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I. Introduction 
The property tax is the mainstay of local government revenues in Iowa.  This 

Legislative Guide provides an overview of the property tax system and endeavors to 
provide the reader with a basic understanding of the property tax system.  The Guide 
addresses the property tax from several different perspectives, including the assessment 
and collection process, the tax as revenue to local governments, and property tax credits 
and exemptions.  References in this Guide to the Iowa Code are to the 2014 Iowa Code.  
References to the Iowa Administrative Code and case law are to references published as of 
October 2013. 

The property tax in Iowa is used solely by those local government entities expressly 
permitted by state statute to impose the tax.  The power to authorize a local government 
entity to levy a property tax is expressly reserved to the state in the local government Home 
Rule Amendments of the Iowa Constitution.1  The property tax is levied against the 
assessed value of real property.  The consolidated tax rate differs in each locality and is a 
composite of county, city, special district, school district, and special levies. 

II. Structure of Property Tax 
A. Levy Rates 

Local governments that have statutory authority to certify property taxes for budgeted 
expenditures are required to certify their budgets to the county auditor in order that taxes 
may be levied and collected by the county.  Once collected, the county treasurer disburses 
the property tax revenues to the appropriate local government. 

The tax levy rates are expressed in dollars and cents per $1,000 of assessed 
valuation.  The amount of property tax due and payable in a fiscal year is determined by 
taking the property’s assessed value determined as of January 1 of the year preceding the 
year in which the fiscal year begins, i.e., 18 months prior, adjusted by statutory exemptions 
and the applicable rollback, and multiplying this amount by the consolidated levy rate, i.e., 
the total levy rates of all jurisdictions in which the property is located.  In many instances, 
the Iowa Code uses the terms “assessed value” and “taxable value” interchangeably when 
referring to the amount of value subject to the imposition of the levy rate after statutory 
exemptions and the assessment limitation (i.e., the rollback) have been applied.  To avoid 
confusion, this Legislative Guide uses the term “assessed value” to mean the value against 
which a levy rate is applied to determine property taxes due and payable.2 

At one time, tax levy rates were expressed in mills per dollar, i.e., millage rate.  One 
mill equals one-tenth of a cent or one-thousandth of a dollar.  Converting the millage rate to 
dollars and cents per $1,000, 1 mill equals $1 per $1,000 of assessed value.  However, at 
the time the millage rate was used, property was assessed for taxation at 27 percent of its 
market value, but the millage rate conversion was applied to property assessed at 100 
percent of market value.  Therefore, the millage rate had to be adjusted down to 27 cents 
per $1,000 of assessed value to reflect the proportion of property value subject to tax.  This 
                                            
1 Iowa Const. art. III, §§38A (municipalities) and 39A (counties). 
2 Iowa Code §441.21(1)(a) defines the terms “taxable value” or “assessed value” as the “value of the property upon which the levy shall 

be made.” 
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explains why a number of property tax levies are multiples of 27 cents.  For example, the 
$5.40 school levy was once 20 mills and the $8.10 city general fund levy was once 30 mills.  
It also may explain why proposed new levies and increases to existing levies are often in 
multiples or fractions of 27 cents. 
B. County Levies 

A county is permitted by state statute to impose two primary, or basic, levies.  The 
rural services levy is imposed only against property located in the unincorporated areas of 
the county and is deposited in the rural services fund to pay for those services provided 
primarily to the residents of the unincorporated areas of the county.3  The rural services 
levy may not exceed $3.95 per $1,000 of assessed value.  The general services levy, 
which is imposed countywide, may not exceed $3.50 per $1,000 of assessed value and is 
deposited in the general fund to pay for those services provided to all county residents.4  A 
county is also permitted to levy a supplemental property tax levy for only those purposes 
specified in Iowa Code section 331.424.  The amount of the supplemental levy rate is not 
limited by statute. 

Under Iowa Code section 331.426, a county board of supervisors may also certify 
additions to each of the basic levies (general services levy and rural services levy), if the 
county has experienced unusual circumstances which create a need for additional property 
taxes in excess of what can be raised under the basic or supplemental levies.  The Iowa 
Code specifies what those unusual circumstances are.  Special notice of an addition to a 
basic levy is required to be given simultaneously with notice of the required public hearing 
on the county budget.5 

A county may certify an addition to a levy in excess of the amounts permitted under 
the basic levy and any additions to the basic levy if the additional levy is approved at a 
special election by a simple majority of votes cast.6 

Counties are also required to levy property taxes for the partial funding of mental 
health and disability services.7  Under Iowa Code section 331.424A, each county’s levy 
authority is based upon a statutory per capita expenditure target amount multiplied by the 
county’s general population.  However, county revenues from such taxes may not exceed a 
specified base year expenditure amount.  Unlike other county property tax levies, a 
county’s mental health and disability services levy may not be increased or allowed to 
exceed the statutory limits pursuant to Iowa Code section 331.425 or 331.426. 
C. City Levies 

A city is permitted by state statute to impose a property tax levy rate for the city 
general fund not to exceed $8.10 per $1,000 of assessed value.8  A city is permitted to 
certify supplemental levies for only those purposes, and at only those rates, specified by 
Iowa Code section 384.12.  Some of the additional levies authorized under Iowa Code 
section 384.12 require initiation by petition and approval at election.  Both the $8.10 levy 
                                            
3 Iowa Code §331.423(2). 
4 Iowa Code §331.423(1). 
5 Iowa Code §331.426(2). 
6 Iowa Code §331.425. 
7 Iowa Code §331.424A. 
8 Iowa Code §384.1. 
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and the supplemental levies are general fund levies.  A city may certify a tax levy which 
exceeds that permitted by statute if the additional levy is approved at a special election by a 
simple majority of votes cast.9 

In addition to the general fund levies, cities are allowed to levy property taxes for the 
following funds established by state statute:  1) debt service fund;10 2) trust and agency  
 
funds;11 and 3) capital improvements fund.12  Cities are also allowed to establish an 
emergency fund, for which property taxes not to exceed 27 cents per $1,000 of assessed 
value may be levied each year.  Transfers from the emergency fund to the city general fund 
are governed by rules promulgated by the City Finance Committee, a committee of city 
officials and others, staffed by the Department of Management.13 
D. Education Levies 

1. School District Levies 
Since 1971, K-12 school districts in Iowa have been funded using a school 

foundation formula that combines state foundation aid and local property taxes.  The 
formula generates funding for each school district on a per pupil basis.  The school 
foundation level is the specified percentage of state cost per pupil for which the state 
will provide a maximum of funding.14  The foundation level for the regular program is 
87.5 percent of the state cost per pupil minus the amount per pupil generated under 
the school district foundation property tax levy.  For special education support 
services, the percentage is 79 percent of the state cost per pupil without subtraction 
for any foundation property tax levy.  The school district foundation property tax levy is 
$5.40 per $1,000 of assessed value.15  Since the foundation property tax levy and 
state aid do not fully fund the school district’s basic allowable spending, the school 
district imposes an additional property tax levy.16  School districts are allowed to levy 
income surtaxes and property taxes, in addition to the $5.40 levy and the additional 
property tax levy, to fund specified needs.  Some, but not all, of these funding 
mechanisms require district voter approval.  A description of additional sources of 
school district revenue can be found in the Legislative Guide entitled “Basic Iowa 
Education Finance.”17 
2. Community College Levies 

A community college board of directors must annually certify for levy a property 
tax of 20 and 1/4 cents per $1,000 of assessed value in the community college’s area 
to pay expenditures for operation of the community college.18  A board of directors 
may certify for levy an additional 20 and 1/4 cents per $1,000 of assessed value for a 

                                            
9  Iowa Code §384.12(19). 
10 Iowa Code §384.4. 
11 Iowa Code §384.6. 
12 Iowa Code §384.7. 
13 Iowa Code §384.8.  For composition and duties of the City Finance Committee, see Iowa Code §§384.13 through 384.15. 
14 Iowa Code §257.1. 
15 Iowa Code §257.3(1). 
16 Iowa Code §257.4. 
17 Legislative Services Agency, Legal Services Division, Basic Education Finance, available at 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/LSA/Legis_Guide/2011/LGLSL004.PDF (last visited October 2, 2013). 
18 Iowa Code §260C.17. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/LSA/Legis_Guide/2011/LGLSL004.PDF
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period of time not to exceed 10 years for specified purposes if approved by the voters 
at the regular school election or at a special election held in September of even-
numbered years.19  The revenues from the additional levy may be used for the 
purpose of maintaining, remodeling, improving, or expanding the community college, 
and specifically for the purchase of grounds, construction of buildings, payment of debt 
contracted for the construction of buildings, purchase of buildings and equipment for 
buildings, the acquisition of libraries, and payment of utilities.  Proceeds from the tax 
are to be deposited in the voted tax fund and used solely for the purpose for which the 
tax was voted.  A board of directors may enter into loan agreements in anticipation of 
the tax revenues.20  Finally, the board of directors may certify for levy an annual tax of 
not more than 3 cents per $1,000 of assessed value for equipment replacement for the 
community college.21  However, the rate certified may, for a period of 10 years, exceed 
the 3 cent limit if the excess levy is approved at election and is used for purposes of 
program sharing between community colleges or for the purchase of instructional 
equipment.  The excess certified for levy cannot cause the entire amount certified to 
exceed 9 cents.22 

E. Township Levies 
The specific duties and activities of townships limit the types and scope of property tax 

levies that may be imposed.  Township trustees may levy property taxes sufficient to pay 
for condemnation or purchase of lands for the use of cemeteries, a community center, or 
juvenile playgrounds and for necessary improvements to and maintenance of cemeteries in 
the township and in adjoining townships and for necessary improvements to and 
maintenance of public parks acquired by gift, devise, or bequest.23  Township trustees may 
also levy a tax not to exceed 6 and 3/4 cents per $1,000 of assessed value of taxable 
property to improve and maintain a cemetery not owned by the township if the cemetery is 
devoted to general public use.24  Township trustees may also levy a tax not to exceed 20 
and 1/4 cents per $1,000 of assessed value to build or acquire a public hall.25  Finally, 
township trustees may levy a tax to provide emergency services, i.e., emergency medical 
service and fire protection service, to the residents of the township.26  Limits on the levy for 
emergency services are as follows:27 

• For townships having a service agreement with a special charter city, 74 and 1/4 
cents per $1,000 of assessed value. 

• For townships located in a county with a population of 300,000 or more, 87 and 
3/4 cents per $1,000 of assessed value. 

• For all other townships, 60 and 3/4 cents per $1,000 of assessed value. 
                                            
19 Iowa Code §260C.22(1). 
20 Iowa Code §260C.22(1)(b). 
21 Iowa Code §260C.28(1). 
22 Iowa Code §260C.28(2). 
23 Iowa Code §§359.28 and 359.30. 
24 Iowa Code §359.33. 
25 Iowa Code §360.2. 
26 Iowa Code §359.43.  In counties with a population of 300,000 or more, “emergency services” includes an emergency warning system. 

Iowa Code §359.42. 
27 Iowa Code §359.43(1), (2).  These limits include a levy of 20 and 1/4 cents that may be imposed if the basic levy for emergency 

medical service and fire protection service is insufficient. 
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A township may establish a reserve fund for the purchase or replacement of supplies 
and equipment needed to provide emergency services and may credit up to 30 cents per 
$1,000 of its emergency services levy to the reserve fund.28 
F. Other Levies 

1. Local Assessment Levy 
All expenses relating to assessment of property are payable from the assessment 

expense fund established in Iowa Code section 441.16.29  Property taxes levied for 
purposes of assessment expenses are levied separately from other city and county 
property taxes.  The local conference board, and not the board of supervisors or city 
council, certifies the assessment expense levy to the county auditor.30  The 
assessment expense levy is only levied upon the property located in the particular 
assessing jurisdiction.31  The amount of the assessment expense property tax levy is 
limited to 67 and 1/2 cents per $1,000 of assessed value.32 
2. County Hospitals and Area Hospitals 

If a county hospital is established, the board of supervisors may levy a tax not to 
exceed 54 cents per $1,000 of assessed value for the erection and equipment of the 
hospital.  The board may also levy a tax not to exceed 27 cents per $1,000 of 
assessed value for the improvement, maintenance, and replacement of the hospital.  
However, in counties with a population of 225,000 or more, the levy for improvements 
and maintenance of the hospital cannot exceed $2.05 per $1,000 of assessed value.33  
An additional tax levy of 27 cents per $1,000 of assessed value is also authorized for 
the support of ambulance service.34  County hospitals supported by hospital revenue 
are also authorized by state statute.  In the event revenues are insufficient to support 
the hospital, the board of supervisors is required to pay the deficiency from amounts 
available in other county funds or to levy a property tax not to exceed $1.08 per $1,000 
of assessed value.35   

Any political subdivision of the state may consolidate with other political 
subdivisions to acquire and operate an area hospital for the benefit of residents in the 
merged area.36  The written plan for the area hospital must include the maximum 
amount of property taxes to be levied for debt service and for operation and 
maintenance of the area hospital.37  Voters in the merged area may vote to increase 
the maximum levy under the plan for a period of five years to fund capital 
improvements, hospital expansion, or equipment purchases.  The amount of the voted 

                                            
28 Iowa Code §359.43(4). 
29 In addition to maintenance of the office of assessor, expenses incurred by the examining board and salaries and expenses of the local 

board of review are payable from the assessment expense fund.  Iowa Code §441.16(2). 
30 For a description of the local conference board, see Part III of this Guide. 
31 Therefore, if a city has provided for the office of city assessor, the county assessor's levy cannot be imposed on property located in that 

city. 
32 Iowa Code §441.16(5). 
33 Iowa Code §347.7(1)(a). 
34 Iowa Code §347.7(3). 
35 Iowa Code §§347A.1 and 347A.3. 
36 Iowa Code §145A.1. 
37 Iowa Code §145A.3. 
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increase may not exceed 25 percent of the maximum levy amount approved under the 
plan.38 
3. Benefited Districts 

Residents of a county, or a particular portion of a county, may petition the board 
of supervisors to establish benefited districts to provide certain services.39  Approval of 
the establishment of a district often includes approval of the levy of a property tax on 
property owners within the district.  The property tax levies for benefited districts 
include the following: 
• Water districts — 81 cents per $1,000 of assessed value of property in the district 

if special assessments collected against the property are insufficient to pay 
bonded indebtedness.40 

• Fire districts — not more than 60 and 3/4 cents per $1,000 of assessed value of 
property in the district.41 

• Street lighting districts — not more than 54 cents per $1,000 of assessed value 
of property in the district.42 

• Law enforcement districts — not more than $1 per $1,000 of assessed value of 
property in the district (agricultural land, centrally assessed property, and 
manufacturing property cannot be included in a district).43 

• Recreational lake and water quality districts — for a combined recreational lake 
and water quality district, not more than $4 per $1,000 of assessed value of 
property in the district excluding property assessed as agricultural land; for a 
recreational lake district, not more than $4 per $1,000 of assessed value of 
property in the district; and for a water quality district only, not more than 25 
cents per $1,000 of assessed value of property in the district.44 

• Emergency medical services districts — not more than $1 per $1,000 of 
assessed value of property in the district (agricultural land and centrally assessed 
property cannot be included in a district).45 

• City emergency medical services districts — not more than $1 per $1,000 of 
assessed value of property in the district (agricultural land and centrally assessed 
property cannot be included in a district).46 

• Rural improvement zones — a standby tax of not less than 50 cents per $1,000 
of assessed value of property in the district and not more than $2.50 per $1,000 

                                            
38 Iowa Code §145A.19. 
39 For a general discussion of benefited districts see the Legislative Guide entitled “Special Districts,” Legislative Services Agency, Legal 

Services Division, available at https://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/LSA/Legis_Guide/2010/LGLSL014.PDF (last visited October 30, 
2013). 

40 Iowa Code §357.22. 
41 Iowa Code §357B.3. 
42 Iowa Code §357C.7. 
43 Iowa Code §§357D.3 and 357D.8. 
44 Iowa Code §357E.8. 
45 Iowa Code §§357F.3 and 357F.8. 
46 Iowa Code §§357G.3 and 357G.8. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/LSA/Legis_Guide/2010/LGLSL014.PDF
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of assessed value of property in the district, to be expended only if incremental 
taxes are insufficient to pay the amount of certificates sold for funding.47 

• Sanitary districts — not more than 54 cents per $1,000 of assessed value of 
property in the district for administrative expenses or for payment of deficiencies 
in special assessments.48 

• Real estate improvement districts — not more than 54 cents per $1,000 of 
assessed value of property in the district for administrative expenses or for 
payment of deficiencies in special assessments.49 

III. Local Assessment Officials 
Most real property is assessed locally by either the county or city assessor.  Any city 

having a population of 10,000 or more may provide by ordinance for the office of city 
assessor.50  The local assessor is appointed by a conference board following receipt of a 
report prepared by the examining board.51  The conference board also certifies the 
combined budgets of the local assessor, examining board, and board of review.52  In 
counties, the conference board is comprised of the mayors of all incorporated cities in the 
county whose property is assessed by the county assessor, one representative from the 
board of directors of each high school district of the county,53 and the members of the 
board of supervisors.  In cities having an assessor, the conference board is comprised of 
the members of the city council, school board, and county board of supervisors.  In 
counties, the chairperson of the conference board is the chairperson of the county board of 
supervisors.  In cities, the chairperson of the conference board is the mayor.  In any action 
taken by the conference board, the county representatives, city representatives, and school 
board representatives each comprise one voting unit and each voting unit has a single vote 
(i.e., three possible votes total).  The majority vote of the members present of each unit 
determines the vote of that unit.  Two out of the three unit votes are necessary to pass an 
action voted on by the conference board.54 

In addition to appointing the local assessor, the conference board is charged with 
appointing the local examining board, which examines and reports on prospective 
appointees to the position of assessor, and the local board of review, which primarily hears 
protests of assessments.55  Members of the local examining board are appointed to serve 
six-year terms and are required to be residents of the assessing jurisdiction.  The 
examining board serves without compensation except for payment of expenses.56  The 
local board of review may consist of three or five members each appointed to a six-year 
term.  The Iowa Code provides that, as nearly as possible, membership on the board of 

                                            
47 Iowa Code §357H.8(4).  A rural improvement zone may not include area that is part of an urban renewal area under Iowa Code chapter 

403.  Iowa Code §357H.4. 
48 Iowa Code §358.18. 
49 Iowa Code §358C.14. 
50 Iowa Code §441.1. 
51 Iowa Code §441.6. 
52 Iowa Code §441.16(4). 
53 The representative of the school board of directors must be a resident of the county.  Iowa Code §441.2. 
54 Iowa Code §441.2. 
55 Iowa Code §§441.3, 441.6, and 441.31. 
56 Iowa Code §441.3. 
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review shall include one licensed real estate broker and one registered architect or person 
experienced in the building and construction field.  In the case of a county, at least one 
member shall be a farmer.  Members of the local board of review must also be residents of 
the assessing jurisdiction and no more than two members of the board of review shall be of 
the same profession or occupation. 57 

When there is a vacancy in the office of assessor, the local examining board requests 
the Director of Revenue to send a register containing the names of all persons eligible for 
appointment as assessor.58  A person becomes eligible for appointment as assessor if the 
person has attained a score of 70 percent or greater on the written examination conducted 
by the Department of Revenue twice each year in Des Moines.59  A person who passes the 
examination and possesses at least two years of appraisal-related experience is granted 
regular certification and is eligible for appointment to a six-year term as assessor.  A person 
who passes the examination but lacks the requisite appraisal-related experience is granted 
temporary certification and is eligible for provisional appointment as assessor dependent 
upon completing a course of study prescribed and administered by the Department of 
Revenue.60  The examining board may conduct a further examination of any person listed 
on the register and must submit the report of its examination and the register of names to 
the conference board.61 

IV. Assessment of Property 
A. Classification and Assessment of Property 

Local assessors are charged with classifying real property located in their 
jurisdictions.62  The assessor classifies property according to its present use and not its 
highest and best use.63  Real property is placed in one of four classes for assessment 
locally: agricultural, residential (including agricultural dwellings), commercial, or industrial.64  
The classification of real estate is determined as of January 1 of the year in which the 
assessment is made.65  Residential property includes all lands and buildings which are 
primarily used or intended for human habitation, including those buildings located on 
agricultural land.66  Industrial property includes land, buildings, structures, and 
improvements used primarily as a manufacturing establishment.67  Agricultural property 
includes all tracts of land and the improvements and structures located on them which are 
in good faith used primarily for agricultural purposes.  Land and the nonresidential 
improvements and structures located on it are considered to be used primarily for 
agricultural purposes if its principal use is devoted to the raising and harvesting of crops or 
forest or fruit trees, the rearing, feeding, and management of livestock, or horticulture, all 

                                            
57 Iowa Code §441.31. 
58 Iowa Code §441.6. 
59 Iowa Code §441.5(1), (4). 
60 Iowa Code §441.5(4), (5). 
61 Iowa Code §441.6. 
62 See Iowa Code §427A.1 for a description of property that is subject to assessment and taxation as real property. 
63 Iowa Admin. Code 701-71.1(1). 
64 Iowa Code §441.21. 
65 Iowa Admin. Code 701-71.1(1) and Iowa Code §441.21. 
66 Iowa Admin. Code 701-71.1(4). 
67 Iowa Admin. Code 701-71.1(6). 
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for intended profit.68  Commercial property is land, improvements, and structures that are 
primarily used or intended as a place of business where goods, wares, services, or 
merchandise is stored or offered for sale at wholesale or retail.  Commercial property 
includes hotels, motels, and buildings containing three or more separate residences, except 
condominiums, multiple-housing cooperatives, and certain nonprofit housing.69 

However, for assessment years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, a 
multiresidential property classification begins.70  Multiresidential property largely includes 
property that prior to the assessment year beginning January 1, 2015, was classified as 
commercial property and includes mobile home parks, manufactured home communities, 
land-leased communities, assisted living facilities, and property primarily used or intended 
for human habitation containing three or more separate dwelling units.  In addition, 
multiresidential property includes that portion of a building that is used or intended for 
human habitation and a proportionate share of the land upon which the building is situated, 
regardless of the number of dwelling units located in the building, if the use for human 
habitation is not the primary use of the building and such building is not otherwise classified 
as residential property.  This provision allows the assessor to assign to that portion of the 
parcel the classification of multiresidential property and to such other portions of the parcel 
the property classification for which such other portions qualify.  The definition of 
multiresidential property, however, specifically excludes property that is rented or leased to 
low-income individuals and families as authorized by section 42 of the Internal Revenue 
Code or that is a hotel, motel, inn, or other building where rooms or dwelling units are 
usually rented for less than one month. 

Taxable real property is assessed at 100 percent of market value, except for 
agricultural property.71  Also, in determining the market value of property leased to low-
income persons for purposes of the low-income housing credit under section 42 of the 
Internal Revenue Code, the assessor is required to take into account the actual rents 
received and the extent to which its restricted use reduces the market value of the 
property.72 

“Market value” is defined in statute as “the fair and reasonable exchange in the year in 
which the property is listed and valued between a willing buyer and a willing seller, neither 
being under any compulsion to buy or sell and each being familiar with all the facts relating 
to the particular property.”73  Sale prices of the property being assessed or those of 
comparable property are taken into consideration.  Also, the probable availability or 
unavailability of purchasers is considered when arriving at market value.  Sale prices of 
property in abnormal transactions are excluded from consideration or are adjusted to 
eliminate the effect of factors which distort market value.74  If market value cannot readily 
be established based on sale prices and the considerations noted, the assessor may 

                                            
68 Iowa Admin. Code 701-71.1(3). 
69 Iowa Admin. Code 701-71.1(5).  
70 2013 Iowa Acts, ch. 123, §§24-30 (SF 295). 
71 Iowa Code §441.21(1)(a), (e). 
72 Iowa Code §441.21(2). 
73 Iowa Code §441.21(1)(b). 
74 Factors which distort market value include sales to immediate family members, foreclosure or other forced sales, contract sales, 

discounted purchase transactions, or purchase of adjoining land or other land to be operated as a unit.  Iowa Code §441.21(1)(b). 
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employ other appraisal methods as recognized and adopted by rule of the Department of 
Revenue.75  

The assessment year commences January 1 of each calendar year.76  Assessors 
have from January 1 to April 1 to complete assessments and to notify taxpayers.77  The 
valuation of property determined as of January 1 of the assessment year is for taxes due 
and payable in the fiscal year beginning July 1 of the following calendar year, i.e., 18 
months after the January 1 assessment date.78  Thus, a building added to property during 
the 2013 calendar year will first be assessed for taxation and placed on the property tax 
rolls on January 1, 2014, and will have taxes levied upon it which are due and payable in 
the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2015. 

Final abstracts of assessment are submitted by assessors to the Department of 
Revenue by July 1.79  Every two years in the odd-numbered year, local assessors are 
required by statute to conduct a reassessment (revaluation) of all real property in their 
jurisdictions.80  Also, every two years in the odd-numbered year, equalization orders are 
issued by the Department of Revenue. 
B. Assessment of Agricultural Property 

The assessment of agricultural property, excluding agricultural dwellings, is based 
exclusively on its productivity, or net earning capacity per acre, capitalized at a statutory 
rate of 7 percent.81  Agricultural dwellings are valued as rural residential property and are 
assessed at the same percentage of actual value as is all other residential property.82  The 
land underneath the dwelling is assessed as agricultural land, i.e., based on productivity. 
Productivity is determined by a five-year average productivity study originally developed by 
Iowa State University.  The productivity study is based on each county’s actual crop yields, 
prices, and expenses and the resulting formula reflects the county average net income per 
acre for the applicable five-year period.83  For example, the 2011 assessments were based 
on the years 2005-2009.  The 2013 assessments were determined by replacing years 2005 
and 2006 with 2010 and 2011. 

Agricultural land is assigned a corn suitability rating (CSR).  A corn suitability rating 
measures suitability of the land for producing corn (i.e., row crops) and its yield potential.  A 
corn suitability rating is an agronomist’s way of measuring soil type.  The assessor usually 
uses aerial photographs to identify various soil types and agricultural land use 
classifications present in the county.  Soil maps are used to show variations in the soil that 
indicate differences in crop-producing ability.84  Corn suitability ratings range from 5 to 100.  
A 100 rating is reserved for those soils located in areas of most favorable weather 

                                            
75 Iowa Code §441.21(2). 
76 Iowa Code §§428.4 and 441.46. 
77 Iowa Code §441.28; 2013 Iowa Acts, ch. 123, §§53, 64, 65 (SF 295). 
78 Iowa Code §441.46. 
79 Iowa Code §441.45. 
80 Iowa Code §428.4. 
81 Iowa Code §441.21(1)(e)-(g). 
82 Iowa Code §441.21(6). 
83 Iowa Admin. Code 701-71.12(1). 
84 Iowa Code §441.21(1)(f) provides that “[i]n counties or townships in which field work on a modern soil survey has been completed 

since January 1, 1949, the assessor shall place emphasis upon the results of the survey in spreading the valuation among individual 
parcels of such agricultural property.” 
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conditions for Iowa, that have high crop yield potential, and that can be continuously row 
cropped with little soil erosion.85  A corn suitability rating based on soil type may be 
adjusted for a number of reasons, including when the use of the land for row crops is 
impractical due to limited accessibility, when the land is subject to overflow by streams, 
when drainage of the land is limited due to lack of an outlet, and when the land is covered 
with scattered timber or is heavily timbered.86 

The following fictional example illustrates how the productivity value for agricultural 
land within a county is adjusted and distributed throughout the county: 

Nation County, Iowa, has 2,000 taxable acres of agricultural land.  The average 
productivity/net earning capacity, as determined under the productivity formula, of 
agricultural land in Nation County is $700 per acre.  The market value of agricultural land in 
Nation County for the same assessment year is $2,100 per acre.  The agricultural factor 
(ratio of productivity value to market value) for Nation County is 33 percent ($700 per acre 
divided by $2,100 per acre).  The productivity value per acre is multiplied by the number of 
taxable acres to arrive at an aggregate whole (land and buildings) of $1.4 million ($700 
times 2,000 acres).  The agricultural buildings are assessed at their actual value of 
$400,000 by the Nation County assessor.  The assessor then applies the agricultural 
factor87 to the actual value of the buildings to arrive at a productivity value of $132,000 
($400,000 times .33), which is spread out over the buildings.  The productivity value of the 
buildings is subtracted from the aggregate whole to arrive at the amount of agricultural 
value that will be spread out over the agricultural land in the county ($1.4 million minus 
$132,000 = $1,268,000).  This amount is not assigned at an equal value per acre.  That is, 
the assessor does not simply divide $1,268,000 by 2,000 acres.  Agricultural land that is 
timberland or pasture has less value as agricultural land (i.e., a lower CSR) than does land 
that is used to grow row crops.  Therefore, the crop acres are assigned a higher value, in 
general, than the timberland or pastureland. 

In 2013, the Department of Revenue adopted an administrative rule relating to the 
distribution of a county’s total agricultural value to each parcel in the county to provide an 
adjustment for value allocated to land not used to grow row crops.88  The adjustment is 
applied to noncropland with a CSR that is greater than 50 percent of the average CSR for 
cropland for the county.  The adjustment is determined for each county based upon the 
five-year average difference in cash rent between nonirrigated cropland and pasture land.  
Counties are required to implement the new adjustment requirement on or before the 
assessment year that begins January 1, 2017, with a hardship waiver available to extend 
the deadline to the assessment year beginning January 1, 2019.   The following is an 
example included in the Department of Revenue’s administrative rule: 

 
Average county CSR rating for cropland 80 CSR 
50% of average cropland CSR 40 CSR 

                                            
85 Iowa Department of Revenue, “Real Property Appraisal Manual,” p. 2-25. 
86 Id. at 2-26. 
87 Iowa Admin. Code 701-71.3(2). 
88 Iowa Admin. Code 701-71.3(1). 
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Example of noncropland soil CSR rating 58 CSR 
Noncropland CSR points to be adjusted 58 - 40 = 18 CSR points 
5-year average rent for nonirrigated cropland $163.60 
5-year average rent for pasture land $48.30 
Percent difference (rounded) 1 - ($48.30/$163.60) = 70%  
Apply the percent difference to points to be adjusted 18 CSR points x (1 - .70) =  

5.40 adjusted CSR points 
Adjusted CSR noncropland 40 + 5.40 = 45.40 adjusted  

CSR points 

C. Exempt Property 
The local assessor is responsible for determining the taxable status of all property.89  

In situations where no claim is required to be filed to obtain a tax exemption, taxable status 
is determined as of July 1 of the fiscal year commencing in the assessment year for which 
the determination is being made.90  In situations where a claim is required to be filed, the 
status of property during the fiscal year for which the exemption is claimed determines the 
property’s eligibility for tax exemption.91  In the latter case, if an exemption has been 
claimed and received, taxes are prorated if the property was exempt for only a portion of 
the fiscal year.92  The use of the property is the controlling factor in determining the taxable 
status of property.93  If a claim for exemption is required to be filed but no specific filing 
deadline is provided in statute, the claim must be filed by July 1 of the assessment year.94 
 The exemption statutes are to be strictly construed in favor of the taxing body and the 
burden of proof is on the taxpayer to show that an exemption should be granted.  If there is 
any doubt as to the taxable status of property, the property is subject to taxation.95  The 
assessor’s determination of the taxable status of property may be appealed to the local 
board of review.96  The board of supervisors may abate taxes levied against property 
acquired by gift or purchase by a library; art gallery; religious, literary, or charitable society; 
or educational institution if the transfer took place after the deadline for filing for a tax 
exemption if such entity would have been entitled to the tax exemption on the property if 
the exemption had been filed for in a timely manner.97  

Examples of property tax exemptions that are provided by statute include the 
following: 

                                            
89 Iowa Admin. Code 701-80.50(1). 
90 Iowa Admin. Code 701-80.55(1). 
91 Iowa Admin. Code 701-80.55(2). 
92 Iowa Code §427.19; Iowa Admin. Code 701-80.55(2). 
93 Iowa Admin. Code 701-80.50(1) (citing Evangelical Lutheran G.S. Society v. Bd. of Review of Des Moines, 200 N.W.2d 509, 511 (Iowa 

1972); Northwest Community Hospital v. Bd. of Review of Des Moines, 229 N.W.2d 738, 741 (Iowa 1975)). 
94 Iowa Code §441.46. 
95 Iowa Admin. Code 701-80.50(2) (citing Evangelical Lutheran G.S. Society at 511; Southside Church of Christ of Des Moines v. Des 

Moines Bd. of Review, 243 N.W.2d 650, 654 (Iowa 1976); Aerie 1287, Fraternal Order of Eagles v. Holland, 226 N.W.2d 22, 24 (Iowa 
1975)). 

96 Iowa Code §441.37(1). 
97 Iowa Code §427.3. 
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1. Military Service Tax Exemption (effective 1886) 
A military service tax exemption of $2,778 for World War I veterans and $1,852 

for other veterans is allowed for active or reserve duty service in the armed forces of 
the United States.  Periods of “active duty” and length of reserve service are specified 
by statute.98  Local governments are partially reimbursed by the state for providing the 
military service tax exemption in the form of a credit in an amount equal to the amount 
the local government would have collected had a consolidated levy rate not to exceed 
$6.92 per $1,000 of assessed value been levied against the exempted valuation.99  
However, the value of the exemption will vary if the amount of the state appropriation 
funding the exemption is insufficient to fund reimbursement at $6.92 per $1,000 of 
assessed value.100 
2. Tax Exemption in Urban Revitalization Areas 

Iowa Code chapter 404, “Urban Revitalization Tax Exemptions,” was enacted in 
1979, and allows cities or counties to establish urban revitalization areas according to 
procedures outlined in the statute, including development of an urban revitalization 
plan and provision of notice and public hearings.101  The city or county may then 
exempt portions of new assessed value added to qualified real property located in the 
urban revitalization area if the new value is the result of improvements made to the 
property as part of a revitalization project.  “Improvements” includes new construction 
or rehabilitation of existing structures.102 

The statute requires that a specified minimum amount of value be added to the 
property before subsequent new value can be exempted.103  The value of the property 
for purposes of determining the amount of exempted value added is the lower of the 
assessed value of the property in the year the improvements are begun or the price 
paid by the owner of the property in an arm’s-length sale if the improvements were 
begun within one year of the date of sale.104  Schedules setting out the percentage of 
new value which is exempt for each year and the duration of the exemption must be 
as prescribed in Iowa Code chapter 404, unless a different schedule is adopted in the 
required urban revitalization plan.105 
3. Industrial Property Exemption (effective 1981) and Cattle Facilities 
Exemption (effective 1987) 

A city council or county board of supervisors may enact an ordinance granting 
partial exemption from property taxation of the value added to industrial real estate as 
a result of the new construction of industrial real estate, research-service facilities, 
warehouses, distribution centers, and the acquisition of, or improvement to, industrial 
machinery, equipment, and computers.  The ordinance may include a partial 
exemption from taxation of actual value added to owner-operated cattle facilities, not 

                                            
98 Iowa Code §§35.1 and 426A.11. 
99 Iowa Code §426A.2. 
100 Iowa Code §25B.7. 
101 Iowa Code §404.2. 
102 Iowa Code §404.3(8). 
103 Iowa Code §§404.2(i) and 404.3(8). 
104 Iowa Code §404.5. 
105 Iowa Code §§404.2, 404.3, 404.3A, and 404.3B. 
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including slaughter facilities, either by new construction or by the retrofitting of existing 
facilities.  The actual value added to either industrial property or cattle facilities is 
eligible for a partial exemption from taxation for five years.106 
4. Wind Energy Conversion Property Exemption (effective 1993) 

A city council or county board of supervisors may provide by ordinance for the 
special valuation of wind energy conversion property.  The Iowa Code prescribes the 
special valuation schedule to be followed by the city or county.  If the ordinance is 
repealed, the special valuation continues to apply through the nineteenth assessment 
year following the first year the property was assessed.  Public utility property may 
also qualify for the special valuation.107  This exemption may be claimed in lieu of the 
valuation provisions in Iowa Code section 441.21, subsection 8, paragraphs “b” 
through “d,” for the construction of a solar energy system.  Those paragraphs provide 
that construction of a solar energy system shall not increase the value of the property 
for five full assessment years following construction.  The exemption is also in lieu of 
Iowa Code sections 428.24 through 428.29, relating to valuation of certain public 
utilities. 
5. Value-Added Exemption (effective 1994) 

Under the Economic Development Authority’s High Quality Jobs Program, the 
community in which the eligible business is locating or expanding may exempt from 
property taxation all or a portion of the actual value added by improvements to real 
property directly related to the new jobs created as a result of the location or 
expansion.  The exemption period may not exceed 20 years.108  
6. Forest and Fruit-Tree Reservations Exemption (effective 1924) 

Land not less than two acres in area containing a permanent forest reservation or 
land not less than one nor more than 10 acres and containing a fruit-tree reservation is 
exempt from taxation.109  A forest reservation is to contain not less than 200 growing 
forest trees on each acre.  One acre is excluded from the total reservation area if any 
buildings are located on the area.110  Not more than one-fifth of the total number of 
trees in a forest reservation may be removed in any one year, except in cases where 
they die naturally.111  “Forest trees” is defined by statute.112 

A fruit-tree reservation must, at all times during the period of exemption, contain 
at least 40 apple trees, or 70 other fruit trees, per acre.113  A fruit-tree reservation tax 
exemption may be granted for no more than eight years after planting.114  “Fruit tree” is 
defined by statute.115   

                                            
106 Iowa Code §§427B.1 through 427B.7. 
107 Iowa Code §427B.26. 
108 Iowa Code §15.332. 
109 Iowa Code §427C.2. 
110 Iowa Code §427C.3. 
111 Iowa Code §427C.4. 
112 Iowa Code §427C.5. 
113 Iowa Code §§427C.7 and 427C.9. 
114 Iowa Code §427C.7. 
115 Iowa Code §427C.8. 
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Forest and fruit-tree reservations cannot be used for economic gain other than the 
gain from raising fruit or forest trees.  Livestock are not permitted on forest and fruit-
tree reservations receiving a tax exemption.116 

If a property ceases to meet the eligibility criteria for exempt status as a forest or 
fruit-tree reservation, the property is assessed for taxation and is subject to a 
recapture tax.  The property is subject to taxes levied against the assessment made as 
of January 1 of the calendar year in which the property ceased to qualify for 
exemption.  In addition, the property is subject to the tax which would have been levied 
against the assessment made as of January 1 of each of the five preceding years for 
which the property received an exemption.  However, an area is not subject to the 
recapture tax if it was owned for at least 10 years by the owner or the owner’s direct 
antecedents or descendants.117   
7. Enterprise Zone Property Exemption (effective 1997) 

Cities and counties may exempt from taxation all or a part of the value added by 
improvements to property of eligible businesses located in designated economic 
development enterprise zones.  The Economic Development Authority must approve 
establishment of the zones and eligibility of businesses within the zones to receive tax 
benefits.  The exemption may be allowed for up to 10 years.118 
8. Other Property Eligible for Exemption From Property Taxation Under Iowa 
Code Chapter 427 

Other types of property that are exempt from taxation in whole or in part under 
Iowa law include the following:119 

• Federal and state property. 

• Municipal and Iowa National Guard property. 

• Public grounds and cemeteries and property of cemetery associations. 

• Fire company buildings and grounds. 

• Property of associations of war veterans. 

• Public and private (not-for-profit for public use) library and art gallery buildings 
and grounds. 

• Property of religious, literary, and charitable societies.120 

• Property of educational institutions. 

• Homes for soldiers. 

• Agricultural produce. 

                                            
116 Iowa Code §427C.10. 
117 Iowa Code §427C.12. 
118 Iowa Code §15E.196(5). 
119 See generally Iowa Code §427.1. 
120 For a more detailed review of exempt property of religious, literary, and charitable societies, see the Legislative Guide entitled 

“Charitable Property Tax Exemption,” available at https://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/LSA/Legis_Guide/2010/LGLSL007.PDF. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/LSA/Legis_Guide/2010/LGLSL007.PDF
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• Government lands. 

• Public airports. 

• Property of rural water nonprofit corporations and municipal joint water 
utilities. 

• Dwelling unit property owned by community housing development 
organizations. 

• Public television station grounds and buildings. 

• Storm shelters in mobile home parks. 

• Property utilized by a web search portal site business or a data center 
business. 

D. Computers and Industrial Machinery and Equipment 
Computers and industrial machinery and equipment acquired before January 1, 1995, 

were assessed at not more than 30 percent of the property’s net acquisition cost through 
the 1998 assessment year.121  Subsequent to the 1998 assessment year, these computers, 
machinery, and equipment were valued as follows: 

• For the assessment year beginning January 1, 1999, at 22 percent of net 
acquisition cost. 

• For the assessment year beginning January 1, 2000, at 14 percent of net 
acquisition cost. 

• For the assessment year beginning January 1, 2001, at 6 percent of the net 
acquisition cost. 

• For the assessment year beginning January 1, 2002, and subsequent 
assessment years, at 0 percent of net acquisition cost.122 

Computers and industrial machinery and equipment first assessed for taxation in Iowa 
on or after January 1, 1995, are exempt from tax.123  State reimbursement to local taxing 
jurisdictions for lost revenue due to the phaseout of taxation on computers and industrial 
machinery and equipment was provided for fiscal year 1996-1997 through fiscal year 2003-
2004.124 
E. Centrally Assessed Property 

All lands, buildings, machinery, and equipment belonging to electric companies 
(including rural cooperatives), gas companies (including pipelines), certain waterworks, 
railway companies, and telephone/telegraph companies are assessed by the Department 
of Revenue and subject to property taxation by local governments.125  Real property and 
tangible personal property assessed by the department are not eligible for all of the same 

                                            
121 Iowa Code §427B.17(1). 
122 Iowa Code §427B.17(3). 
123 Iowa Code §427B.17(2). 
124 Iowa Code §§427B.19A and 427B.19D.  The state reimbursement time period was shortened by two years in 2003 Iowa Acts, ch. 178, 

§§5-7. 
125 Iowa Code §§428.24 through 428.29.  See also, Iowa Code chs. 433, 434, 437, and 438. 
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statutory property tax exemptions available to locally assessed property.126  Centrally 
assessed property is not, however, without statutory property exemptions.  In 2013, the 
General Assembly established a partial exemption from taxation on the value of a 
telecommunications company’s property that is subject to assessment and taxation under 
Iowa Code chapter 433.  The amount of the exemption is phased in during the assessment 
years beginning January 1, 2013, and January 1, 2014, and is calculated based on the 
value of the telecommunications company property that exceeds certain statutory 
thresholds.127 

Companies whose property is centrally assessed have property located throughout the 
state.  Because of this, it is more efficient for the Department of Revenue to assess the 
property and assign the proportion of the property located within each county or other 
political subdivision.  Central assessment also helps to prevent local disputes over how 
such property valuation is distributed. 

If comparable sales data is available, that data is taken into consideration in arriving at 
the centrally assessed property’s market value.  If comparable sales data is not available, 
the department values the property using the three following unit value approaches in 
descending order of usefulness:  1) the stock and debt approach; 2) the income 
capitalization approach; and 3) the cost approach.  However, in valuing pipeline company 
property, the unit values are used in the reverse order.128  The stock and debt approach to 
unit value estimates the market value of the operating property by combining the market 
values of the common stock, preferred stock, debt, current liabilities, other liabilities, leases, 
and deferred credits associated with the operating property of the company.129  The income 
capitalization approach estimates the market value of the operating property by dividing the 
income stream generated by the operating assets by a market-derived capitalization (or 
discount) rate based on the costs of the various sources of capital utilized, or available for 
use, to purchase the assets generating the income stream.130  The cost approach to unit 
value is determined by combining the original cost of the operating properties of the 
company and deducting an allowance for depreciation.131 

A company’s total unit value is then allocated to the State of Iowa in the ratio that the 
company’s property and activity in the State of Iowa bear to the company’s total property 
and activity.  In turn, that portion allocated to the State of Iowa is further allocated to 
counties and other political subdivisions in the ratio that the company’s property and activity 
in the county or political subdivision bear to the State of Iowa’s allocation.132  For example, 
the unit value of a telephone or telegraph company under Iowa Code chapter 433 is 
allocated based on the amount of telephone or telegraph lines located in each such county 
or political subdivision.133 

                                            
126 Iowa Code §427A.1(1)(h) (declaring all property of centrally assessed entities subject to assessment and taxation); Iowa Code 

§427B.17(8) (providing that the personal property exemption does not apply to centrally assessed property). 
127 Iowa Code §433.4(2); 2013 Iowa Acts, ch. 123, §§31, 38, 39 (SF 295). 
128 Iowa Admin. Code 701-77.7.  The correlation of value for railway companies is 50 percent for stock and debt and 50 percent income. 

Iowa Admin. Code 701-76.7. 
129 See generally Iowa Admin. Code 701-77.4(1) and 701-76.4(1). 
130 Iowa Admin. Code 701-77.5(1) and 701-76.5(1). 
131 Iowa Admin. Code 701-77.6  and 701-76.6. 
132 Iowa Admin. Code 701-77.8 and 701-76.8. 
133 Iowa Code §433.8. 
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As a result of legislation enacted in 1998, the central assessment procedures utilized 
by the Department of Revenue in valuing property for property tax purposes of entities 
involved in the generation, delivery, and transmission of electricity and natural gas in the 
state were replaced by excise taxes on generation, delivery, and transmission commencing 
with the assessment year beginning January 1, 1999.  The adoption of the excise taxes to 
replace property tax on these centrally assessed properties was deemed necessary to 
maintain the competitiveness of Iowa electric and natural gas industries due to the advent 
of the restructuring of the electric and natural gas industries.134  The methodology for 
setting the rates of tax for generation and transmission of electricity are set by statute.135  
The delivery tax rates by electricity or natural gas service area are calculated by the 
Department of Revenue based on a statutory formula and published annually by the 
department in the Iowa Administrative Bulletin.136  In addition to the excise taxes, an annual 
statewide property tax is imposed at a rate of 3 cents per $1,000 of assessed value on all 
property which is primarily and directly used in the generation, transmission, or delivery of 
electricity or natural gas and which is owned or leased by anyone subject to the excise 
tax.137  The proceeds of the statewide property tax are to be used, as appropriated by the 
General Assembly, to administer and enforce the collection of the excise tax and the 
statewide property tax.138 

In 2013, a similar excise tax system was enacted for rate-regulated water utilities 
based on the amount of gallons of water delivered to customers in specified service 
areas.139  In addition, an annual statewide property tax of 3 cents per $1,000 of assessed 
capitalization value is imposed to be used, as appropriated by the General Assembly, to 
administer and enforce the collection of the excise tax and the statewide property tax. 

V. Appealing an Assessment 
A. Informal Review 

The assessment conducted by the local assessor is required to be completed by April 
1.140  Beginning with the 2014 assessment year, any property owner or aggrieved taxpayer 
who is dissatisfied with the owner’s or taxpayer’s assessment may contact the local 
assessor by telephone or in writing by paper or electronic medium on or after April 1, to and 
including May 4, of the year of the assessment to inquire about the specifics and accuracy 
of the assessment.141  Such an inquiry may also include a request for an informal review of 
the assessment by the assessor under one or more of the grounds for protest authorized 
under Iowa law for the same assessment year.  If the assessor, following an informal 
review, determines that the assessment was incorrect under one or more of the grounds for 
protest, the assessor may recommend that the property owner or aggrieved taxpayer file a 
protest with the local board of review and may file a recommendation with the local board of 
review related to the informal review.  A recommendation filed with the local board of 
                                            
134 1998 Iowa Acts, ch. 1194, §1. 
135 Iowa Code §§437A.6 and 437A.7. 
136 Iowa Code §§437A.4 and 437A.5. 
137 Iowa Code §437A.18. 
138 Iowa Code §437A.23. 
139 Iowa Code chapter 437B; 2013 Iowa Acts, ch. 94 (SF 451). 
140 Iowa Code §441.28; 2013 Iowa Acts, ch. 123, §§53, 64, 65 (SF 295). 
141 See 2013 Iowa Acts, ch. 123, §§54, 64, 65 (SF 295), enacting Iowa Code §441.30. 
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review is required to be utilized by the local board of review in the evaluation of all evidence 
properly before the local board of review. 
B. Local Board of Review 

A property owner or taxpayer who is dissatisfied with the owner’s or taxpayer’s 
assessment may file a written protest against the assessment with the local board of review 
on or after April 7 to and including May 5 of the year of the assessment that is being 
protested.142  An aggrieved taxpayer is not required to engage in the informal inquiry 
process with the local assessor in order to file a protest with the local board of review.  
Also, any local government official or a taxpayer of the political subdivision where the 
property is located may file a protest to an assessment of property in the same manner as 
a protest by the owner or taxpayer of the property.143  For odd-numbered assessment 
years and even-numbered assessment years where the property was reassessed, the 
grounds for a protest must be one or more of the following:144 

• That the assessment is not equitable compared with assessments of other like 
property in the taxing district. 

• That the property is assessed at more than its actual value. 

• That the property is not assessable, is exempt from taxes, or is misclassified. 

• That there is an error in the assessment. 

• That there is fraud in the assessment. 
For even-numbered assessment years, when the property has not been reassessed in 

such even-numbered assessment year, the ground for assessment must be that there has 
been a decrease in the value of the property from the previous reassessment year. When 
this ground is relied upon, the protesting party must show the decrease in value by 
comparing the market value of the property as of January 1 of the current assessment year 
and the actual value of the property for the previous reassessment year.145 

A property owner or aggrieved taxpayer may combine on one form protests of 
assessments on parcels separately assessed if the basis for the protest on each is the 
same. 146 And, beginning with assessment year 2014, protests may be filed by electronic 
means.147 

The local board of review is in session from May 1 through May 31 to consider appeals 
of assessments.  However, the Director of Revenue may extend the session of a local 
board of review to not later than July 15.148  The action of the board of review may be 
appealed to the district court of the county in which the board holds its sessions.  The 

                                            
142 Iowa Code §441.37(1).  A property owner or taxpayer may file a protest for previous years if the owner or taxpayer finds that a clerical 

or mathematical error has been made in the assessment of the owner's or taxpayer's property.  The board of review may correct 
clerical or mathematical errors for any assessment year in which the taxes have not been fully paid or otherwise legally discharged.  
See Iowa Code §441.37(2). 

143 Iowa Code §441.42. 
144 Iowa Code §441.37(1)(a); 2013 Iowa Acts, ch. 123, §§56, 64, 65 (SF 295). 
145 Iowa Code §441.37(1)(a); 2013 Iowa Acts, ch. 123, §§56, 64, 65 (SF 295). 
146 Iowa Code §441.37(1)(c). 
147 Iowa Code §441.37(3); 2013 Iowa Acts, ch. 123, §§57, 64, 65 (SF 295). 
148 Iowa Code §441.33.  
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appeal to district court must be made within 20 days after the board’s adjournment or May 
31, whichever is later. The appeal to district court must be on the same grounds that the 
appeal to the local board of review was taken.  However, additional evidence may be 
offered to support those grounds. 149   The district court’s review of a decision of the local 
board of review is de novo, i.e., the court shall “determine anew all questions arising before 
the board” of review.150  The assessor also has the right to appeal the board’s action to 
district court.151  
C. Property Assessment Appeal Board 

Effective with the assessment year beginning January 1, 2007, and subsequent 
assessment years beginning before January 1, 2018, the action of the local board of review 
may be appealed to a three-member Property Assessment Appeal Board created within the 
Department of Revenue. 152  Property Assessment Appeal Board members are appointed 
to staggered six-year terms by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate.  
Each member of the Property Assessment Appeal Board is to be qualified by virtue of at 
least two years’ experience in the area of government, corporate, or private practice 
relating to property appraisal and property tax administration. Two members of the board 
are to be certified real  property appraisers and one member is to be an attorney practicing 
in the area of state and local taxation or property tax appraisals.153  However, an aggrieved 
taxpayer or property owner or other appellant (including the assessor) may bypass the 
state board and appeal a decision of the local board of review directly to district court.  The 
appeal to the Property Assessment Appeal Board must be made within 20 days after the 
adjournment of the local board of review or May 31, whichever is later.  A decision of the 
Property Assessment Appeal Board may be appealed to district court.154  The appeal to 
district court must be taken within 20 days after the letter of disposition of the appeal by the 
Property Assessment Appeal Board is postmarked to the appellant.155  The district court’s 
review of a decision of the Property Assessment Appeal Board is limited to the correction of 
errors at law.156 

VI. Computations Following Assessment 
A. Equalization 

In each odd-numbered year, the Department of Revenue is directed by statute to 
conduct a statewide review of the level of assessment of property within each class and is 
directed to order the equalization of the levels of assessment of any class of property if the 
aggregate assessed valuation of that class of property is at least 5 percent above or below 
the valuation of that class of property statewide, as determined by the Director of Revenue.  
Equalization is accomplished by increasing or decreasing the aggregate valuations of 
certain classes of property within jurisdictions by the percentage necessary to adjust the 

                                            
149 Iowa Code §441.38. 
150 Iowa Code §441.39. 
151 Iowa Code §441.38. 
152 Iowa Code §441.37A.  The Property Assessment Appeal Board will sunset effective July 1, 2018.  See 2013 Iowa Acts, ch. 123, §62 

(SF 295) (amending 2005 Iowa Acts, ch. 150, §134). 
153 Iowa Code §421.1A. 
154 Iowa Code §441.37A. 
155 Iowa Code §441.38. 
156 Iowa Code §441.39. 
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level of assessment to actual value.157  These “equalization orders” are intended to prevent 
wide variations between assessments statewide of real property in any one class.  
Equalization also ensures that each class of property in each assessing jurisdiction is 
assessed at actual value as required by law.158  An important reason for equalization is to 
ensure a uniform basis for the distribution of state aid to schools under the school 
foundation formula in Iowa Code chapter 257.  It also provides a comparable base between 
jurisdictions for determining the constitutional limitation on local government bonded 
indebtedness.159 

Final equalization orders are issued by the department to county auditors on October 1 
of the odd-numbered year.  After receiving the final equalization order, a local assessor 
must adjust the targeted class of property up or down by the percentage specified for that 
class of property in accordance with the order.  Equalization orders are restricted to 
equalizing the aggregate valuations of entire classes of property and may not adjust the 
valuations of individual properties.  An alternative method of equalization may be approved 
by the department; however, the overall result of the reassessment must be an adjustment 
by the percentage amount specified by the department.160  The local board of review is 
required to convene in special session from October 15 to November 15 to hear 
assessment protests from affected owners or taxpayers whose valuations have been 
adjusted by the equalization order.161   

The property tax equalization order published by the county auditor must contain the 
following statement:  “Assessed values are equalized by the Department of Revenue every 
two years.  Local taxing authorities determine the final tax levies and may reduce property 
tax rates to compensate for any increase in valuation due to equalization.”162 
B. Rollback 

The assessed value subject to taxation may be a percentage of the assessed value as 
a result of statewide limitations on annual growth in assessed values or as the result of 
statutory limits on certain classifications of property.  These statewide assessment 
limitations, or rollback provisions, were enacted for residential and agricultural property in 
1977 to apply to assessments beginning with the 1978 assessment year, and in 1978 for all 
other classes of property beginning with the 1979 assessment year.  The limitation on 
growth was originally set at 6 percent for all classes except utilities (10 percent).  Since the 
1980 assessment year and until the 2012 assessment year, the limitation has been 4 
percent (8 percent for utilities).163  Beginning with the 2013 assessment year, for residential 
and agricultural property the limitation is 3 percent.  Also beginning with the 2013 
assessment year, commercial and industrial property are subject to a statutorily established 

                                            
157 Iowa Code §441.47; Iowa Admin. Code 701-71.11. 
158 Iowa Code §441.21. 
159 Iowa Constitution, article XI, section 3, provides as follows:  “No county, or other political or municipal corporation shall be allowed to 

become indebted in any manner, or for any purpose, to an amount, in the aggregate, exceeding five per centum on the value of the 
taxable property within such county or corporation – to be ascertained by the last state and county tax lists, previous to the incurring 
of such indebtedness.” 

160 Iowa Code §441.49(1). 
161 Iowa Code §441.49(4). 
162 Iowa Code §441.49(2). 
163 2013 Iowa Code §441.21(4), (5). 
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percentage of value instead of a limitation on the growth in aggregate value of the two 
classes of property.164 

In November of each year, the Director of Revenue certifies the limitation percentages 
to county auditors.165  The rollback percentage is multiplied by the actual value to obtain 
the assessed value of the property subject to taxation. 

Increases in the assessment of residential and agricultural property are tied to each 
other.  The annual increase in each class of property is limited to the smaller of the two 
increases in either class of property.166 For example, if in the same year the increase in 
residential property valuations was 3 percent and the increase in agricultural property 
valuations was only 2 percent, then the increase in the residential valuations would be 
reduced to 2 percent, resulting in an increase of only 2 percent for each of the two classes 
of property (i.e., the lower percentage increase of the two classes).  

The rollback percentages, expressed as a percentage of assessed value, for the past 
several fiscal years are as follows:167  

Assessment 
Year 

Fiscal Year 
Taxes Due 

Residential Industrial Commercial Agricultural 

2004 2005-2006 47.96 -- -- -- 
2005 2006-2007 46.00 -- 99.15 -- 
2006 2007-2008 45.56 -- -- -- 
2007 2008-2009 44.08 -- 99.73 90.10 
2008 2009-2010 45.59 -- -- 93.86 
2009 2010-2011 46.91 -- -- 66.27 
2010 2011-2012 48.53 -- -- 69.02 
2011 2012-2013 50.75 -- -- 57.54 
2012 2013-2014 52.82 -- -- 59.93 
2013 2014-2015 54.40 95.00 95.00 43.40 

On January 1, 2015, a new multiresidential property classification takes effect that will 
have an assessment limitation established by statute.168  For the assessment year 
beginning January 1, 2015, multiresidential property is assessed at the greater of 86.25 
percent of its actual value or the percentage for residential property times its actual value. 
The percentage of actual value at which multiresidential property is assessed is then 
reduced by 3.75 percentage points each year until the assessment year beginning January 
1, 2022, at which time and for subsequent assessment years, multiresidential property is 
                                            
164 Iowa Code §441.21(5)(b), (c). 
165 Iowa Code §441.21(9). 
166 Iowa Code §441.21(4). 
167 Dashed lines in this table indicate 100 percent of assessed value.  The figures in this table are rounded to the hundredths.  The 

Department of Revenue calculates the percentages to the ten thousandths.  Federal law requires that railroad property be assessed at 
the same level as commercial and industrial property.  See 49 U.S.C. §11501.  Therefore, the actual value of railroad property is rolled 
back to the same extent as commercial property for the same assessment year.  See Iowa Code §441.21(5)(a). 

168 2013 Iowa Acts, ch. 123, §24-30 (SF 295). 
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assessed at the same percentage of actual value as residential property is assessed for the 
same assessment year, unless for any assessment year beginning before January 1, 2022, 
the percentage of actual value at which residential property is assessed exceeds the 
percentage for multiresidential property. 

VII. Credits Applied to Property Tax 
Beginning with property taxes payable in the 1998-1999 fiscal year, the state is 

required to fully reimburse local governments for all newly enacted property tax credits 
granted to taxpayers on or after January 1, 1997, and for certain current property tax 
credits.  If full reimbursement is not made, the amount of the credits granted to taxpayers 
will be prorated.169  Prior to fiscal year 1998-1999, only the agricultural land property tax 
credit and the family farm property tax credit had been prorated by statute.170 
A. Homestead Credit 

The homestead credit was enacted in 1937 to provide property tax relief and to 
encourage home ownership.  The current credit is equal to the actual levy on the first 
$4,850 of value.171  To be eligible for the credit for each year, the taxpayer must own and 
occupy the property as a homestead on July 1 of each year, declare residency in Iowa for 
income tax purposes, and occupy the property for at least six months each calendar year.  
Persons in military service or residing in nursing homes who would otherwise qualify are 
also eligible for the credit.172 

Claims for the homestead property tax credit must be filed on or before July 1 in the 
first assessment year for which the credit is claimed.  In other words, if a homestead credit 
is to be allowed for taxes payable in the 2014-2015 fiscal year, the claim must be filed by or 
be on file as of July 1, 2013.  A claim is allowed for successive years without further filing 
as long as the taxpayer is eligible.173 
B. Elderly and Disabled Property Tax Credit and Rent Reimbursement 

The elderly and disabled property tax credit and rent reimbursement provisions were 
incorporated into the homestead tax credit law in 1974 to provide additional relief to the 
low-income elderly and low-income persons with disabilities.174  The credit was also 
intended to provide property tax relief to all low-income homeowners (beginning 1994), and 
to low-income renters in the form of reimbursement payments (beginning 1995), but 
moneys have never been appropriated to fund that portion of the statute.  To be eligible for 
the low-income elderly and disabled property tax credit and rent reimbursement, the 
taxpayer must have a household income of less than $16,500 and must be 65 or older or 
totally disabled.  To be eligible for the low-income rent reimbursement or low-income 
property tax credit, a claimant must be at least 23 years of age or a head of household and 
have household income of less than $16,500.175  Beginning with claims filed in calendar 

                                            
169 Iowa Code §25B.7. 
170 Iowa Code §§425A.6 and 426.7.  
171 Iowa Code §425.1. 
172 Iowa Code §425.2. 
173 Iowa Code §425.2. 
174 Iowa Code §425.16. 
175 Iowa Code §425.17(2) and 425.23. 
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year 2000, the $16,500 income limitation has been annually adjusted for inflation.176  If a 
person has attained the age or disability status to qualify for the elderly and disabled credit 
or reimbursement, that person is not eligible for the low-income tax credit.  A rent 
reimbursement claimant who lives in Iowa and pays rent during any portion of the base 
year (the calendar year preceding the year in which the claim is filed) qualifies for 
reimbursement for the entire amount of rent paid while living in Iowa.  A person who 
occupies the homestead during any part of the fiscal year beginning July 1 of the base year  
and incurs a liability to pay property taxes due in the fiscal year beginning after conclusion 
of the base year qualifies for the property tax credit.177  For both the credit and the 
reimbursement, “household” includes only the claimant and the claimant’s spouse, if living 
with the claimant.178  Each eligible person living in the same residence (excluding a 
husband and wife) may file a separate claim for rent reimbursement or property tax credit 
using their individual income and proportionate share of the rent paid or property taxes 
due.179  

Property tax credit claims must be filed with the county treasurer by June 1 preceding 
the fiscal year in which the property taxes are due.  Rent reimbursement claims must be 
filed with the Department of Revenue by June 1 following the year in which the rent is 
paid.180 
C. Manufactured or Mobile Home Tax Credit 

The manufactured or mobile home tax credit was enacted as a supplement to the 
elderly and disabled property tax credit.181  The credit’s objective is to provide those 
homeowners whose manufactured or mobile homes are taxed by square footage rather 
than assessed value with equivalent property tax relief.  A claimant must be age 23 or older 
with household income of less than $16,500.  Beginning with claims filed in calendar year 
2000, the $16,500 has been annually adjusted for inflation.182  The credit is provided in the 
form of a rate reduction based upon income.  Claims for the manufactured or mobile home 
tax credit must be filed on or before June 1 of each year.183 
D. Agricultural Land Property Tax Credit 

The agricultural land property tax credit was established in 1946 to partially offset the 
school property tax burden borne by agricultural real estate.184  Current law allows a credit 
for any school general fund tax in excess of $5.40 per $1,000 of assessed value.185  Land 
used for agricultural or horticultural purposes in tracts of 10 acres or more is eligible for the 
credit.  Buildings or other structures are excluded.186  Landowners are not required to file a 
claim for the agricultural land property tax credit.  The county auditor determines the 

                                            
176 Iowa Code §425.23(4).  The inflation-adjusted income limitation for 2012 was $21,335. 
177 Iowa Code §425.17(2), (8). 
178 Iowa Code §425.17(5). 
179 Iowa Code §425.17(2), (8). 
180 Iowa Code §425.20. 
181 Iowa Code §435.22. 
182 Iowa Code §435.22(1)(b)(3). 
183 Iowa Code §435.22(4). 
184 Iowa Code §426.3. 
185 Iowa Code §426.6. 
186 Iowa Code §426.2. 
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amount of eligible credit applicable to each taxpayer.187  Beginning with fiscal year 1994-
1995, a standing appropriation of $39.1 million is made each year to the Agricultural Land 
Credit Fund of which $10 million is to be used for family farm property tax credits.188  If 
state funds are insufficient to fully reimburse all credits, only a pro rata amount of the 
eligible credits is allowed.189 
E. Family Farm Property Tax Credit 

The family farm property tax credit was established in 1990 to partially offset the 
school property tax burden borne by agricultural real estate owned by active farmers.  
Current law allows a credit for any school general fund tax in excess of $5.40 per $1,000 of 
assessed value.190  Generally, the family farm property tax credit is only intended to benefit 
tracts of agricultural land that are owned by certain individuals or enumerated legal entities 
if the owner or other specified persons are actively engaged in farming the agricultural land 
for which the credit is claimed.191  Land used for agricultural or horticultural purposes in 
tracts of 10 acres or more is eligible for the credit.  Buildings or other structures are 
excluded.192  A claim for the credit must be filed before November 1 preceding the fiscal 
year for which the credit is claimed.  After the first filing and approval, the owner need not 
file again until the property is sold or transferred or there is a change in the person 
identified as actively engaged in farming the land.193  The county auditor determines the 
amount of eligible credit applicable to each taxpayer.194  Like the agricultural land property 
tax credit, if the money available is insufficient to fully fund the total eligible credits, only a 
pro rata amount of each eligible credit is allowed.195 

The family farm property tax credit is funded entirely by the appropriation made for the 
agricultural land property tax credit.196  Beginning with fiscal year 1994-1995, $10 million in 
family farm tax credits has been paid each year by the state. 
F. Business Property Tax Credit 

The business property tax credit, Iowa Code chapter 426C, was enacted in 2013 to 
provide a tax credit for commercial, industrial, and railway property for property taxes due 
and payable in fiscal years beginning on or after July 1, 2014.197  To fund the business 
property tax credit, the state appropriates from the General Fund of the State $50 million for 
the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2014, $100 million for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 
2015, and $125 million for each fiscal year beginning on or after July 1, 2016.198 

A person may claim one business property tax credit for each eligible parcel unless the 
parcel is part of a property unit.  A property unit is defined as “contiguous parcels all of 
which are located within the same county, with the same property tax classification, are 
                                            
187 Iowa Code §426.6. 
188 Iowa Code §426.1. 
189 Iowa Code §§426.7 and 426.8. 
190 Iowa Code §425A.3. 
191 Iowa Code §§425A.2 and 425A.3. 
192 Iowa Code §425A.2(2). 
193 Iowa Code §425A.4. 
194 Iowa Code §425A.5. 
195 Iowa Code §§425A.6 and 425A.7. 
196 Iowa Code §§425A.1 and 426.1. 
197 See 2013 Iowa Acts, ch. 123, §§3-11, 13 (SF 295). 
198 Iowa Code §426C.2. 
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owned by the same person, and are operated by that person for a common use and 
purpose.”199  A person may only claim one tax credit for each property unit. Certain 
property that is rented or leased to low-income individuals and families as authorized by 
section 42 of the Internal Revenue Code is not eligible for the business property tax credit. 
In addition, for credits claimed for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2014, and the fiscal year 
beginning July 1, 2015, property that is a mobile home park, manufactured home 
community, land-leased community, assisted living facility, or that is property primarily used 
or intended for human habitation containing three or more separate dwelling units is not 
eligible for the business property tax credit.200 

Application of and allowance for the credit is similar to the procedures used for the 
homestead credit.  Upon allowance of a business property tax credit, the credit is allowed 
on the parcel or property unit for successive years without further filing as long as the 
parcel or property unit satisfies the requirements for the credit.201  The amount of the credit 
for each eligible parcel or property unit is determined so as to provide a reduction in the 
property taxes equal to the difference between the amount of taxes otherwise due and 
payable on a statutorily determined amount of assessed value of the property and the 
amount of taxes due and payable if the property was classified, assessed, and taxed as 
residential property.202 

VIII. State Replacement of Revenue Payments for Commercial and Industrial 
Property Tax Rollbacks 

In 2013, a system of property tax replacement payments was established in order for 
the state to replace revenues lost because of the reduction in taxable value resulting from 
the enactment of a permanent statutory assessment limitation percentage (rollback) for 
commercial and industrial property.203 

For the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2014, and each fiscal year thereafter, there is 
appropriated from the General Fund of the State an amount necessary to pay all 
commercial and industrial property tax replacement claims for that fiscal year. However, for 
fiscal years beginning on or after July 1, 2017, the total amount of money appropriated from 
the General Fund of the State for the payment of commercial and industrial property tax 
replacement claims in that fiscal year is limited to the total amount of money necessary to 
pay all replacement payments for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2016.  Additionally, 
appropriations for the payment of commercial and industrial property tax replacement 
claims are not subject to a uniform reduction in appropriations pursuant to a determination 
by the Governor under Iowa Code section 8.31. If an amount appropriated for a fiscal year 
is insufficient to pay all replacement claims, the replacement payments are prorated.  

The amount of the replacement claim for each taxing district is equal to the difference 
between the assessed valuation (after rollback) of all commercial and industrial property 
located in the taxing district that is subject to assessment and taxation and the total actual 

                                            
199 Iowa Code §426C.1. 
200 Iowa Code §426C.4(1)(b). 
201 Iowa Code §426C.3(3). 
202 Iowa Code §426C.4. 
203 Iowa Code §441.21A. 
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value (before rollback) of all such property located in the taxing district multiplied by the tax 
rate specified for the taxing district, and then divided by $1,000. 

IX. The Tax Collection Process 
A. Payment of Taxes 

Property taxes in Iowa are collected locally by county governments and distributed by 
the county treasurers to the other tax-certifying bodies in the county.  The county treasurer 
is required to mail a property tax statement to each taxpayer.204  The tax may be paid in 
semiannual installments, the first of which becomes delinquent October 1 and the second 
which becomes delinquent April 1.  However, if the last day of September or March is a 
Saturday or Sunday, the amount due becomes delinquent on the second business day in 
October or April, respectively.  In order to avoid delinquency, the county treasurer must 
receive the tax payment on the last business day of September or March, or, if mailed, the 
payment envelope must bear a postmark date preceding October 1 or April 1.  If the last 
calendar day of September or March is a Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday, the payment 
must be postmarked before the delinquent date.  If paid by electronic means through a 
county treasurer’s authorized Internet site only, if the last day of the month falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday, the electronic payment must be initiated by midnight on the 
first business day of the next month.  All other electronic payments must be initiated by 
midnight on the last day of the month preceding the delinquent date.205  Delinquent taxes 
draw interest at a rate of 1.5 percent per month until the parcel is sold at tax sale or the 
taxes are paid by the taxpayer.206 

The county treasurer may allow property taxpayers to make partial payments of taxes.  
If the treasurer elects to permit partial payments, the authorization applies to all taxpayers 
in the county.207  Partial payments of taxes may also be made on delinquent taxes as long 
as the parcel has not been sold at tax sale.  A partial payment made on delinquent taxes 
cannot be in an amount less than the total of interest, fees, and costs accrued on the 
delinquent taxes.208 
B. Tax Sale 

Each year on the third Monday in June, the county treasurer offers at public sale all 
parcels on which property taxes are delinquent, except those parcels specified in statute as 
being the subject of certain pending actions.  However, a county treasurer may designate a 
date in June other than the third Monday on which to hold the annual tax sale if, for good 
cause, the sale cannot be held on the third Monday.209  Besides publication in a 
newspaper, the county treasurer is required to mail notice by regular mail of the tax sale to 
the owner of a parcel on which taxes are delinquent.  If requested, regular mail notice is 
also provided to any person who has an interest of record in the property.210  Generally, 
service fees are included as a part of the costs of collecting the delinquent taxes.  Service 
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205 Iowa Code §445.37. 
206 Iowa Code §445.39. 
207 Iowa Code §445.36A(1). 
208 Iowa Code §445.36A(2). 
209 Iowa Code §446.7(1). 
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fees and publication costs related to delinquent taxes, except the cost of publishing the tax 
sale notice, are assessed against the person redeeming the property.211   

The sale must be for the total amount of taxes, interest, fees, and costs due.212  
Therefore, the amount bid for at a public tax sale is the percentage amount of undivided 
interest the tax sale certificate holder will have in the property if the property is not 
redeemed.  The person bidding the total amount of taxes, interest, fees, and costs due for 
the smallest percentage (not less than 1 percent) of undivided interest in the property is 
issued the tax sale certificate which operates as a lien against the parcel.213  Taxes for a 
subsequent year may not be paid by the purchaser at tax sale (tax sale certificate holder) 
until one month and 14 days following the date from which an installment becomes 
delinquent.214 

If a parcel has been offered for sale at a tax sale for a period of one year or more, it 
then can be offered for sale at a public bidder sale where the county or a city may purchase 
the parcel.215 

If authorized by county ordinance, a county or a city within the county may bid on 
certain parcels at the annual tax sale.216  The parcel must be a vacant lot or must contain 
abandoned property assessed as residential or commercial multifamily housing property.217  
Cities and counties may also require the holder of a tax sale certificate for property 
declared to be abandoned or a vacant lot to assign the certificate to the city or county.  If 
the holder refuses, the city or county may order the treasurer to issue a duplicate certificate 
and assign it to the city or county.  Cities and counties may assign tax sale certificates for 
abandoned property or vacant lots to persons who pay the interest due on the delinquent 
taxes to the certificate holder and who demonstrate the intent to rehabilitate the abandoned 
property for habitation or build a residential structure on the vacant lot if the property is not 
redeemed.218 

A county may also adopt an ordinance providing for a public nuisance tax sale held on 
the same day as the annual tax sale. 219  Parcels with delinquent taxes that may be offered 
for sale at the public nuisance tax sale are parcels that are abandoned property and are 
assessed as residential property or commercial multifamily housing property, and the 
county or city has declared that the parcel is, or is likely to become, a public nuisance, and 
that the parcel is suitable for use as housing following rehabilitation.  To be eligible to bid 
on parcels at a public nuisance tax sale, a prospective bidder is required to enter into an 
agreement with the county or city, as applicable, stating that the bidder intends to 
rehabilitate the property for use as housing. 

                                            
211 Iowa Code §§446.10 and 447.13. 
212 Iowa Code §446.7. 
213 Iowa Code §446.16. 
214 Iowa Code §446.32. 
215 Iowa Code §§446.18 and 446.19. 
216 Iowa Code §446.19A. 
217 “Vacant lot” means a lot or parcel that contains no buildings or structures and which is zoned to allow for residential structures.  

“Abandoned property” means a lot or parcel containing a building which is used or intended to be used for residential purposes and 
which has remained vacant and in violation of the applicable local housing code for a period of at least six consecutive months.  Iowa 
Code §446.19A(5). 

218 Iowa Code §446.19A(3), (4). 
219 Iowa Code §446.19B. 
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C. Redemption of Property and Issuance of Tax Deed 
For most parcels sold at tax sale, the parcel may be redeemed at any time within two 

years of the sale upon payment of the delinquent taxes, interest, penalty, fees, and other 
costs.220  After a parcel is sold at tax sale, the amount due draws 2 percent interest per 
month.221  One year and nine months from the date of sale or nine months from the date of 
a public bidder sale, the certificate holder is required to send to the taxpayer and any other 
person who has an interest of record in the property a notice of expiration of redemption.222  
If the delinquent taxes are not redeemed within 90 days of completed service of the notice, 
a treasurer’s deed to the property is issued to the tax certificate holder.223  A county may 
redeem property sold for delinquent taxes on behalf of a person who establishes that the 
person is unable to contribute to the public revenue in the same manner that the county 
may abate the taxes of a person unable to contribute to the public revenue.224 

The redemption period on a parcel containing abandoned property or that is a vacant 
lot which is bid on and purchased by a city or county is six months from the date of sale 
rather than two years from the date of sale.  The same redemption period applies to parcels 
sold at a public nuisance tax sale.225 

X. Limitations on Property Tax 
Iowa law imposes a number of limitations on the collection of property taxes by local 

government entities.  The various maximum levy rate amounts prescribed in statute are 
limitations on the property tax.  The 3 percent limitation on increases in assessments by 
class of property is a limitation on property taxes.  Prescribing the allowable uses for 
revenues collected from supplemental levies is a limitation on property taxes. 

The most comprehensive limitation on property taxes was that contained in Iowa Code 
sections 444.25A through 444.27 from 1993-1998.  Under these sections, the maximum 
amount of property tax dollars which could be certified by a county was limited to the 
amount certified in the immediately preceding fiscal year.  There were exceptions from the 
limitation allowed for levies against certain assessments, such as new construction, and for 
levies made for certain expenditures, such as debt service, hospitals, and emergency 
management.  A more general exception was provided for levies made resulting from 
unusual need for additional moneys to finance existing programs which would provide 
substantial benefit to county residents or for a compelling need to finance new programs 
which would provide substantial benefit to county residents.  An increase under this 
exception was limited to the product of the amount of taxes certified in the immediately 
preceding fiscal year and an economic growth indicator based upon government 
purchases.  A county could also exceed the amount of property tax dollars certified under 
the limitation by petitioning the state appeal board for a property tax increase.  Only 
circumstances specified in statute could be used to justify this type of increase. 

                                            
220 Iowa Code §447.9.  If a parcel sold at tax sale had been offered for sale for one year or more prior to being sold, the total redemption 

period is 12 months from the date of sale (consisting of nine months after date of sale plus 90-day redemption period after notice).   
221 Iowa Code §447.1. 
222 Iowa Code §447.9. 
223 Iowa Code §448.1. 
224 Iowa Code §447.9(3). 
225 Iowa Code §447.9.  The total redemption period consists of three months after date of sale plus 90-day redemption period after notice. 
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The limitation was first enacted in 1992 and applied to both counties and cities for the 
1993-1994 and 1994-1995 fiscal years.226  In 1994, the limitation was reenacted to apply 
only to counties in the 1995-1996 and 1996-1997 fiscal years.227  Senate File 69, enacted 
in the 1995 Legislative Session, extended the limitation on counties through the 1997-1998 
fiscal year.228 
 
1307RR 

                                            
226 1992 Iowa Acts, Second Extraordinary Session, ch. 1001. 
227 1994 Iowa Acts, ch. 1163.  
228 1995 Iowa Acts, ch. 206. 
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