## IOWA LOTTERY AUTHORITY

§12.30; Ch 99G

2323 Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50312; (515)725-7900; www.ialottery.com

		Term Ending Date
Edward J. Stanek II, Chief Executive Officer		April 30, 2008
		Term Ending Date/
Name	City	Type of Appointment
Elaine Baxter, Chair	Burlington	April 30, 2007
William Brosnahan	Dubuque	April 30, 2006
Timothy Clausen	Sioux City	April 30, 2008
Mary Junge	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2006
	Des Moines	
•	Ex officio, nonvoting member.	•
Michael L. Fitzgerald, Treasurer of State		Statutory

On July 1, 2003, the lowa Lottery Division of the lowa Department of Revenue and Finance was eliminated and replaced with the lowa Lottery Authority, a public enterprise based on a business model.

The legislation creating the change provided some key phrases of purpose and intent for the Iowa Lottery Authority. In the legislation, the Iowa General Assembly declared that "[t]he state should create a public instrumentality of the state in the form of a nonprofit authority known as the Iowa Lottery Authority with comprehensive and extensive powers to operate a state lottery in an entrepreneurial and businesslike manner." Another section of the legislation stated that "[I]ottery games shall be operated and managed in a manner that provides continuing entertainment to the public, maximizes revenues and ensures that the lottery is operated with integrity and dignity and free from political influence."

The lowa Lottery began operations in 1985 and is overseen by the Iowa Lottery Board and the lottery chief executive officer (CEO). The board and CEO establish the lottery's budget and supervise and approve the activities of the lottery. Among the board and CEO's duties are establishing policies for the operation of lottery games within the state; approving all contracts for operation of the lottery; and establishing rules as to the operations of specific games and lottery activities. The CEO and the five voting board members are appointed by the Governor and are subject to confirmation by the Senate. The Treasurer of State serves as an ex officio member of the board.

## IOWA PUBLIC BROADCASTING BOARD

§256.82

Iowa Public Television, 6450 Corporate Drive, P.O. Box 6450. Johnston 50131; (515)242-3100; www.iptv.org

Daniel K. Miller, Executive Director and General Manager .... Serves at Pleasure of Board

Name	City	Term Ending Date
Betty Jean Furgerson, President	. Waterloo	June 30, 2006
Robert Hall, Vice President	. Harlan	June 30, 2007
Michele Guinn	. Des Moines	June 30, 2008
John V. Hartung	. Indianola	June 30, 2007
Susan McDermott	. Cedar Rapids	June 30, 2006
Mary Jean Montgomery	. Spencer	June 30, 2006
Michael C. Morrison	. Mason City	June 30, 2008
Grant L. Price	. Waterloo	June 30, 2008
Albert Wood	. Estherville	June 30, 2007

Iowa Code section 256.82 creates the Iowa Public Broadcasting Board consisting of nine members: four appointed by the Governor, one appointed by the superintendents of the merged