

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES STUDY COMMITTEE

MEMBERS

Senator Mary Jo Wilhelm, Temporary Co-Chairperson

Senator Michael Breitbach Senator Jake Chapman Senator Steven J. Sodders Senator Rich Taylor Representative Ralph C. Watts, Temporary Co-Chairperson

Representative Bobby Kaufmann Representative Todd Prichard Representative Sandy Salmon Representative Art Staed

Tentative Agenda

Wednesday, November 6, 2013 Room 116, State Capitol, Des Moines, IA

10:00 - 10:15 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Election of permanent Co-Chairpersons

Adoption of rules of procedure

Opening remarks

10:15 - 11:15 a.m.

Bureau of EMS, Iowa Department of Public Health--Ms. Rebecca Curtiss, Interim EMS Bureau Chief; Joe Ferrell, EMS Regulations Manager; Ken Sharp, Division Director for Acute Disease Prevention, Emergency Response, and Environmental Health

- Bureau structure, organization and staff, funding, responsibilities and duties
- Role of EMS Advisory Council
- Authorization of service agencies and certification of providers
- Regulation and provision of services across the state
- EMS System Development Grants and other sources of funding for EMS agencies

11:15 - 12:00 p.m. *lo*

Iowa EMS Association-- Mr. Jerry Ewers, President, and Ms. Linda Frederiksen, Vice President

12:00 - 1:00 p.m.

Lunch recess

| 1:00 - 1:45 p.m. | Emergency medical services training programsMs. Rosemary Adam, EMS Learning Resource Center, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics; and Ms. Tina Young, Southeastern Community College, West Burlington |
|--------------------|--|
| 1:45 - 2:15 p.m. | EMS reimbursementMs. Jennifer Vermeer, Director, Iowa Medicaid Enterprise, Iowa Department of Human Services |
| 2:15 - 3:00 p.m. | Public comment and Committee discussion |
| Tentative Agenda | |
| | Thursday, November 7, 2013 Room 116, State Capitol, Des Moines, IA |
| 9:00 - 9:15 a.m. | Call to order |
| | Opening remarks |
| 9:15 - 9:45 a.m. | EMS Advisory Council, Quality Assurance, Standards and Protocols (QASP) SubcommitteeMr. Dan Paulsen, QASP Representative, and Mr. Gerd Clabaugh, Iowa Department of Public Health Deputy Director |
| 9:45 - 10:00 a.m. | Break |
| 10:00 - 10:20 a.m. | EMS providerMr. Brian Donaldson, Critical Care Paramedic, Director, SEMS Paramedic Services, Sumner, Iowa |
| 10:20 - 10:50 a.m. | Public comment |
| 10:50 - 11:20 a.m. | Bureau of EMS questions and discussion |
| 11:20 - 12:00 p.m. | Committee discussion and recommendations |

12:00 p.m.

Adjournment