Senate Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date: February 4, 2013

Location: Room 22

Convened: 2:30 PM

Adjourned: 3:25 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Quirmbach-CH, Schoenjahn-VC, Beall, Behn, Boettger, Bowman, Hart, Hogg, Johnson, Mathis, Sinclair, Zaun

Absent: None

Excused: Senators Ernst-RM, Dvorsky, Wilhelm

The meeting was called to order by Senator Quirmbach at 2:30 PM.

Senator Quirmbach asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the January 30, 2013 meeting. Senator Behn so moved. The minutes were approved unanimously.

Senator Quirmbach welcomed and introduced the speakers for the meeting. They were:

*Mary Jane Cobb - Executive Director, Iowa State Education Association

*Jeff Anderson – President-elect, Iowa Association of School Boards, and the Boone School Board

*Tom Narak – Lobbyist, School Administrators of Iowa

*Dave Benson – Superintendent, Cedar Rapids for Urban Education Network

Senator Quirmbach thanked the speakers. Questions were taken from Senator Quirmbach, Senator Hogg, Senator Bowman, and Senator Boettger.

Senator Hogg moved to arise at 3:25 PM.

Senator Herman C. Quirmbach

Rebecca Hoeppner, Committee Secretary