Senate Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for TRANSPORTATION

 Date:
 February 11, 2013

 Convened:
 4:05 PM

 Adjourned:
 5:10 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Bowman-CH, Beall-VC, Kapucian-RM, Behn, Brase, Breitbach, Danielson, Dearden, Dvorsky, Feenstra, McCoy, Taylor, Zumbach

Absent: None

Excused: None

Senator Bowman called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m.

A silent roll was taken and the minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Chairman Bowman gave his opening remarks to the committee and called the first speaker to address the committee. The speakers were as follows: Tammy Nicholson, Iowa DOT rail study, Geoff Fruin, Illinois Case Study, Grinnell Mayor Gordon Canfield, president of the Iowa Association of Railroad Passengers, Jeff Krutz, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers & Trainmen, Brenda Mainwaring, Union Pacific Railroad, Dan Sabin, Iowa Northern Railway, Glenn Lyons, Des Moines Downtown Community Alliance.

Senators Bowman, McCoy, Breitbach, Brase and Taylor asked questions on the presentations.

Chairman Bowman made final comments and then Senator Danielson moved the meeting adjourned at 5:11 p.m.

Senator Tod R. Bowman

Maggie Younger, Committee Secretary

Location: Room 116