## House Resolution 49 - Introduced

PAG LIN

H.R. \_\_\_\_\_ S.R. \_\_\_\_

```
HOUSE RESOLUTION NO.
                          BY WESSEL=KROESCHELL
   3 A Resolution honoring the Iowa State University
          Cyclones Women's Basketball team.
WHEREAS, by any measure the 2008=2009 Iowa State
    6 University Women's Basketball season has been a
1
    7 remarkable success as the team finished number three
   8 in the nation in attendance, winning 27 games,
9 finishing third in the Big 12 Conference, and making
1
1 10 the Elite Eight of the 2009 National Collegiate
  11 Athletic Association (NCAA) Championship; and 12 WHEREAS, following a 23=7 regular season, where the
1 12
1 13 Cyclones played nine games against nationally ranked 1 14 opponents, the team, led by seniors Heather Ezell, 1 15 Amanda Nisleit, Nicky Wieben, Toccara Ross, and
1 16 Jocelyn Anderson earned a fourth seed in the NCAA
1 17 Championship's Berkeley, California Region; and
1 18
          WHEREAS, in the tournament the Cyclones beat
1 19 Michigan State University 69=68 to advance to the NCAA
1 20 Championship's Elite Eight for the second time in
1 21 school history, with that remarkable victory including 1 22 one of the greatest rallies in Iowa State history as
1 23 the Cyclones trailed by seven points with less than a
  24 minute and a half remaining in the game; and
  25
1
          WHEREAS, the Cyclones NCAA Championship run
1 26 included wins over East Tennessee State University and
  27 Ball State University; and
28 WHEREAS, following the tournament, senior Amanda
1
  29 Nisleit was named to the NCAA All=Region team; and
1
1
  30
         WHEREAS, for 14 seasons the Cyclones have been led
   1 by Iowa=born coach Bill Fennelly, the dean of Big 12 2 Conference coaches who is a three=time finalist for
2
    3 the Naismith Women's College Coach of the Year Award
2
    4 (2001, 2002, 2005), who has been voted Women's
   5 Basketball Coaches Association District 5 Coach of the
   6 Year twice (1999, 2005), and finished second in the 7 Associated Press' Women's Coach of the Year balloting
2
   8 in 1998; and
2
         WHEREAS, Coach Fennelly is ably assisted by
2 10 associate head coach Jack Easley, assistant coach Jodi
  11 Steyer, assistant coach Latoja Schaben, director of
2
2 12 basketball operations Josh Carper, and graduate
2 13 assistant Molly Parrott; and
2 14 WHEREAS, under Coach Fennelly the women's 2 15 basketball program has blossomed, attendance has grown
2 16 from an average of less than 1,000 per game to almost
2 17 10,000 per game currently, and the Cyclones have 2 18 posted their ninth 20=win season and 10th NCAA 2 19 appearance; NOW THEREFORE,
2 20
          BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES,
  21 That the House of Representatives congratulates Coach
  22 Fennelly, his staff, and the members of the Iowa State
23 University Cyclones Women's Basketball team for their
  24 outstanding performance in the 2008=2009 season, and
2 25 thanks them all for the honor they have brought both 2 26 to their university and to the State of Iowa.
2 27 LSB 2717HH 83
2 28 jr/rj/5
```