IOWA LOTTERY AUTHORITY

12.30; Ch 99G

2323 Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50312; (515) 725-7900; www.ialottery.com

Terry Rich, Chief Executive Officer

Name	City	Term Ending/Type	
Deborah Burnight	Sioux City	April 30, 2015	
Mary Junge	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2014	
Michael Klappholz	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2014	
Herman Richter	Milford	April 30, 2015	
Brad Schroeder	Pleasant Hill	April 30, 2012	
Ex officio, nonvoting member			
Michael L. Fitzgerald, Treasurer of State		Statutory	

The Iowa Lottery Authority operates as a public enterprise based upon an entrepreneurial business model.

Some key phrases of purpose and intent were included in the legislation that created the Iowa Lottery Authority. In the legislation, the General Assembly declared that "[t]he state should create a public instrumentality of the state in the form of a nonprofit authority known as the Iowa Lottery Authority with comprehensive and extensive powers to operate a state lottery in an entrepreneurial and businesslike manner." Another section of the legislation stated that "[1]ottery games shall be operated and managed in a manner that provides continuing entertainment to the public, maximizes revenues and ensures that the lottery is operated with integrity and dignity and free from political influence."

The Iowa Lottery began operations in 1985 and is overseen by the Iowa Lottery Board and the lottery chief executive officer (CEO). The board and CEO establish the lottery's budget and supervise and approve the activities of the lottery. Among the board and CEO's duties are establishing policies for the operation of lottery games within the state; approving all contracts for operation of the lottery; and establishing rules as to the operations of specific games and lottery activities. The CEO and the five voting board members are appointed by the Governor and are subject to confirmation by the Senate. The Treasurer of State serves as an ex officio member of the board.

IOWA PUBLIC BROADCASTING BOARD

§256.81, 256.82

Iowa Public Television, 6450 Corporate Drive, P.O. Box 6450, Johnston 50131-6450; (515)242-3100

Daniel K. Miller, Executive Director and General Manager		Serves at Pleasure of Board
Name	City	Term Ending
Robert Hall, President	Harlan	June 30, 2013
Betty Jean Furgerson, President Emerita	Waterloo	June 30, 2012
Bettie Bolar	Marshalltown	June 30, 2014
Charles Edwards	Des Moines	June 30, 2012
Susan McDermott	Cedar Rapids	June 30, 2012
Brent Siegrist	Council Bluffs	June 30, 2013
Gary Steinke	Des Moines	June 30, 2013