PUBLIC RETIREMENT SYSTEMS COMMITTEE

MEMBERSHIP

Senator Michael Connolly Temporary Co-chairperson Senator Jeff Angelo

Senator Staci Appel Senator Frank Wood Senator Mark Zieman Representative Pam Jochum

Temporary Co-chairperson Representative Mark Davitt Representative Jack Drake Representative Marcella Frevert

Representative Walt Tomenga

TENTATIVE AGENDA

Wednesday, October 31 and Thursday, November 1, 2007 Room 103, Supreme Court Chamber, State Capitol

Wednesday, October 31, 2007

10:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m. Preliminary Business

Elect Co-chairpersons

Adopt Rules Opening Remarks

10:15 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. Presentation Concerning the Municipal Fire and Police Retirement System of Iowa

(Chapter 411)

Dennis Jacobs, Executive Director Donn Jones, Silverstone Group, Actuary

11:15 a.m. – Noon Presentations Primarily Concerned with the Municipal Fire and Police Retirement

System of Iowa

Iowa League of Cities

Brad Novak, President, Iowa State Police Association

Jack Reed and Tom Fey, Iowa Association of Professional Firefighters

Noon – 1:15 p.m. Lunch

1:15 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. Tax sheltered annuities - School districts

Mark Beerman, Ahlers & Cooney, P.C.

1:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. Presentation Concerning the Judicial Retirement System

David Boyd, State Court Administrator

Peggy Sullivan, Director of Finance and Personnel, Judicial Branch

2:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Overview of Public Retirement Systems in Iowa

Ed Cook, Senior Legal Counsel, LSA

Thursday, November 1, 2007	
9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	Presentation Concerning the Iowa Public Employees' Retirement System (IPERS – Chapter 97B) Donna Mueller, Chief Executive Officer
10:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.	IPERS Investment Board David Creighton Sr., Member Karl Koch, Chief Investment Officer
10:15 a.m 10:30 a.m.	IPERS Benefits Advisory Committee Len Cockman, Chairperson
10:30 a.m 11:30 a.m.	Presentation from Organizations Primarily Concerned with IPERS Brad Hudson, Iowa State Education Association Iowa League of Cities State Police Officers Council Gaylord Tryon, School Administrators of Iowa Shannon Strickler, Iowa Hospital Association Jim West
11:30 a.m. – Noon	Presentation from Organizations Primarily Concerned with IPERS Special Classification membership. Sheriff Bill Sage, Deputy Dan Chapman, and Susan Cameron, Iowa State Sheriffs and Deputies Association Ray Blase and Susan Cameron, Iowa County Attorneys Association
Noon – 1:00 p.m.	Lunch
1:00 p.m 2:00 p.m.	Presentation from Organizations Primarily Concerned with inclusion in IPERS Protection Occupation classification. Bill Fish, Jerry Johnston, Cal Hultman, and Mike Triplett, Iowa Emergency Medical Services Association Pat Lynch, International Brotherhood of Teamsters, County Jailers AFSCME, Iowa National Guard Installation Security Officers AFSCME, Paul Houston, Polk County Attorney Special Investigators
2:00 p.m. – 2:45 p.m.	Presentation Concerning the Peace Officers' Retirement System Dave Heuton, Director of Administrative Services
2:45 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.	Presentations Primarily Concerned with the Peace Officers' Retirement System

Joint presentation, Iowa State Patrol Supervisors Association, Iowa State

Troopers Association, State Police Officers Council

3:00 p.m. – 3:20 p.m. Committee Discussion and Directions to Staff Establish third meeting date

Adjournment