(demonstration projects), public libraries, and hospitals and physician clinics (not voice) throughout the state. The ICN was created to ensure that authorized users are provided affordable telecommunications services for educational and other applications throughout rural and urban Iowa on an equal cost and access basis. The ICN is dedicated to connecting Iowans to the world.

The executive director is appointed by the Iowa Telecommunications and Technology Commission (ITTC), in consultation with the Director of the Department of Administrative Services, serves at the pleasure of the commission, and is confirmed by the Senate. Commission members are appointed by the Governor and are subject to Senate confirmation. Policy, standards, and rules governing the ICN are determined by the ITTC (see Iowa Code chapter 8D).

IOWA FINANCE AUTHORITY

§7E.7, Ch 16
100 East Grand Avenue, Suite 250, Des Moines 50309;
(515)242-4990; fax (515)242-4957; www.ifahome.com

Bret Mills, Executive DirectorServes at Pleasure of Governor

Name	City	Term Ending Date
Vincent Lintz, Chair	. Windsor Heights	April 30, 2011
Steven Adams	. Red Oak	April 30, 2011
Kay Anderson	. Le Mars	April 30, 2009
Virginia Bordwell		•
Carmela Brown	. Urbandale	April 30, 2009
Roger Caudron	. Sioux City	April 30, 2007
Heather Kramer	•	• .
Douglas Walter		
Richard Wright		• .

In 1975, the General Assembly created the Iowa Finance Authority as a public instrumentality and agency to undertake programs which assist in the attainment of quality housing for low-income and moderate-income Iowans by encouraging the investment of private capital and stimulating the construction and rehabilitation of adequate housing through the use of public financing. A nine-member board of directors, appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate, serves in a policymaking capacity for the agency. The authority administers the Title Guaranty Program, the Housing Assistance Fund Program, the Mortgage Credit Certificate Program, and the Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Program. The authority issues bonds under its Single-Family and Multifamily Housing Programs, Small Business Loan Program, and Economic Development Bond Bank Program. The authority has also been authorized to cooperate with other state entities and to issue its bonds to provide financing for various state needs such as the Iowa Sewage Treatment Works Financing Program, the Iowa Comprehensive Underground Storage Tank Financing Program, the E911 Financing Program, the Community College Dormitory Financing Program, the Rural Community 2000 Program, and the Juvenile Housing and Treatment Facilities Program.

TITLE GUARANTY DIVISION BOARD

\$16.2

Iowa Finance Authority, 200 East Grand Avenue, Suite 350, Des Moines 50309; (515)242-4989; fax (515)242-4994

Loyd Ogle, Director, Title Guaranty DivisionStatutory

		Term Ending Date/
Name	City	Type of Appointment
Mitchell Taylor, Chair	Burlington	April 30, 2011
Catherine Hult	Bettendorf	April 30, 2007
Walter Murphy	New Hampton	April 30, 2009
	_	-

Berneil Preul	Denison	April 30, 2007
	Des Moines	•
Ex officio member:		
Loyd Oale Director Title Guara	inty Division	Statutory

IOWA LAW ENFORCEMENT ACADEMY

Ch 80B

Camp Dodge, P.O. Box 130, Johnston 50131; (515)242-5357; www.state.ia.us/ilea/

E. A. (Penny) Westfall, Director

LAW ENFORCEMENT ACADEMY COUNCIL

§80B.5, 80B.6; Executive Order No. 6 (April 1999); House Concurrent Resolution 31 (62 G.A.) Camp Dodge, P.O. Box 130, Johnston 50131; (515)242-5357; www.state.ia.us/ilea/

		Term Ending Date/
Name	City	Type of Appointment
Brian Guy, Chair	Clinton	April 30, 2006
Angela Bonar, Vice Chair	West Burlington	April 30, 2008
Niki Dean	Bettendorf	April 30, 2008
Thomas E. Gustafson	Denison	April 30, 2006
Randy Krukow	Spencer	April 30, 2009
Patty Link	Des Moines	April 30, 2009
James Romar	West Des Moines	April 30, 2007
	Ex officio, nonvoting members:	

David M. Giles, U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration Resident Agent in Charge Paul Lacotti, FBI Special Agent in Charge

Ex officio, nonvoting members from the General Assembly:

	Senate	
Charles Larson Jr	Cedar Rapids	Statutory
House		
Raymond Zirkelbach	Monticello	Statutory

The lowa Law Enforcement Academy was created by action of the General Assembly in 1967 to maximize training opportunities for law enforcement officers, to coordinate training, and to set standards for the law enforcement service, as provided for in lowa Code chapter 80B.

The academy provides residential training sessions varying in length from 12-week basic certification courses to one-day specialty and in-service seminars. Academy-sponsored and -conducted training programs are held in the field as well as at the central facility at Camp Dodge.

In 1985 and 1986, the academy was given the responsibility for the administration of a program of psychological testing of applicants for law enforcement positions. In 1986 action taken by the General Assembly assigned to the academy the responsibility of providing training to jailers of county jails and city holding facilities. Action by the General Assembly in 1996 placed with the academy the responsibility for providing training for telecommunicators.

All reserve peace officers in the state who are granted authority by their jurisdiction to carry weapons must first be certified to do so by application to and approval of the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy Council. The academy develops training programs, approves regional training programs, establishes hiring standards for peace officers, and provides audiovisual resources to law enforcement training and educational institutions.