### **Publications**

Christie Dailey, director; 402 Iowa Avenue, Iowa City 52240; 319-338-5471

Several periodical publications issued by the Historical Department provide researchers, school children and other interested readers with information on state and local history. The award-winning popular history magazine, "The Palimpsest," is published six times a year. "News for Members," a newsletter of State Historical Society activities, appears four times each year. A quarterly journal, "The Annals of Iowa," contains scholarly articles, book reviews and bibliographic source information on topics related to Iowa's past. "The Goldfinch," a history magazine for school children, is published four times during the school year.

Occasional publications issued by the department include technical sheets with advice on managing historical collections, research resource guides, records management manuals, biographies, monographs, architectural histories and other books on Iowa history. All department publications are available to the public at a reasonable

cost.

#### Historic Preservation

Lowell J. Soike, director; State Historical Bldg., Des Moines 50319; 515-281-4358

The Office of Historic Preservation is charged with numerous responsibilities related to the identification, registration and protection of Iowa's historically, architecturally or archaeologically significant buildings, structures and sites. This office processes all of Iowa's applicants for the National Register of Historic Places, reviews and assists state and local agencies that comply with federal requirements regarding cultural resource management, coordinates historic property surveys, and maintains an inventory of the historic properties within the state. In addition, the Office of Historic Preservation provides technical assistance for preservation, restoration and rehabilitation of historic buildings and handles all rehabilitation Investment Tax Credit applications.

## **Historical Society**

Carol Ulch, deputy director state historical department; 402 Iowa Avenue, Iowa City 52240: 319-338-5471

The State Historical Society exists as a membership organization to aid and to help fund specific activities of the department. Membership is open to the general public. Members of the society elect a board of twelve trustees; from among these trustees the governor appoints the two representatives to serve on the State Historical Board.

# **HOUSING FINANCE AUTHORITY, IOWA**

William H. McNarney, executive director; 418 Sixth Ave., Des Moines 50819; 515-281-4058

EARL YODER, chair, Iowa City; term expires 1987

GENE GEISSINGER, vice chair, Des Moines; term expires 1985

JAMES BALMER, Iowa City; term expires 1989

ROY BERGER, Des Moines; term expires 1985

BETH COLBY, Mason City; term expires 1985

CONSTANCE FOSTER, Des Moines; term expires 1989

NEIL RONFELDT, Council Bluffs; term expires 1987

ELMER VERMEER, treasurer, Sioux Center; term expires 1987

The 66th General Assembly, in 1975, created the Iowa Housing Finance Authority to develop and undertake programs which assist in attainment of adequate housing for low or moderate income families, elderly families and families with one or more persons who are handicapped or disabled.

The duties of the authority are to utilize the proceeds of the sale of bonds and notes, state appropriations, federal grant and loan programs and local and private contributions, to provide loans and grants to eligible recipients, to monitor such

programs and regularly account for same to the citizens of Iowa.

Thirty percent or more of the housing units provided directly or indirectly by the authority in any three-year period must be for benefit of very low-income families. elderly families or families with one or more persons who are handicapped or disabled.

The 68th General Assembly, in 1980, created the Iowa Family Farm Development Authority, to assist eligible Iowans who engage in farming or wish to engage in farming in purchasing agricultural land, agricultural improvements and depreciable property. Under Code Chapter 175, the executive director of the Iowa Housing Finance Authority is also the executive director of the Iowa Family Farm Development Authority.

The 69th General Assembly in 1981, created the Iowa Small Business Loan Program by enactment of H.F. 2464, to assist in the development and expansion of small business in Iowa, through the sale, by the Iowa Housing Finance Authority, of tax-exempt bonds and notes. The program is assigned to the authority, with an initial bonding authority of \$50 million.

## HUMAN SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF

Michael V. Reagen, Ph.D., commissioner; Hoover State Office Bldg., Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5452

JOAN LIPSKY, chair, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1985

J.T. WATSON, vice chair, West Des Moines; term expires 1987

PAUL HASVOLD, Decorah; term expires 1989 MYRNA LANGERUD, Lake Mills; term expires 1989

DOLPH PULLIAM, Des Moines; term expires 1985

LEWIS RICH, Glidden; term expires 1987 MADALENE TOWNSEND, Davenport; term expires 1985.

The Department of Social Services was renamed the Department of Human Services in July, 1983 according to legislative mandate. Human Services retained responsibility for many of the same services which the Department of Social Services administered including economic and medical assistance, protective services for children and adults, and services to the mentally ill, mentally retarded, and developmentally disabled. Administrative responsibility for prisons, community corrections and prison manufacturing was transferred from Human Services to a separate Department of Corrections.

A seven-member Council on Human Services, appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate, serves in a policy-making capacity for all department services, and in an advisory capacity to the governor and the commissioner. The commissioner is the chief executive of the department and is responsible for the administration of department programs and services. The commissioner is appointed by the governor, subject to Senate confirmation, and serves at the pleasure of the governor.

The department's central organizational structure is composed of the Office of the Commissioner and seven divisions: Mental Health/Mental Retardation/Developmental Disabilities, Social Services, Community Services, Management and Budget, Organizational Planning, the Inspector General and the Iowa Veterans Home. The commissioner and division directors serve as the cabinet of the department. Human Services employs approximately 8,000 people in its local offices, institutions and central office.

### Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities

Charles M. Palmer, director; Hoover State Office Bldg., Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5874 This division was established on Jan. 1, 1982, by combining the former Division of Mental Health Resources, the Iowa Mental Health Authority, the Developmental Disabilities program staff and the State Mental Health Advisory Council. Two policy bodies advise the director (in addition to the Council on Social Services): the 15-member Mental Health and Mental Retardation Commission and the 24-member Developmental Disabilities Council.

The division is responsible for administration of the Mental Health Institutes at Cherokee, Clarinda, Independence and Mount Pleasant, and the Hospital-Schools at Glenwood and Woodward. Other responsibilties include development, funding and monitoring of community mental health, mental retardation and developmental disabilities services. The division is also responsible for statewide mental health, mental retardation and developmental disabilities planning.