Ex officio, nonvoting members

Robert DeWitt, FBI Supervisory Special Agent

Matthew A. Roberts, Resident Agent-in-Charge, U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration Ex officio, nonvoting members from the General Assembly

Senate

Thomas G. Courtney	Burlington	January 8, 2017	
		January 8, 2017	
House			
Greg Heartsill	Chariton	January 8, 2017	
Todd E. Taylor	Cedar Rapids	January 8, 2017	

IOWA LOTTERY AUTHORITY

§12.30; Ch 99G

13001 University Avenue, Clive 50325; (515) 725-7900; www.ialottery.com

Terry Rich, Chief Executive OfficerApril 30, 2017

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Matthew McDermott, Chair	West Des Moines	April 30, 2016
Connor Flynn	Des Moines	April 30, 2019
	Cedar Rapids	
Mary Rathje	Marion.	April 30, 2019
Ying Sa	Des Moines	April 30, 2018
Ex officio, nonvoting member		
	6.0.	C + + +

Michael L. Fitzgerald, Treasurer of State Statutory

The Iowa Lottery Authority operates as a public enterprise based upon an entrepreneurial business model.

Some key phrases of purpose and intent were included in the legislation that created the Iowa Lottery Authority. In the legislation, the General Assembly declared that "[t]he state should create a public instrumentality of the state in the form of a nonprofit authority known as the Iowa Lottery Authority with comprehensive and extensive powers to operate a state lottery in an entrepreneurial and businesslike manner." Another section of the legislation stated that "[1]ottery games shall be operated and managed in a manner that provides continuing entertainment to the public, maximizes revenues and ensures that the lottery is operated with integrity and dignity and free from political influence."

The Iowa Lottery began operations in 1985 and is overseen by the Iowa Lottery Board and the chief executive officer (CEO). The board and CEO establish the lottery's budget and supervise and approve the activities of the lottery. Among the board and CEO's duties are establishing policies for the operation of lottery games within the state; approving all contracts for operation of the lottery; and establishing rules as to the operations of specific games and lottery activities. The CEO and the five voting board members are appointed by the Governor and are subject to confirmation by the Senate. The Treasurer of State serves as an ex officio member of the board.