Directors at Large

DON GREIMAN	.Garner
ED AHRENDSEN	Audubon
GAIL DANILSONW	oodward
(Ex-Officio Members of Fair Board)	
TERRY E. BRANSTAD, governor	s Moines
GORDON EATON, president, Iowa State University	Ames
DALE M. COCHRAN, secretary of agriculture	s Moines

Information on the Iowa State Fair

Every August hundreds of thousands of people from all over the midwest flock to the Iowa State Fair, the state's great celebration, a salute to Iowa's best in

agriculture, industry, entertainment and achievement.

The fair is the home of a 20-acre farm machinery show, and the largest art show in the state. More than 600 exhibitors and concessionaires offer modern merchandise and quality foods. Large 4-H and VoAg/FFA shows provide excellent educational opportunity for youngsters. Five stages of free entertainment are featured every day. The grandstand offers superstar stage shows and track events. History comes alive in Heritage Village, a tribute to Iowa's hardy pioneers.

The Iowa State Fair is one of the oldest agricultural and industrial expositions in the nation. The first was held in Fairfield, Iowa, in 1854, on a six-acre tract. Next year's fair was also held in Fairfield. From 1856 to 1879, the fair moved from city to city: Muscatine, 1856-57; Oskaloosa, 1858-59; Iowa City, 1860-61; Dubuque, 1862-63; Burlington, 1864-66; Clinton 1867-68; Keokuk, 1869-70 and 1874-75; Cedar

Rapids, 1871-73 and 1876-78.

In 1879, the fair moved to Des Moines to stay. In 1884, the Iowa Legislature appropriated \$50,000 for the purchase of grounds in Des Moines on condition that the city raise an equal sum for site improvements. The 270-acre site was dedicated two years later. It contined to grow to its present size of 400 acres. The Iowa Fair was the inspiration for the novel and original motion picture, "State Fair".

A separate fair board was created in 1923, consisting of the governor, the secretary of agriculture, the president of Iowa State University, one director from each congressional district and three directors-at-large. Official delegates, representing Iowa's 103 county fairs and other agricultural associations, elect these directors at the annual State Agricultural Convention in December. The president and vice president of the fair board are elected by the board from elected directors. The board also selects

the secretary and the treasurer.

Operating expenses are paid for from revenue generated by the fair and special legislative appropriations are used for capital improvements and repair. The fair-grounds are used year round as a meeting and exposition center, featuring such events as large trade and machinery shows; sports events; national livestock, horse and dog shows; arts and crafts exhibitions; private gatherings; auto races; concerts and a wide variety of other activities. The Iowa State Fair Board became a part of the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship during the 71st General Assembly. See p. 321.

FINANCE AUTHORITY, IOWA

William H. McNarney, executive director; 418 Sixth Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515-281-4058

LLOYD CLARKE, chair, Des Moines; term expires April 30, 1989 JAMES BALMER, vice chair, Iowa City; term expires April 30, 1989 BETH COLBY, treasurer, Mason City; term expires April 30, 1991 BETTY DAVIS, Des Moines; term expires April 30, 1991 MAX MCCORD, Indianola; term expires April 30, 1991 NEIL RONFELDT, Council Bluffs; term expires 1987 ROOSEVELT TAYLOR, Waterloo; term expires April 30, 1989 ELMER VERMEER, Sioux Center; term expires April 30, 1987 EARL YODER, Iowa City; term expires April 30, 1987

The 66th General Assembly, in 1975, created the Iowa Finance Authority to develop and undertake programs which assist in attainment of adequate housing for low or moderate income families, elderly families and families with one or more persons

who are handicapped or disabled.

The duties of the Authority are to utilize the proceeds of the sale of bonds and notes, federal grant and loan programs and local and private contributions, to provide loans and grants to eligible recipients for the purposes of financing single-family or multi-family housing, or small business and to monitor such programs and regularly account for same to the citizens of Iowa.

The 69th General Assembly in 1981 created the Iowa Small Business Loan Program by enactment of H.F. 2464 to assist in the development and expansion of small business in Iowa through the sale, by the Iowa Finance Authority, of tax-exempt bonds and

notes.

GENERAL SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF

Jack B. Walters, director; Hoover State Office Bldg., Level A, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-3196

The Department of General Services, created in 1971 by the 64th General Assembly of Iowa, is responsible for services formerly performed by the Executive Council of Iowa, Printing Board, Car Dispatcher, Communications, and Buildings and Grounds Department. Under the general direction, supervision and control of the governor, the Department of General Services is headed by a director who is appointed by the governor with the approval of two-thirds of the Senate. The creation of the Department of General Services established a more efficient coordination of services provided to the various state departments. The majority of services provided — printing, purchasing, automobiles, etc. — are charged back to the various using agencies. There are approximately 465 employees in the Department of General Services.

The following divisions have been established within the Department of General Services: Director's Office, Administrative Services, Buildings and Grounds, Communications, Information Services, Printing and Mail, Property Management, Purchasing and Materials Management, Records Management, Risk Management,

and Vehicle Dispatcher.

The director's office is staffed by the director, and a secretary. In addition to management responsibilities involved with the various divisions of General Services, the director is also responsible for construction of new buildings, and assignment and leasing of space at the seat of government. The director is also secretary to the Capitol Planning Commission.

Administrative Services Division

Jerry D. Gamble, division administrator; Hoover State Office Bldg., Level A; Des Moines 50319: 515-281-7979

The Administrative Services Division provides administrative support to the other divisions of General Services. Accounting and budgets, word processing, special billing, reception and payroll processing are the major sections in the division. Additional responsibilities include parking on the Capitol Complex, labor relations and internal personnel policy activity.

Buildings and Grounds Division

John W. Drummond, division administrator; Hoover State Office Bldg., Level A, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5300

The Administrator of the Division of Buildings and Grounds of the State Capitol Complex provides both preventive and/or emergency maintenance on all buildings and facilities on the Complex, including the expansive grounds, the sidewalks, drives, parking lots, accent and security lighting, undergound utilities, mechanical/electrical equipment and all physical property at the operational seat of Iowa State Government.

The current staffing of the division consists of 165 permanent full time employees. The division's administrative office includes the Administrator, Assistant Administrator and a Secretary, all based in the Hoover State Office Building. The Secretary provides complete general office and clerical duties as well as many varied administrative functions. This administrative team provides for the total operational supervision and work assignments to the division's staff, working with and through nine first line maintenance supervisors as follows: