The commission adopts standards for the licensing of racing industry occupations, as well as standards for the operation of all race meetings and facilities. The commission also adopts standards for the operation and licensing of gambling structures. Funding for the commission's operations is appropriated by the General Assembly and is reimbursed to the State General Fund through license and regulatory fees charged to licensees.

# **IOWA COMMUNICATIONS NETWORK**

Ch 8D

Grimes State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)725-4692; www.icn.state.ia.us

John P. Gillispie, Executive Director...... Serves at Pleasure of Commission

## IOWA TELECOMMUNICATIONS AND TECHNOLOGY COMMISSION

§8D.3

Iowa Communications Network, Grimes State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)725-4692

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Betsy Brandsgard, Chair	Davenport	April 30, 2012
Pamela Duffy	Adel	April 30, 2010
Robert Hardman	Cedar Falls	April 30, 2014
Timothy L. Lapointe	Mason City	April 30, 2011
Michael Mahaffey	Montezuma	April 30, 2013

Ex officio, nonvoting member:

David A. Vaudt, Auditor of State ......Statutory

The Iowa Communications Network (ICN) was established by the General Assembly effective July 1, 1994. The ICN provides voice, video, and data telecommunications services to authorized users in private and public K-12 schools, area education agencies, community colleges, regents institutions, private colleges, state and federal government agencies, all courtrooms, all corrections facilities including community-based corrections, the U.S. Postal Service (demonstration projects), public libraries, and hospitals and physician clinics (not voice) throughout the state. The ICN was created to ensure that authorized users are provided affordable telecommunications services for educational and other applications throughout rural and urban Iowa on an equal cost and access basis. The ICN is dedicated to delivering telecommunications features and savings to authorized users by maximizing technology resources.

The executive director is appointed by the Iowa Telecommunications and Technology Commission (ITTC), in consultation with the Director of the Department of Administrative Services, serves at the pleasure of the commission, and is confirmed by the Senate. Commission members are appointed by the Governor and are subject to Senate confirmation. Policy, standards, and rules governing the ICN are determined by the ITTC (see Iowa Code chapter 8D).

# **IOWA FINANCE AUTHORITY**

#### Ch 16

2015 Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50312; (515)725-4900 or (800)432-7230; www.iowafinanceaauthority.gov

Joe O'Hern, Executive Director ......Serves at Pleasure of Governor

Name	City	Term Ending
Steven Adams	Red Oak	April 30, 2011
Heather Armstrong (Kramer)	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2013

## EXECUTIVE BRANCH AGENCIES

Darlys Baum	Burlington	April 30, 2015
Virginia Bordwell	e	<b>.</b> .
Carmela Brown		
Roger Caudron	Sioux City	April 30, 2013
David Erickson	West Des Moines	April 30, 2013
Wilfred Johnson	Waterloo	April 30, 2011
Douglas Walter	Bettendorf	April 30, 2011

The General Assembly created the Iowa Finance Authority (IFA) in 1975 as a public instrumentality and agency to undertake programs that help working-class Iowans attain and maintain safe, decent, and affordable housing. The General Assembly charged IFA with encouraging the investment of private capital and stimulating the construction and rehabilitation of adequate housing through the use of public financing. A nine-member board of directors, appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate, serves in a policymaking capacity for the agency. Over the years IFA's role has expanded considerably and currently includes four primary areas of responsibility. IFA offers a variety of programs that address a continuum of housing needs, from homeless assistance to multifamily rental to single-family homeownership. IFA issues tax-exempt bonds for a wide range of projects. The IFA provides the lowest-cost funds for drinking water and waste water facilities in Iowa. This program, called the State Revolving Fund, receives federal grants that allow for low-interest loans to help communities affordably build or update clean water facilities. IFA's Title Guaranty Division offers a low-cost mechanism to guarantee title to real property in Iowa. Working with attorneys, abstractors, and lenders throughout the state, Title Guaranty ensures the integrity of the land-title transfer system. The Iowa JOBS Board was created by 2009 Iowa Acts, Senate File 376. The Iowa JOBS Board is located within IFA for administrative purposes and is composed of six members of the public appointed by the Governor and five ex officio government officials designated by the legislature. The Iowa JOBS Board reviews applications under the Iowa JOBS Local Infrastructure Competitive Grant Program and makes awards of grants to eligible applicants. IFA provides administrative support for the Iowa JOBS Board.

### TITLE GUARANTY DIVISION BOARD

\$16.2A 2015 Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50312; (515)725-4900 or (800)432-7230

### Loyd Ogle, Director, Title Guaranty Division

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Deborah Petersen, Chair	Council Bluffs	
Timothy Reilly	Cedar Falls	April 30, 2015
Surasee Rodari	Des Moines	April 30, 2011
Patricia Schneider	Des Moines	April 30, 2013
Mitchell Taylor	Burlington	
-		1 ,

Ex officio member:

Loyd Ogle, Director, Title Guaranty Division.....Statutory

## **IOWA LAW ENFORCEMENT ACADEMY**

Ch 80B Camp Dodge, P.O. Box 130, Johnston 50131; (515)242-5357; www.state.ia.us/ilea

E. A. (Penny) Westfall, Director