Information on the Iowa State Fair

Every August hundreds of thousands of people from all over the Midwest flock to the Iowa State Fair, the state's great celebration, a salute to Iowa's best in agriculture, industry, entertainment, and achievement.

The fair is the home of a 20-acre farm machinery show, and the largest art show in the state. More than 600 exhibitors and concessionaires offer modern merchandise and quality foods. Large 4-H and FFA shows provide excellent educational opportunity for youngsters. Five stages of free entertainment are featured every day. The grandstand offers superstar stage shows and track events. History comes alive in Heritage Village, a tribute to Iowa's hardy pioneers.

The Iowa State Fair is one of the oldest agricultural and industrial expositions in the nation. The first was held in Fairfield, Iowa, in 1854, on a six-acre tract. The next year's fair was also held in Fairfield. From 1856 to 1879, the fair moved from city to city: Muscatine, 1856-1857; Oskaloosa, 1858-1859; Iowa City, 1860-1861; Dubuque, 1862-1863; Burlington, 1864-1866; Clinton 1867-1868; Keokuk, 1869-1870 and 1874-1875; Cedar Rapids, 1871-1873 and 1876-1878.

In 1879, the fair moved to Des Moines to stay. In 1884 the Iowa Legislature appropriated \$50,000 for the purchase of grounds in Des Moines on condition that the city raise an equal sum for site improvements. The 270-acre site was dedicated two years later. It continued to grow to its present size of 400 acres. The Iowa Fair was the inspiration for the novel and original motion pictures, "State Fair."

A separate fair board was created in 1923, consisting of the governor, the secretary of agriculture, the president of Iowa State University, one director from each congressional district and three directors at-large. Official delegates, representing Iowa's 103 county fairs and other agricultural associations, elect these directors at the annual State Agricultural Convention in December. The president and vice-president of the fair board are elected by the board from elected directors. The board also selects the secretary and the treasurer.

Operating expenses and capital improvements/repairs are paid for from revenue generated by the fair. The fairgrounds are used year-round as a meeting and exposition center, featuring such events as large trade and machinery shows; sports events; national livestock, horse, and dog shows; arts and crafts exhibitions; private gatherings; auto races; concerts; and a wide variety of other activities.

FINANCE AUTHORITY

Ted R. Chapler, executive director; 100 E. Grand Ave., Suite 250, Des Moines 50309; 515/242-4990

JAMES BALMER, chair, Iowa City; term expires 1995 ELIZABETH COLBY PLAUTZ, vice-chair; Ft. Dodge; term expires 1991 BETTY DAVIS, treasurer, Des Moines; term expires 1991 MARGARET CLEMENTS, Oskaloosa; term expires 1991 DEBORAH KRAUTH, Ames; term expires 1993 DARWIN T. LYNNER, JR., Des Moines; term expires 1995 ROOSEVELT TAYLOR, Waterloo; term expires 1995 EARL YODER, Iowa City; term expires 1993 VACANCY

In 1975, the 66th General Assembly created the Finance Authority as a public instrumentality and agency to undertake programs which assist in the attainment of quality housing for low and moderate income Iowans by encouraging the investment of private capital and stimulating the construction and rehabilitation of adequate housing through the use of public financing. A nine-member board of directors, appointed by the governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate, serves in a policy-making capacity for the agency. The authority administers the title guaranty program, the housing assistance fund program, the mortgage credit certificate program, and the low income housing tax credit program. The authority issues bonds under its single family and multifamily housing programs, small business loan program and economic development bond bank program. The authority has also been authorized to cooperate with other state entities and to issue its bonds to provide financing for various state needs such as the Iowa sewage treatment works financing program, the Iowa comprehensive underground storage tank financing program, the E911 financing program, community college dormitory financing program, the rural community 2000 program, and the juvenile housing and treatment facilities program.