IOWA FINANCE AUTHORITY

Ted R. Chapler, executive director; 100 E. Grand Ave., Suite 250, Des Moines 50309; 515/242-4990 FAX 515/242-4957

JAMES BALMER, chair, Iowa City; term expires 2001 KAY ANDERSON, LeMars; term expires 2003 JAMES CRANE, treasurer, Emmetsburg; term expires 1999 MARGARET COLLISION, Cumming; term expires 2003 DARLENE JERIS, Clive; term expires 2003 DEBORAH KRAUTH, Ames; term expires 1999 DARWIN T. LYNNER, JR., West Des Moines; term expires 2001 ROOSEVELT TAYLOR, Waterloo; term expires 2001 EARL YODER, Iowa City; term expires 1999

In 1975, the 66th General Assembly created the Iowa Finance Authority as a public instrumentality and agency to undertake programs which assist in the attainment of quality housing for low and moderate income Iowans by encouraging the investment of private capital and stimulating the construction and rehabilitation of adequate housing through the use of public financing. A nine-member board of directors, appointed by the governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate, serves in a policy-making capacity for the agency. The authority administers the title guaranty program, the housing assistance fund program, the mortgage credit certificate program, and the low income housing tax credit program. The authority issues bonds under its single family and multifamily housing programs, small business loan program and economic development bond bank program. The authority has also been authorized to cooperate with other state entities and to issue its bonds to provide financing for various state needs such as the Iowa sewage treatment works financing program, the Iowa comprehensive underground storage tank financing program, the E911 financing program, community college dormitory financing program, the rural community 2000 program, and the juvenile housing and treatment facilities program.

IOWA LAW ENFORCEMENT ACADEMY

Gene W. Shepard, director; Camp Dodge, 7700 N.W. Beaver Drive, P.O. Box 130, Johnston. 50131-0130; 515/242-5357; FAX: 515/242-5471.

Iowa Law Enforcement Academy Council

THOMAS C. LILLQUIST, chair, Forest City; term expires 2001 GERALD HINZMAN, vice-chair, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1998 REP. BARRY BRAUNS, Conesville; term expires 2001 JACQUELINE DAY, Des Moines; term expires 2001 SEN. DONALD E. GETTINGS, Ottumwa; term expires 2000 ROXANNE JOHNSON, Council Bluffs; term expires 2000 D. STEVEN LYNN, Davenport; term expires 1999 THOMAS S. MULLIN, Sioux City; term expires 1998 VACANT

The Iowa Law Enforcement Academy was created by action of the 62nd General Assembly in 1967 to maximize training opportunities for law enforcement officers, to coordinate training and to set standards for the law enforcement service, as provided for in Chapter 80B, the *Code of Iowa*.

The academy provides residential training sessions varying in length from 12-week basic certification courses to one day specialty and in-service seminars. Academy sponsored and conducted training programs are held in the field as well as at the

central facility at Camp Dodge.

Action taken by the 71st General Assembly assigned to the academy the responsibility of providing training to jailers in county jails and city holding facilities. In addition, the academy was given the responsibility for the administration of a program of psychological testing of applicants for law enforcement positions.

All reserve peace officers in the state who are granted authority by their jurisdiction to carry weapons must first be certified to do so by application to and approval of the

Iowa Law Enforcement Academy Council.

The academy develops training programs, approves regional training programs, establishes hiring standards for peace officers and provides audio-visual resources to law enforcement training and educational institutions.