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CHAPTER 21
LICENSURE OF BARBERS

[Prior to 7/29/87, Health Department[470] Ch 152]
[Prior to 2/20/02, see 645—Chapter 20]

IAC 2/20/02

645—21.1(158)  Definitions.  For purposes of these rules, the following definitions shall apply:
“Board” means the board of barber examiners.
“Lapsed license” means a license that a person has failed to renew as required or the license of a

person who has failed to meet stated obligations for renewal within a stated time.
“Licensee” means any person licensed to practice as a barber in the state of Iowa.
“License expiration date” means June 30 of even-numbered years.
“Reciprocal license” means the issuance of an Iowa license to practice barbering to an applicant

who is currently licensed in another state and which state has a mutual agreement to license persons
who have the same or similar qualifications to those required in Iowa.

645—21.2(158)  Requirements for licensure.
21.2(1) The following criteria shall apply to licensure:
a. The applicant shall complete a board-approved application form.  Application forms may be

obtained from the board Web site (http://www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure), directly from the board of-
fice or from the barber school at which the student is enrolled.  All applications shall be sent to the
Board of Barber Examiners, Professional Licensure Division, Fifth Floor, Lucas State Office Building,
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0075.

b. The applicant shall complete the application form according to the instructions contained in
the application.  If the application is not completed according to the instructions, the application will
not be reviewed by the board.

c. Each application shall be accompanied by the appropriate fees payable by check or money or-
der to the Board of Barber Examiners.  The fees are nonrefundable.

d. The applicant shall present proof of completion of a tenth-grade education or the equivalent.
e. The applicant shall provide an official copy of the transcript sent directly from the school to the

board showing proof of completion of training at a board-approved barber school.
f. An application for barber examination must be filed with the board at least 30 days preceding

the examination.
g. The candidate shall take and pass the written and practical examinations required by the board.
h. Licensees who were issued their licenses within six months prior to renewal shall not be re-

quired to renew their licenses until the renewal month two years later.
i. Incomplete applications that have been on file in the board office for more than two years shall

be:
(1) Considered invalid and shall be destroyed; or
(2) Maintained upon written request of the candidate.  The candidate is responsible for requesting

the file to be maintained.
21.2(2) Requirements for an instructor’s license.
a. An applicant for an instructor’s license shall:
(1) Complete all requirements stated in subrule 21.2(1), paragraphs “a”  through “c” ;
(2) Present proof of graduation from an accredited high school or the equivalent thereof;
(3) Be licensed in the state of Iowa as a barber for not less than two years;
(4) Provide documentation of completion of a board-approved, 16-hour teaching class; and
(5) Pass the instructor’s examinations administered by the board or its designee.
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b. Instructors who were issued their licenses within six months prior to renewal shall not be re-
quired to renew their licenses until the renewal month two years later.

c. Incomplete applications that have been on file in the board office for more than two years shall
be:

(1) Considered invalid and shall be destroyed; or
(2) Maintained upon written request of the candidate.  The candidate is responsible for requesting

the file to be maintained.
d. An applicant who met the requirements for an instructor’s license except for the examinations

may apply for a temporary permit to be an instructor.  The temporary permit shall be valid for a maxi-
mum of six months from the issue date of the permit and shall not be renewable.

21.2(3) Requirements for a barbershop license.  A barbershop shall not operate unless the owner of
the barbershop possesses a current barbershop license issued by the board.  The following criteria shall
apply to licensure:

a. The owner of the barbershop shall complete all requirements in subrule 21.2(1), paragraphs
“a”  through “c.”

b. A barbershop license shall be issued for a specific location.  A change in location or site of a
barbershop shall result in the cancellation of the existing license and necessitate application for a new
license and payment of the fee required by 645—subrule 26.1(9).  A change of address without change
of actual location shall not be construed as a new site.

c. A barbershop license is not transferable.  A change in ownership of a barbershop shall result in
the cancellation of the existing license and necessitate application for a new license and payment of the
fee required by 645—subrule 26.1(9).

d. A change in the name of a barbershop shall be reported to the board within 30 days of the name
change.

e. Upon discontinuance of a barbershop, the barbershop license shall be submitted to the board
office within 30 days.

f. A barbershop that was issued a license within six months prior to renewal shall not be required
to renew the license until the renewal month two years later.

g. Incomplete applications that have been on file in the board office for more than two years shall
be:

(1) Considered invalid and shall be destroyed; or
(2) Maintained upon written request of the candidate.  The candidate is responsible for requesting

the file to be maintained.

645—21.3(158)  Examination requirements for barbers and barber instructors.
21.3(1) The following criteria shall apply to the written and practical examinations.
a. In order to be eligible to take the examinations, the supporting data and documentation re-

quired by the board shall be postmarked at least 20 days prior to the examinations.
b. Applicants will be notified of the date and time of the written and practical examinations given

by the board of barber examiners.
c. Applicants for barber licenses are required to receive a passing score on the examinations.  The

score is contingent on receiving a combined score of 70 percent, which is a weighted score based on the
following:

(1) For barbers, the practical examination equals 75 percent and the written examination equals 25
percent of the weighted score.

(2) For barber instructors, the practical examination equals 30 percent and the written examina-
tion equals 70 percent of the weighted score.

d. The board will notify the applicant in writing of the results of the examinations.
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21.3(2) Persons who do not appear on the appointed date assigned to them to take the examinations
must notify the board of barber examiners in writing or by telephone to schedule a new appointment
date.  Examination fees cannot be refunded, but the applicant will not be required to pay the next ex-
amination fee if the applicant can show proof that the applicant’s inability to take the examinations was
not the applicant’s fault.  Proof of inability to take the examinations shall be submitted to the board
office with a written request to reschedule the examinations.  An applicant shall be required to pay the
reexamination fee if the applicant does not appear for a subsequent examination.

21.3(3) Persons who do not attain the passing score may reapply to take the examinations.  Ex-
amination fees cannot be refunded, and the applicant shall be required to pay the reexamination fee.

645—21.4(158)  Educational qualifications.
21.4(1) The applicant for a barber license must:
a. Present proof of a tenth-grade education or the equivalent; and
b. Present an official copy of the transcript sent directly from the school to the board showing

proof of completion of training at a board-approved barber school.
21.4(2) The applicant for a barber instructor license must present proof of meeting the following

requirements:
a. Graduation from an accredited high school or the equivalent thereof;
b. Completion of training at a board-approved barber school; and
c. Completion of a board-approved, 16-hour teaching class.
21.4(3) Foreign-trained barbers shall:
a. Provide an equivalency evaluation of their educational credentials by one of the following:

International Educational Research Foundations, Inc., Credentials Evaluation Service, P.O. Box 3665,
Culver City, CA 90231-3665, telephone (310)258-9451, Web site www.ierf.org or E-mail at
info@ierf.org; or World Education Services (WES) at (212)966-6311, electronically at www.wes.org
or by writing to WES, P.O. Box 745, Old Chelsea Station, New York, NY 10113-0745.  The profession-
al curriculum must be equivalent to that stated in these rules.  A candidate shall bear the expense of the
curriculum evaluation.

b. Provide a notarized copy of the certificate or diploma awarded to the applicant from a barber
school in the country in which the applicant was educated.

c. Receive a final determination from the board regarding the application for licensure.

645—21.5(158)  Licensure by endorsement.  An applicant who has been a licensed barber under the
laws of another jurisdiction shall file an application for licensure by endorsement with the board office.
The board may receive by endorsement any applicant from the District of Columbia or another state,
territory, province or foreign country who:

21.5(1) Submits to the board a completed application;
21.5(2) Pays the licensure fee;
21.5(3) Shows evidence of licensure requirements that are similar to those required in Iowa;
21.5(4) Obtains verification(s) from the District of Columbia, any state, territory, province or for-

eign country where the applicant is licensed.  Verification(s) of a current barber license in another state
requires:

a. A valid license for at least 12 months in the 24-month period preceding the submission of the
application; and

b. The verification(s) must be mailed directly to the board from the District of Columbia, any
state, territory, province or foreign country in which licensure was held; and

21.5(5) Takes and passes the written and practical examinations administered by the board.
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645—21.6(158)  Licensure by reciprocal agreement.  The board may enter into a reciprocal agree-
ment with the District of Columbia or any state, territory, province or foreign country with equal or
similar requirements for licensure of barber applicants.

645—21.7(158)  Temporary permits to practice barbering.  An applicant must meet the following
requirements:

1. The applicant is applying for initial licensure and is not licensed in another state.
2. The applicant has met the requirements for licensure except for the examinations.  The tempo-

rary permit is valid from the date the application is completed for a maximum of six months and shall
not be renewable.

645—21.8(158)  Demonstrator’s permit.  The board may issue a demonstrator’s permit to a licensed
barber for the purpose of demonstrating barbering to the public.  The following criteria apply to the
demonstrator’s permit:

1. A demonstrator’s permit shall be valid for a barbershop, person or an event.  The location, pur-
pose and duration shall be stated on the permit.

2. A demonstrator’s permit shall be valid for no more than 10 days.
3. A completed application shall be submitted on a form provided by the board at least 30 days in

advance of the intended use dates.
4. An application fee shall be submitted as set forth in these rules.
5. No more than four permits shall be issued to any applicant during a calendar year.

645—21.9(158)  License renewal.
21.9(1) The biennial license renewal period for a license to practice barbering shall begin on July 1

of each even-numbered year and end on June 30 of each even-numbered year.  All licensees shall renew
on a biennial basis.

21.9(2) A renewal of license application and continuing education report form to practice as a bar-
ber shall be mailed to the licensee at least 60 days prior to the expiration of the license.  Failure to re-
ceive the renewal application shall not relieve the license holder of the obligation to pay the biennial
renewal fees on or before the renewal date.

a. The licensee shall submit the completed application and continuing education report form
with the renewal fee to the board office before the license expiration date.

b. Individuals who were issued their initial licenses within six months of the license renewal date
will not be required to renew their licenses until the next renewal two years later.

c. Those persons licensed for the first time shall not be required to complete continuing education
as a prerequisite for the first renewal of their licenses.  Continuing education hours acquired anytime
from the initial licensing until the second license renewal may be used.  The new licensee will be re-
quired to complete a minimum of eight hours of continuing education per biennium for each subse-
quent license renewal.

d. Persons licensed to practice as barbers shall keep their renewal licenses displayed in a conspic-
uous public place at the primary site of practice.

21.9(3) Late renewal.  If the renewal fees, continuing education report and renewal application are
received within 30 days after the license renewal expiration date, the late fee for failure to renew before
expiration shall be charged.

21.9(4) When all requirements for license renewal are met, the licensee shall be sent a license re-
newal card by regular mail.
IAC 2/20/02



Ch 21, p.5Professional Licensure[645]IAC 2/20/02

645—21.10(272C)  Exemptions for inactive practitioners.
21.10(1) A licensee who is not engaged in practice in the state of Iowa may be granted a waiver of

compliance and obtain a certificate of exemption upon written application to the board.  The applica-
tion shall contain a statement that the applicant will not engage in practice in the state of Iowa without
first complying with all regulations governing reinstatement after exemption.  The application for a
certificate of exemption shall be submitted upon the form provided by the board.  A licensee shall hold
a current license in order to apply for exempt status.  A licensee shall apply for inactive status prior to
the license expiration date.

21.10(2) Licensees shall renew at the next scheduled renewal time.  Licensees who were issued
their reinstatements within six months prior to the renewal date shall not be required to renew their
licenses until the renewal date two years later.

21.10(3) Reinstatement of exempted, inactive practitioners.  Inactive practitioners who have re-
quested and been granted a waiver of compliance with the renewal requirements and who have ob-
tained a certificate of exemption shall, prior to engaging in the practice of the profession in Iowa, satis-
fy the requirements for reinstatement as outlined in 645—24.10(158,272C).

21.10(4) A new licensee who is on inactive status during the initial license renewal time period and
reinstates before the first license expiration date will not be required to complete continuing education
for the first license renewal time period only.  Eight hours of continuing education will be required for
every renewal thereafter.

21.10(5) Verification of license(s) is required from every state in which the licensee has practiced
since the Iowa license became inactive.

21.10(6) Reinstatement of inactive license.  The following chart illustrates the requirements for
reinstatement based on the length of time a license has been considered inactive.

An applicant shall satisfy the following
requirements:

1 renewal 2 renewals 3 or more
renewals

Submit written application for
reinstatement to the board

Required Required Required

Pay the reinstatement fee $50 $50 $50
Pay the renewal fee $50 $50 $50
Submit license verification(s) from every
state in which the licensee has practiced
since obtaining inactive status

Required Required Required

Furnish evidence of completion of
approved continuing education hours
completed within the prior two bienniums
of date of application for reinstatement

OR
Furnish evidence of current full-time
practice in another state of the United
States or District of Columbia and
completion of substantially equivalent
continuing education

OR
Furnish evidence of successful completion
of the professional examinations within
one year immediately prior to
reinstatement (Examination fee is $75)

8 hours

8 hours

Successful
completion of
examinations

16 hours

16 hours

Successful
completion of
examinations

24 hours

24 hours

Successful
completion of
examinations

Total fees and continuing education hours
required for reinstatement:

$100 and 8
hours

$100 and 16
hours

$100 and 24
hours
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645—21.11(272C)  Lapsed licenses.
21.11(1) If the renewal fees and continuing education report are received more than 30 days after

the license expiration date, the license is lapsed.  An application for reinstatement must be filed with the
board and be accompanied by the reinstatement fee, the renewal fee for each biennium the license is
lapsed and the late fee for failure to renew before expiration.  The licensee may be subject to an audit of
the licensee’s continuing education report.

21.11(2) Licensees who have not fulfilled the requirements for license renewal or for an exemption
in the required time frame will have a lapsed license and shall not engage in the practice of barbering.
Practicing without a license may be cause for disciplinary action.

21.11(3) In order to reinstate a lapsed license, licensees shall comply with all requirements for rein-
statement as outlined in 645—24.6(158).

21.11(4) If an instructor’s license has lapsed for more than three bienniums, the instructor shall also
pay the examination fee and pass the instructor examinations.

21.11(5) After the reinstatement of a lapsed license, the licensee shall renew at the next scheduled
renewal cycle and complete the continuing education required for the biennium.

21.11(6) Verification of license(s) is required from every state in which the licensee has practiced
since the Iowa license lapsed.
IAC 2/20/02



Ch 21, p.7Professional Licensure[645]IAC 2/20/02

21.11(7) Reinstatement of a lapsed license.  The following chart illustrates the requirements for
reinstatement based on the length of time a license has lapsed.

An applicant shall satisfy the
following requirements:

30 days after
expiration date
up to 1 renewal

2 renewals 3 renewals 4 or more
renewals

Submit written application for
reinstatement

Required Required Required Required

Pay the renewal fee(s) $50 $100 $150 $200
Pay the late fee $50 $50 $50 $50
Pay the reinstatement fee $50 $50 $50 $50
Furnish verification of
license(s) from every state in
which the licensee has
practiced since the Iowa
license lapsed

Required Required Required Required

Furnish evidence of
completion of continuing
education during the two most
recent bienniums prior to
reinstatement

OR
Furnish evidence of current
full-time practice in another
state of the United States or
District of Columbia and
completion of substantially
equivalent continuing
education

OR/AND
Take the professional license
examinations within one year
immediately prior to
reinstatement (Examination
fee is $75)

8 hours

8 hours

OR
Successful

completion of
examinations

16 hours

16 hours

OR
Successful

completion of
examinations

24 hours

24 hours

OR
Successful

completion of
examinations

24 hours

24 hours

AND
Successful

completion of
examinations

required

Total fees and continuing
education hours required for
reinstatement:

$150 and 8
hours

$200 and 16
hours

$250 and 24
hours

$375 and 24
hours and
successful

completion of
examinations

645—21.12(272C)  License denial.
21.12(1) An applicant who has been denied licensure by the board may appeal the denial and re-

quest a hearing on the issues related to the licensure denial by serving a notice of appeal and request for
hearing upon the board not more than 30 days following the date of mailing of the notification of licen-
sure denial to the applicant.  The request for hearing as outlined in these rules shall specifically describe
the facts to be contested and determined at the hearing.
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21.12(2) If an applicant who has been denied licensure by the board appeals the licensure denial
and requests a hearing pursuant to this rule, the hearing and subsequent procedures shall be held pur-
suant to the process outlined in Iowa Code chapter 272C.

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code chapters 272C and 158.
[Filed 7/11/67]
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