

FOURTH REVISED TENTATIVE AGENDA

Recycling Policy Study Committee

Monday, October 19, 2015 10:00 a.m. Room 116

MEMBERS

Senator Rita Hart, Temporary Co-chairperson Senator Pam Jochum Senator David Johnson Representative John H. Wills, Temporary Co-chairperson Representative Jake Highfill Representative Beth Wessel-Kroeschell

10:00 a.m. Call to Order

- Roll Call
- Election of Co-chairpersons
- Adoption of Rules

Opening Remarks by Co-chairpersons and Introduction of Committee Members

10:15 a.m. Overview of Beverage Container Recycling Laws

Alex Moon, Land Quality Bureau Chief, Department of Natural Resources (DNR)

10:45 a.m. Distributors' Perspective

Kirk Tyler, President, Atlantic Coca-Cola Bottling Company

Don Hensen, Vice President Plains Region, Dr. Pepper Snapple Group

Kyle Gansen, Field Operations Manager, Lime Rock Springs Co./Pepsi-Cola Bottling Company of Dubuque

Jay Doll, Doll Distributing, LLC, Des Moines

- 11:15 a.m. Break
- 11:30 a.m. Retailers' Perspective

Pat Hensley, Senior Vice President, Governmental Affairs, Business Innovation and Sustainability, Hy-Vee

Paul Schemmel, Store Manager, Fareway, Dubuque

Steve Grolmus, Owner, North Scott Foods, Eldridge and Williamsburg Foods, Williamsburg

12:00 p.m. Redemption Centers' Perspective

Joe Strunk, Owner, Main Ave Redemption Center, Clinton Troy Willard, Managing Member, Can Shed LLC, Cedar Rapids

- 12:30 p.m. Lunch
- 1:30 p.m. Recyclers' Perspective

Mick Barry, President, Mid-America Recycling, Des Moines Scott Dittmer, Dittmer Recycling, Inc., Dubuque Susan V. Collins, President, Container Recycling Institute

2:00 p.m. Economics of the Bottle Bill

Dr. Dermot Hayes, Pioneer Chair of Agribusiness, Professor of Finance, Professor of Economics, Iowa State University

- 2:15 p.m. Overview and Comparison of Recycling Policies Alex Moon, Land Quality Bureau Chief, DNR
- 2:45 p.m. Recycling Beyond the Bottle Bill Panel

Eric O'Brien, Sustainability Coordinator, University of Northern Iowa

Dubuque Comprehensive Municipal Recycling Program Paul Schultz, Retired Resource Management Coordinator, City of Dubuque Kathy Morris, Director, Waste Commission of Scott County

Reo Menning, Director, Metro Waste Authority, Des Moines

Tony Colosimo, CEO, Phoenix Recycling, Des Moines

Eric Holthaus, Sustainability Coordinator, The University of Iowa

- 3:30 p.m. Break
- 3:45 p.m. Committee Discussion and Recommendations
- 4:45 p.m. Adjournment