HOUSE FILE BY SWAIM and ARNOLD

	Passed House, Date Passed Senate, Date Vote: Ayes Nays Nays Nays Passed Senate, Date Nays Nay
	A BILL FOR
2 3 4	An Act relating to councils of governments by making technical changes and by designating a new council of governments area. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF IOWA: TLSB 1962HH 82 eg/gg/14
PAG	LIN

1 Section 1. Section 28H.1, unnumbered paragraph 1, Code 2 2007, is amended to read as follows: For purposes of this chapter, a council of governments

4 includes the following areas established by executive order number 11,1969 or a chapter 28E agreement:

Sec. 2. Section 28H.1, subsection 14, Code 2007, is 1 6 7 amended to read as follows:

14. Area fifteen regional planning commission serving 9 Appanoose, Davis, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lucas, Mahaska, Monroe,

1 10 Van Buren, and Wapello, and Wayne counties.
1 11 Sec. 3. Section 28H.1, Code 2007, is amended by adding the 1 12 following new subsection:

NEW SUBSECTION. 17. Chariton valley council of 1 14 governments serving Appanoose, Lucas, Monroe, and Wayne 1 15 counties.

1 16 EXPLANATION

1 17 This bill divides the area 15 regional planning commission 1 18 into two councils of governments. Area 15 will continue to 1 19 serve Davis, Jefferson, Keokuk, Mahaska, Van Buren, and 1 20 Wapello counties. A newly created council of governments, the 1 21 Chariton valley council of governments, will serve Appanoose, 22 Lucas, Monroe, and Wayne counties.

The bill strikes language stating that the council of 24 governments areas were established by executive order or a 1 25 Ghapter 28E agreement. The areas are established by Code 1 26 section 28H.1. Pursuant to Code section 28H.5, each council 1 27 of governments is also considered a public agency for purposes 1 28 of Code chapter 28E.

1 29 LSB 1962HH 82

1 30 eq:sc/qq/14

1

1