## Senate Resolution 129 - Introduced

PAG LIN

S.R. \_\_\_\_\_ H.R. \_\_\_\_

```
SENATE RESOLUTION NO.
                     BY DVORSKY, BOLKCOM, and SCHMITZ
  3 A Resolution honoring the University of Iowa Hawkeye
4 wrestling team and Coach Tom Brands for winning the
           2008 National Collegiate Athletic Association's
           (NCAA) team championship.
1
           WHEREAS, the 2008 NCAA championship is the 21st
1
   8 national championship in the Hawkeye wrestling
    9 program's storied history and the program's first
1 10 national championship since 2000; and 1 11 WHEREAS, the 2008 NCAA championship is Coach
1 12 Brands' first NCAA championship as head coach of the
1 13 Hawkeyes; and
1 14 WHEREAS, the Hawkeye wrestling team also posted a 1 15 21=1 overall record and ended the season with a
1 16 14=match winning streak; and
1 17
          WHEREAS, the Hawkeye wrestling team finished the
1 18 Big Ten regular season undefeated and captured the
1 19 program's 32nd Big Ten Conference title; and
  20 WHEREAS, seven Hawkeyes were named All=Americans, 21 including Charlie Falck of Strawberry Point, Iowa, in 22 the 125=pound weight class; Joe Slaton of Cedar
1 20
1
1 23 Rapids, Iowa, who was the runner-up in the 133-pound 1 24 weight class; Brent Metcalf of Davison, Michigan, in 1 25 the 149-pound weight class; Mark Perry of Stillwater,
1 26 Oklahoma, in the 165=pound weight class; Jay Borschel
  27 of Marion, Iowa, in the 174-pound weight class;
28 Phillip Keddy of Vernal, Utah, in the 184-pound weight
29 class; and Matt Fields of Lowden, Iowa, in the
1
1
  30 heavyweight class; and
           WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes, for the first time since
2
    2 1999, crowned two individual NCAA champions: Brent
   3 Metcalf, who finished the season with a record of 35=1
2
    4 and was also named the most outstanding wrestler at
2
    5 both the Big Ten and NCAA championships, and Mark
    6 Perry, who captured his second consecutive individual
2
    7 NCAA title; and
   8 WHEREAS, Brent Metcalf was also named the recipient 9 of the Dan Hodge Trophy as the nation's most dominant
2
2 10 wrestler; and
2 11 WHEREAS, the University of Iowa dominated the NCAA 2 12 championships by tallying 117.5 team points; and
         WHEREAS, Coach Brands was named the 2008 Big Ten
2 14 Coach of the Year and the 2008 National Wr
2 15 Coaches Association Coach of the Year; and
  14 Coach of the Year and the 2008 National Wrestling
2 16
          WHEREAS, Coach Brands has, throughout his career,
2 17 projected a positive image for Iowa and his
  18 student=athletes; NOW THEREFORE,
19 BE IT RESOLVED BY SENATE, That the Senate honors
2 19
  20 the University of Iowa Hawkeye wrestling team and
  21 Coach Brands for their 2008 NCAA wrestling 22 championship and the international honor and respect
  23 they have brought to the State of Iowa; and
           BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That, upon adoption, the
  24
2 25 Secretary of the Senate shall prepare an official copy 2 26 of this Resolution for presentation to Coach Brands
2 27 and the University of Iowa Hawkeye wrestling team.
  28 LSB 6636SS 82
2 29 md/nh/24.1
```