

## IOWA RIVERS AND WATERWAYS STUDY COMMITTEE

## LEGISLATIVE MEMBERS

Senator Dick L. Dearden, Co-chairperson Representative Lee Hein, Co-chairperson

Senator William A. Dotzler, Jr.

Senator Hubert Houser

Senator David Johnson

Senator Brian Schoenjahn

Representative Rob Bacon

Representative Charles Isenhart

Representative Jarad J. Klein

Representative Patti Ruff

## Tentative Agenda December 10, 2013 Room 103, State Capitol

10:00 a.m. Call to Order

Roll Call

Adoption of Rules

Election of Co-chairpersons

Opening Remarks by Co-chairpersons and Introduction of Committee

Members

10:15 a.m. Panel Discussion

Mike Steuck, Manchester Fisheries Management Office, Iowa

Department of Natural Resources

Nate Hoogeveen, Director of Rivers Programs, Iowa Department of

**Natural Resources** 

Jim Gillespie, Director, Soil Conservation Division, Iowa Department of

Agriculture and Land Stewardship

11:15 a.m. Panel Discussion

Larry Gullett, Director, Johnson County Conservation Board

Jerry Peckumn, Iowa Rivers Revival

Todd Sutphin, Environmental Programs and Services, Iowa Soybean

Association

12:15 p.m. Lunch

1:00 p.m. River Restoration in Other States

Marty Melchior, Regional Director, Interfluve

2:00 p.m. Panel Discussion

Mike McGhee, Iowa Department of Natural Resources

Lake Restoration

Todd Bishop, Iowa Department of Natural Resources

River Restoration Financing

2:45 p.m. Panel Discussion

Mimi Wagner, River Restoration Consultant and Associate Professor,

Landscape Architecture, Iowa State University Tom Brownlow, City Administrator, Charles City

Wayne Petersen, Urban Conservation Program, Iowa Department of

Agriculture and Land Stewardship

3:45 p.m. Panel Discussion

Jody Kerns, Private Landowner Eric Boehm, Private Landowner

4:15 p.m. Committee Discussion

Adjournment