Monday, January 14, 2019
10:04AMThe House convened at 10:03 a.m.
10:06AMPledge of Allegiance
Carmine Boal is elected acting Chief Clerk
Oath of office administered to Carmine Boal by Representative Windschitl
Representative Matt Windschitl elected as temporary Speaker
Oath of office administered to the temporary Speaker
10:14AMReport of the Committee on Credentials adopted
The Chief Clerk administered the Oath of Office to the House members
10:31AMRepresentative Linda Upmeyer elected as Speaker
The Chief Clerk administered the Oath of Office to the Speaker
Remarks by Speaker Upmeyer
10:41AMCarmine Boal elected as permanent Chief Clerk
HCR 1 by Hagenow
Joint Convention - Condition of the State Address
HCR 1 - adopted
HCR 2 by Hagenow
Appointment of Joint Inaugural Committee: Representatives: Hagenow, Lundgren, Hinson, Pritchard, Anderson, and Smith
HCR 2 - adopted
HCR 3 by Hagenow
10:45AMJoint Convention - Condition of the Judiciary Address
HCR 3 - adopted
HCR 4 by Hagenow
10:46AMJoint Convention - Condition of the Iowa National Guard Address
HCR 4 - adopted
HCR 5 by Hagenow
10:47AMJoint Convention for the Inauguration of Governor and Lt. Governor
10:48AMHCR 5 - adopted
10:49AMImmediately Messaged: HCR 1, HCR 2, HCR 3, HCR 4, and HCR 5 to the Senate
10:50AMElection Contest Committee selection: Representatives: Holt, Jacobsen, Windschitl, Meyer, and Wolfe
10:52AMRepresentative Matt Windschitl elected as Speaker Pro Tempore
Chief Clerk administered Oath of office to Speaker Pro Tempore
10:53AMRemarks by Speaker Pro Tempore Windschitl
Seat selection this afternoon upon adjournment of the Joint Convention
HR 1 by Hagenow
10:58AMSelection and appointment of secretaries and pages
HR 1 - adopted
HR 2 by Hagenow
10:59AMArrangements for opening sessions with prayer
11:00AMHR 2 - adopted
11:53AMCommittee of Three appointed to determine the amount of mileage due each member and report to the House - Representative Bacon, Representative Best, Representative Breckenridge
87th General Assembly adopted as temporary rules and temporary compensation provisions
11:01AMRemarks by the Minority Leader Todd Prichard
11:06AMRemarks by the Majority Leader Chris Hagenow
Republicans will caucus in Supreme Court Chamber at 1:30 p.m.
11:11AMThe House recessed at 11:10 a.m. until 2:00 p.m.
2:03PMThe House reconvened at 2:03 p.m.
Committee of Three appointed to notify the Senate that the House is ready to receive it in Joint Convention - Representative Baxter, Representative Gerhold, Representative Donahue
2:04PMThe House stood at ease untill the fall of the gavel.
The House resumed session at 2:11 p.m.
2:11PMThe Committee to notify the Senate returned and reported
2:12PMPresident of the Senate, Secretary of the Senate, and honorable members of the Senate arrive in the House Chamber
2:14PMThe Joint Convention was called to order at 2:14 p.m.
Quorum present
Tellers from Senate appointed: Senator Smith, Chief Teller; Senator Rozenboom, Assistant Teller; Senator Mathis, Assistant Teller
2:15PMTellers from House appointed: Representative Jacobsen, Chief Teller; Representative Jeneary, Assistant Teller; Representative Oldson, Assistant Teller
2:16PMThe Joint Convention stood at ease at 2:15 p.m.
2:17PMCanvass of Votes
2:35PMThe Joint Convention resumed at 2:35 p.m.
2:36PMJoint Convention was dissolved
2:39PMThe House convened at 2:39 p.m.
2:40PMSeat selection
3:04PMReceived from the Senate: HCR 1, HCR 2, HCR 3, HCR 4, and HCR 5
Motion to accept the seat assignments - Motion prevailed
3:20PMThe House adjourned at 3:20 p.m. until Tuesday, January 15, 2019, at 8:30 a.m.
Last Updated: 3:20PM