

AGENDA

Small City Clean Water Standards Compliance Study Committee Wednesday, December 5th, 2018 10:00 am Room 103 (Supreme Ct. Chamber) State Capitol Des Moines, Iowa

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/committees/committee?ga=87&session=2&groupID=31964 CHARGE

Identify and comprehensively review the financial and other challenges faced by small cities in complying with the various state and federal clean water standards, and to consider options for addressing those challenges. The committee shall evaluate the future effectiveness of the Wastewater and Drinking Water Treatment Financial Assistance Program and the Water Quality Financing Program, and may evaluate any other existing or proposed state programs. The committee shall seek input and may request information or assistance from public and private stakeholders and experts, including utility management organizations, the Iowa Association of Business and Industry, the Department of Natural Resources, the Iowa Finance Authority, the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, the Economic Development Authority, the Iowa Chamber Alliance, the Iowa League of Cities, and the Iowa State Association of Counties. The committee shall submit its findings and recommendations to the General Assembly for consideration during the 2019 legislative session.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

SENATE	HOUSE	
Ken Rozenboom, Co-chairperson	John H. Wills, Co-chairperson	
Rich Taylor	Terry C. Baxter	
Dan Zumbach	Wes Breckenridge	

MORNING SESSION

Presided by Co-chairperson Rozenboom

Times	Speakers	Topics
10:00 a.m. to	Co-chairperson Rozenboom	Call to Order
10:30 a.m.	Co-chairperson Wills	Attendance
		Election of Co-chairpersons
		Adoption of Rules
		Opening Remarks
10:30 a.m. to	Ms. Lori Beary	New Water Quality
11:00 a.m.	Community Development Director	Programs
	Iowa Finance Authority (IFA)	
11:00 a.m. to	Mr. Randy Pleima	Perspective by Iowa Rural
11:30 a.m.	General Manager	Water Association (IRWA)
	Mahaska Rural Water Association, Oskaloosa	
11:30 a.m. to	Ms. Jessica Hyland	Perspectives by Iowa
12:00 noon	립 Director, Public Policy	Association of Business and
	Director, Public Policy lowa Association of Business and Industry (ABI)	Industry (ABI)
	I ⊈I Mr. Tyler Marchall	
	চ.E., Principal Environmental Engineer	
	Stanley Consultants	
12:00 noon	Lunch Recess	
to 1:00 p.m.		

AFTERNOON SESSION

Presided by Co-chairperson Wills

Times		Speakers	Topics
1:00 p.m. to 1:40 p.m.		Mr. Jon Tack Chief of the Water Quality Bureau, Department of Natural Resources (DNR)	Agency Administration of Programs
	2nd PANEL	Mr. Jake Hansen Water Resources Bureau Chief, Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship (DALS)	
		Ms. Lori Beary Community Development Director Iowa Finance Authority (IFA)	
1:40 p.m. to 2:10 p.m.	3rd PANEL	Mr. Randy Van Dyke CEO Iowa Lakes Regional Water Mr. James LaPlant CEO/Engineer	Perspectives by Utility Management Organizations
	3	Iowa Regional Utilities Association (IRUA)	
2:10 p.m. to 2:50 p.m.		Mr. John Stineman Executive Director Iowa Chamber Alliance (IAC)	Perspectives by Cities
	NEL	Mr. Daniel Stalder Government Outreach Coordinator Iowa League of Cities	
	4th PANE	Mr. Ted Payseur Chair, Government Affairs Committee Iowa Water Environment Association (IAWEA)	
		Mr. Matt Wildman Chair, Small Community Committee Iowa Water Environment Association (IAWEA)	
2:50 p.m. to 3:10 p.m.	Co-chairperson Wills Co-chairperson Rozenboom		Committee Discussion Closing Remarks