IOWA COMMUNICATIONS NETWORK

Harold M. "Tommy" Thompson, chief operating officer Building W-4, Camp Dodge, P.O. Box 587, Johnston 50131-0587 515-323-4692

The Iowa Communications Network was established by the Seventy-fifth General Assembly effective on July 1, 1994. The Network provides voice, video and data telecommunications services to authorized users in private and public K-12 schools, area education agencies, community colleges, regents institutions, private colleges, state and federal government agencies, all court rooms, all corrections facilities including home based corrections, the U. S. Postal Service (demonstration projects), public libraries, and hospitals and physician clinics (not voice) throughout the state. The Network was created to ensure that authorized users are provided affordable telecommunications services for educational and other applications throughout rural and urban Iowa on an equal cost and access basis. The Network is dedicated to integrating technologies to enhance Iowa's quality of life.

The executive director is appointed by the Iowa Telecommunications and Technology Commission (ITTC), serves at the pleasure of the Commission, and is confirmed by the Senate. Commission members are appointed by the governor and are subject to Senate confirmation. Policy, standards and rules governing the Iowa Communications Network are determined by

the ITTC (see Chapter 8D of the Code of Iowa).

lowa Telecommunications and Technology Commission

RICHARD H. OPIE, chair, Des Moines; term expires 2002; JOAN U. AXEL, Muscatine; term expires 2000; TIMOTHY L. LAPOINTE, Mason City; term expires 2005; MARY A. NELSON, West Des Moines; term expires 2004; MARK J. SCHOUTEN, Orange City; term expires 2001; RICHARD A. JOHNSON, State Auditor; ex officio

IOWA FINANCE AUTHORITY

Darlene M. Jeris, executive director 100 E. Grand Ave., Suite 250, Des Moines 50309 515/242-4990 or 1-800-432-7230; FAX 515/242-4957 www.ifahome.com

JAMES BALMER, chair, Iowa City; term expires 2001; MARGARET COLLISION, vice-chair, West Des Moines; term expires 2003; KAY ANDERSON, LeMars; term expires 2003; VIRGINIA BORDWELL, Washington; term expires 2005; VINCINT LINTZ, Windsor Heights; term expires 2005; DARWIN T. LYNNER, JR., West Des Moines; term expires 2001; ROOSEVELT TAYLOR, Waterloo; term expires 2001; LISA WAGEMAN, Cedar Falls; term expires 2005; Vacancy

In 1975, the 66th General Assembly created the Iowa Finance Authority as a public instrumentality and agency to undertake programs which assist in the attainment of quality housing for low and moderate income Iowans by encouraging the investment of private capital and stimulating the construction and rehabilitation of adequate housing through the use of public financing. A nine-member board of directors, appointed by the governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate, serves in a policy-making capacity for the agency. The authority administers the title guaranty program, the housing assistance fund program, the mortgage credit certificate program, and the low income housing tax credit program. The authority issues bonds under its single family and multifamily housing programs, small business loan program and economic development bond bank program. The authority has also been authorized to cooperate with other state entities and to issue its bonds to provide financing for various state needs such as the Iowa sewage treatment works financing program, the Iowa comprehensive underground storage tank financing program, the E911 financing program, community college dormitory financing program, the rural community 2000 program, and the juvenile housing and treatment facilities program.