studies on a variety of subjects related to Iowa history and presents tours, lectures, slide programs and workshops to local historical organizations and the general public.

### **Office of Historic Preservation**

The Office of Historic Preservation is charged with numerous responsibilities related to the identification, registration and protection of Iowa's historically, architecturally or archaeologically significant buildings, structures and sites. This office processes all of Iowa's applicants for the National Register of Historic Places, reviews and assists state and local agencies that comply with federal requirements regarding cultural resource management, coordinates historic property surveys, and maintains an inventory of the historic properties within the state. In addition, the Office of Historic Preservation provides technical assistance for preservation, restoration and rehabilitation of historic buildings and handles all rehabilitation Investment Tax Credit applications.

### **State Historical Society**

The State Historical Society exists as a membership organization to aid and to help fund specific activities of the department. Membership is open to the general public. Members of the society elect a board of twelve trustees; from among these trustees the governor appoints the two representatives to serve on the State Historical Board.

## **Housing Finance Authority, Iowa**

418 Sixth Ave., Des Moines 50309

EARL YODER, chair, Iowa City; term expires 1987 GENE GEISSINGER, vice chair, Des Moines; term expires 1985 JAMES BALMER, Iowa City; term expires 1989 ROY BERGER, Des Moines; term expires 1985 BETH COLBY, Mason City; term expires 1985 JOY CORNING, Waterloo; term expires 1989 CONSTANCE FOSTER, Des Moines; term expires 1989 NEIL RONFELDT, Council Bluffs; term expires 1987 ELMER VERMEER, treasurer, Sioux Center; term expires 1987 WILLIAM H. MCNARNEY, executive director

The 66th General Assembly, in 1975, created the Iowa Housing Finance Authority to develop and undertake programs which assist in attainment of adequate housing for low or moderate income families, elderly families and families with one or more persons who are handicapped or disabled.

The duties of the authority are to utilize the proceeds of the sale of bonds and notes, state appropriations, federal grant and loan programs and local and private contributions, to provide loans and grants to eligible recipients, to monitor such programs and regularly account for same to the citizens of Iowa.

Thirty percent or more of the housing units provided directly or indirectly by the authority in any three-year period must be for benefit of very low-income families, elderly families or families with one or more persons who are handicapped or disabled.

The 68th General Assembly, in 1980, created the Iowa Family Farm Development Authority, to assist eligible Iowans who engage in farming or wish to engage in farming in purchasing agricultural land, agricultural improvements and depreciable property. Under Code Chapter 175, the executive director of the Iowa Housing Finance Authority is also the executive director of the Iowa Family Farm Development Authority.

The 69th General Assembly in 1981, created the Iowa Small Business Loan Program by enactment of H.F. 2464, to assist in the development and expansion of small business in Iowa, through the sale, by the Iowa Housing Finance Authority, of taxexempt bonds and notes. The program is assigned to the authority, with an initial bonding authority of \$50 million.

# **Industrial Commissioner, Iowa**

Workers' Compensation Service

### 507 - 10th St., Des Moines 50319

ROBERT C. LANDESS, commissioner; term expires 1985 WALTER J. BUCHELE, assistant JOSEPH M. BAUER, deputy commissioner LEE M. JACKWIG, deputy commissioner E. J. KELLY, deputy commissioner DAVID E. LINQUIST, deputy commissioner JUDITH ANN HIGGS, deputy commissioner DAVID B. MORANVILLE, deputy commissioner HELMUT MUELLER, deputy commissioner MARY M. WEIBEL, legal analyst MARIANNE E. GILLIAM, claim analyst LAURA HEEMSTRA, claim analyst CARRIE THOMAS, claim analyst WENDY K. WILSON, claim analyst

The Workers' Compensation Law was enacted by the 35th General Assembly in 1913. The industrial commissioner administers this law. Iowa was one of the first states to provide benefits for injuries, occupational diseases and occupational hearing loss sustained by industrial workers. Injuries resulting in death, permanent disability or temporary disability must be reported to the commissioner. If an agreement as to compensation cannot be reached, either the employee or employer may request a hearing before a deputy commissioner in a county of the judicial district where the injury occurred. Decisions are reviewed by the commissioner and may be appealed to a district court and the Supreme Court. Settlement agreements or awards may be reopened for three years after the last payment if the injured employee has a change of condition.

The industrial commissioner is a member of the Employment Agency License Commission, the Governor's Committee on Employment of the Handicapped and the State Employees Deferred Compensation Committee.

### Insurance, Commissioner of

Lucas Building, Des Moines 50319 Term four years. Appointed by the governor

BRUCE W. FOUDREE, insurance commissioner RICHARD S. BALDWIN, deputy commissioner and chief examiner TONY L. SCHRADER, deputy commissioner RICHARD C. HURST, deputy commissioner CRAIG GOETTSCH, superintendent of securities LANICE LUNDBERG, administrative officer

The office of commissioner of insurance, as the executive head of the Insurance Department of Iowa, was created by Chapter 146, of the laws of the 35th General Assembly (1913). The first commissioner took office on July 1, 1914. Previous to that time, the supervision of insurance had been under the direction of the auditor of state.