HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 22

BY DOLECHECK, COSTELLO, COWNIE, and HAGENOW 1 A Resolution honoring Samantha Dilocker and Katelyn 2 Cinnamon, the Iowa Prudential Spirit of Community 3 Award winners for 2013. 4 WHEREAS, since 1995, Prudential Financial and the

5 National Association of Secondary School Principals 6 honor outstanding young volunteers on an annual basis, 7 whose school or community volunteer projects merit 8 special recognition as examples of outstanding civic 9 initiatives; and

WHEREAS, judges from each state select two state, 10 11 district, or commonwealth honorees who receive a 12 \$1,000 cash award, an engraved silver medallion, and an 13 all-expense paid trip to Washington, D.C., to compete 14 in a national competition for further recognition; and WHEREAS, Samantha Dilocker, a student at Red Oak 15 16 Middle School in Red Oak, and Katelyn Cinnamon, a 17 senior at Valley High School in West Des Moines, have 18 been named Iowa's top two youth volunteers for 2013 by 19 the Prudential Spirit of Community Awards; and WHEREAS, Samantha, an eighth-grade student, 20 21 initiated an annual auction benefiting a food pantry, 22 a scholarship fund, a community toy drive, and a child 23 suffering from cancer; and

24 WHEREAS, over a period of six years, those auctions, 25 held at the local Elks Lodge, have raised more than 26 \$14,000; and

27 WHEREAS, Katelyn Cinnamon, a twelfth-grade student,28 has raised thousands of dollars to purchase iPad

-1-

LSB 2297HH (2) 85 jr/nh

1/2

1 tablets for each exam room at the Blank Children's 2 Hospital Hematology/Oncology Clinic; and 3 WHEREAS, the tablets have already been delivered to 4 the clinic, while Katelyn continues her work to pay for 5 kids to attend an annual oncology camp where they can 6 enjoy typical camp activities; NOW THEREFORE, 7 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, 8 That the House of Representatives honors these two 9 remarkable young ladies, Samantha Dilocker and Katelyn 10 Cinnamon, for their dedication in service to others, 11 and congratulates them both as 2013 Prudential Spirit 12 of Community Award state honorees.