approved.

Roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

There were no bills assigned.

Chairman Sands requested unanimous consent that the committee dissolve into a Sub Committee of the Whole for Consideration of HF 215. Consent granted. The Chair recognized Representative Stanerson for opening comments and explanation on HF 215.

Representative Stanerson moved the bill and was passed on a voice vote.

The Sub Committee of the Whole dissolved back into the Committee.

The Committee reconvened.

The chair recognized Representative Stanerson for opening remarks on HF 215. A bill relating to and providing for education reform involving student, teacher, and administrator programs and activities under the purview of the department of education, the state board of education, the college student aid commission, school districts, and accredited nonpublic schools; making appropriations and providing for the establishment and retention of certain fees; and including transition and effective date provisions.

Representative Isenhart was then recognized for Amendment 221. The amendment was moved

and failed by a vote of 11 Ayes, 13 Nays and 1 Absent. The Ayes votes were Oldson, Forbes, Gaskill, Isenhart, Kearns, Kelly, Muhlbauer, Riding, Prichard, Stutsman, and Thomas. The Nay votes were Sands, Landon, Baltimore, Byrnes, Cownie, Forristall, Grassley, Hagenow, Hein, Maxwell, Stanerson, Vander Linden and Windschitl with 1 Absent.

HF 215 was moved and passed by the vote of 13 Aye to 11 Nay, and 1 Absent. The Aye votes were Sands, Landon, Baltimore, Byrnes, Cownie, Forristall, Grassley, Hagenow, Hein, Maxwell, Moore, Stanerson, Vander Linden and Windschitl. The Nay votes were Oldson, Forbes, Gaskill, Isenhart, Kearns, Kelly, Muhlbauer, Riding, Prichard, Stutsman, and Thomas. This bill will move to the house floor as an education bill.

As there was no additional business to come before the committee Representative Cownie moved to adjourn at 1:00 PM.

Representative Thomas R. Sands	
Catherine Miller-Sands, Committee	
Secretary	