## FINANCE AUTHORITY

Larry L. Tuel, executive director; 200 E. Grand Ave., Suite 222, Des Moines 50309; 515-281-4058

JAMES BALMER, vice-chair, Iowa City; term expires 1995 MARGARET CLEMENTS, Oskaloosa; term expires 1991 BETH COLBY-PLAUTZ, Ft. Dodge; term expires 1991 BETTY DAVIS, Des Moines; term expires 1991 DEBORAH KRAUTH, Cherokee; term expires 1993 DARWYN THOMAS (TOM) LYNNER, JR.; 1995 CLAYTON J. MOWERS, Algona; term expires 1993 ROOSEVELT TAYLOR, Waterloo; term expires 1995 EARL YODER, Iowa City; term expires 1993

The 66th General Assembly in 1975 created the Iowa Finance Authority. The authority administers programs for single-family mortgage loans for first-time homebuyers; multi-family housing for low and moderate income families; business; group homes; residential care facilities; mortgage credit certificates; low income housing tax credits; and real estate title guarantees.

## **GENERAL SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF**

Jack B. Walters, director; Hoover State Office Building, Level A, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-3196

The Department of General Services, created in 1971 by the 64th General Assembly of Iowa, is responsible for services formerly performed by the Executive Council of Iowa, Printing Board, Car Dispatcher, Communications, and Buildings and Grounds Department. Under the general direction, supervision, and control of the governor, the Department of General Services is headed by a director who is appointed by the governor with the approval of two-thirds of the Senate. The creation of the Department of General Services established a more efficient coordination of services provided to the various state departments. The majority of services provided — printing, purchasing, automobiles, etc. — are charged back to the various using agencies. There are approximately 465 employees in the Department of General Services.

The following divisions have been established within the Department of General Services: Director's Office, Administrative Services, Communications, Information Services, Printing and Mail, Property Management, Purchasing and Materials Management, Records Management, Risk Management, and Vehicle Dispatcher.

The director's office is staffed by the director and a secretary. In addition to management responsibilities involved with the various divisions of General Services, the director is also responsible for construction of new buildings and assignment and leasing of space at the seat of government. The director is also secretary to the Capitol Planning Commission.

## Administrative Services Division

Jerry D. Gamble, division administrator; Hoover State Office Building, Level A; Des Moines 50319; 515-281-7979

The Administrative Services Division provides administrative support to the other divisions of General Services. Accounting and budgets, word processing, special billing, reception, and payroll processing are the major sections in the division. Additional responsibilities include parking on the Capitol Complex, labor relations, and internal personnel policy activity.