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Stopdistractions.org supports HF75, A bill for an act relating to the use of an electronic 
communication device in a voice-activated or hands-free mode while driving, providing 
penalties, and making penalties applicable. 
 
StopDistractions.org is a grassroots non-profit organization dedicated to eliminating the lifelong 
devastation that results when a loved one is killed or injured in a distracted driving crash. We 
bring together distracted driving victims, victim survivors, foundations and the general public to 
build awareness and recognition to this reckless behavior. We are the faces of distracted 
driving. 
 
The proposed law will ban the use of hand-held cell phones while driving. You can still use gps 
and make & take calls hands-free. Hands-free laws give law enforcement and the public a clear 
interpretation of the law, if the phone is in your hand then you are in violation. No more grey 
areas or loopholes this law makes enforcement easy and possible.  
 
Nationwide:  24 states + DC, Puerto Rico, Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands currently have 
hands-free laws.   
9 of these states have passed hands-free laws since 2018 pushed by growing and overwhelming 
public support driven by the families of victims building grassroots support throughout their 
communities.  These crashes are a threat to public health now. They endanger lives and are 
costly to the entire family, community, and the state. 
 
Results of Laws: 
GA, MN, AZ, TN, ME, MA, VA, IN, and ID joined the list of the 24 states with hands-free laws 
since 2018. We already have seen decreases in some of the states that recently enacted their 
hands-free laws. 
Georgia: enacted their law in July of 2018. After a 34% increase in fatal crashes from 2014-16 
and a 12.6% insurance rate increase the Georgia legislature formed a study committee which 
issued a report concluding the need to pass hands-free legislation. The law passed with a vote 
of 144-18 in the House and 52-1 in the Senate and went into effect on July 1, 2018. The day the 
law went into effect telematics data showed phone use by drivers (typing & swiping) went 
down 22% in the first month. There was also a 90 day grace period across most of the state 
where drivers mostly received warnings. After this law went into effect, Traffic fatalities were 
down 3.4% from 2017-2018 which was the largest decrease in 10 years.  There was a 15% 
reduction in commercial motor vehicle fatalities. 
 
Telematics data shows that on July 1 there was a 22% reduction in drivers typing and swiping 
behind the wheel, which was the day the law went into effect.  Another drop was seen in 
December when the education and enforcement efforts really stepped up throughout the state 
for the holidays. 
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Rural Populations: 
To observe the effects of a hands-free law on a smaller/rural population we can look at 
Cherokee County, GA.   
In 2017 they investigated 34 fatalities. 
In 2018 they investigated 18 fatalities (the law went into effect July 1) 
In 2019 they investigated 9 fatalities. (as of 12/19/2019) 
 
Georgia Results statewide since enactment, July 1, 2018: 
Fatalities down 7% in 18 months of law in effect with an estimated 150 lives saved since 2017. 
 
2019 reduction in fatalities by type: 
30% reduction - bicyclists 
11% reduction – pedestrians 
10% reduction – ages 15-24 
11% reduction – ages 25 – 65 
11% reduction – intersections 
12% reduction – lane departures 
 
Minnesota: recently enacted their hands-free law that went into effect on August 1, 2019. 
Comparing 2018 -2019 distracted driving fatalities were down 2% and all fatalities were down 
4.67%.  The demographics of their citations also show it is all ages violating the law, this is not 
just a teen problem.  It is all of us.  
 
Tennessee: who enacted their hands-free law on July 1, 2019.  Looking at the periods of July – 
Dec. 2018 compared to July – Dec. of 2019 – distracted driving crashes are down 3.84%.  And as 
of Feb. 21, 2020 (before COVID)  overall fatalities in the state were down 9.6% and crashes 
were down 4.1%.   
Each state passing these laws is seeing reductions in crashes.  This is why there is so much 
public support, we know the laws will work. 
 
The Georgia Study Committee conducted an analysis of fatality data of the hands-free states 
and included it in their report with recommendations for a hands-free law and additional other 
measures.  With hands-free laws: 12/15 states saw an average 16% reduction in fatal crashes 
within 2 years after their hands-free law passed.  Six of the states and the District of Columbia 
saw a greater than 20% decrease in fatality rates. This comes from an analysis of NHTSA FARS 
data reported in the Georgia Study Committee Report. 
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The Stats/Why Support: 
Our phones simply do so much more, at any time, from any location and we as drivers have a 
hard time ignoring them. The evolution of this technology has increased use by drivers. How 
drivers are using their phones is changing, people don’t just talk and text, they facetime, watch 
Netflix, stream live, play games, etc.  IIHS (Insurance Institute for Highway Safety) data shows 
57% increase in drivers’ manipulation of their phones – +15% shopping. The addictive nature of 
the tech is purposeful.  App developers and social media create these experiences to addict us 
to make us continue to come back for more.  Which often occurs behind the wheel. 
 
Nowadays with the ways we use our phone changing so much texting laws are unenforceable 
and obsolete. It is too difficult to see what the driver is doing on their phone (texting, dialing, 
holding, etc) The laws are outdated and obsolete due to drivers taking the word texting literally. 
They claim they are not texting, instead they are snapchatting or on social media. We also have 
drivers live streaming and doing countless other dangerous activities on their phones that do 
not fit in the definition of texting anymore.  This is why we need a simple with clear law + 
phone in hand you are in violation.   
 
Telematics data now shows what drivers are actually doing while behind the wheel. BY 
analyzing this data they have seen increases in cell phone use by drivers year over.  The COVID 
pandemic has escalated the problem on our roadways.  Telematics data analyzed is now 
showing use of cell phones by drivers has gone up at least 38 - 50% as compared to before 
lockdowns.  
 
Another consequence of distracted driving crashes and fatalities that we are all paying the price 
for is in our insurance costs. Our insurance rates going up.  As one example, Georgia saw a 
12.6% increase in insurance rates in the years before passing their hands-free law. It has been 
common nationwide for these rates to go up and since 2011, the average insurance premium 
has jumped 16%. Insurers are citing a ”striking” correlation between the rise in smartphone use 
and crashes which is causing the sharp spike in rates.  To counter that, in states we have 
recently passed hands-free laws we are seeing insurance rates stabilizing or declining in some 
cases up to 2.5%. 
 
Public polling is showing widespread support across all constituencies nationwide.  We all 
overwhelmingly support hands-free laws while driving.  Public polling for Dems and Reps is at 
88-93% support.  Public sentiment has changed rapidly – the public overwhelmingly supports 
hands-free laws all across the nation. AS the headline says, “The public is finally at the point 
where they’re fed up.  They know this is a massive problem.”  At this point, everyone knows 
someone who has been impacted by a distracted driving tragedy, if not someone in our own 
family.  Due to this epidemic touching so many families, broad coalitions are working together 
to spearhead the grassroots change needed to save lives and change behavior.   



 
 

Jennifer Smith, President & CEO  Email: jsmith@stopdistractions.org 
Stopdistractions.org  Phone: (708)334-3058 

 
Cost: 
The biggest objection we hear is that it will cost drivers money to comply with the law if they do 
not have Bluetooth in their car. This is not true. There is NO additional cost to comply. There 
are countless apps available for voice activation which are free (Apple – Siri, Google Voice, etc.) 
If you require a mount those can be found for very low costs of $1-$5. 
 
Enforcement: 
Key point on enforcement – enforcement tries to educate and changing culture, it’s not about 
writing tickets, warnings are given in many instances.  Most surprisingly is the public reaction 
when stopped is supportive. We as drivers know we need to get off our phones, we know we 
should focus on the road.   Drivers are not upset when stopped either. 
Many ask can law enforcement even enforce this law since they have not enforced the texting 
law?  The answer is YES. Getting the phone out of the drivers hand clears up any loopholes.  
Plus this is not a new behavior.  Police have had over a decade to perfect their training and 
enforcement of distracted driving laws and behaviors. Law enforcement has training developed 
already on how to enforce these laws. This is offered as a free course through NHTSA/DOT 
Traffic Safety Services. IACP (Intl. Assoc. of the Chiefs of Police) also has a toolkit for 
enforcement. And a specialized law enforcement training has been in development and should 
be available immediately. 
 
 


