FINANCE AUTHORITY

Ted R. Chapler, executive director; 100 E. Grand Ave., Suite 250, Des Moines 50309; 515/242-4990 FAX 515/242-4957

JAMES BALMER, chair, Iowa City; term expires 1995 ELIZABETH COLBY PLAUTZ, vice chair; Ft. Dodge; term expires 1997 JAMES CRANE, treasurer, Emmetsburg; term expires 1999 MARGARET COLLISON, Oskaloosa; term expires 1997 DEBORAH KRAUTH, Ames; term expires 1999 DARWIN T. LYNNER, JR., Des Moines; term expires 2001 ROOSEVELT TAYLOR, Waterloo; term expires 2001 EARL YODER, Iowa City; term expires 1999

In 1975, the 66th General Assembly created the Finance Authority as a public instrumentality and agency to undertake programs which assist in the attainment of quality housing for low and moderate income Iowans by encouraging the investment of private capital and stimulating the construction and rehabilitation of adequate housing through the use of public financing. A nine-member board of directors, appointed by the governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate, serves in a policy-making capacity for the agency. The authority administers the title guaranty program, the housing assistance fund program, the mortgage credit certificate program, and the low income housing tax credit program. The authority issues bonds under its single family and multifamily housing programs, small business loan program and economic development bond bank program. The authority has also been authorized to cooperate with other state entities and to issue its bonds to provide financing for various state needs such as the Iowa sewage treatment works financing program, the Iowa comprehensive underground storage tank financing program, the E911 financing program, community college dormitory financing program, the rural community 2000 program, and the juvenile housing and treatment facilities program.

GENERAL SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF

Janet E. Phipps,, director; Hoover State Office Building, Level A, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-3196

The Department of General Services, created in 1971 by the 64th General Assembly of Iowa, is responsible for services formerly performed by the Executive Council of Iowa, Printing Board, Car Dispatcher, Communications, and Buildings and Grounds Department. Under the general direction and control of the governor, the Department of General Services is headed by a director who is appointed by the governor with the approval of two-thirds of the Senate. The following teams function within the department: Applications, Systems and Programming; Buildings and Grounds; Communications; Custodial Services; Customer Service; Administration and Purchasing; Data Operations; Design and Construction; Fleet and Mail; Printing and Records; and Technology, Education and Consulting. The director's office is staffed by the director and a secretary. The director serves as the secretary to the Capitol Planning Commission and the Records Commission.

Applications, Systems and Programming

Russ Bullard, team leader; Hoover State Office Building, Level B, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-8585

The Applications, Systems and Programming (ASAP) Team provides technical support for various enterprise systems such as IFAS, Payroll, Budget, and HRIS. Staff provide services at the request of agencies for consultation, design, system enhancements, testing, etc. In addition, Voter Registration staff provide data processing services for 68 counties which includes the use of a teleprocessing network for on-line record retrieval and maintenance, preparation of election registers, and creation of statistical and historical data.