FILED FEB 12 104

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 114 1 2 DVORSKY and BOLKCOM BY 3 A Resolution honoring the nursing leaders at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics upon their 4 receipt of the Magnet Award for Nursing Excellence. 5 6 WHEREAS, the Magnet Nursing Services Recognition 7 Program was established in 1993 by the American Nurses 8 Association's American Nurses Credentialing Center, 9 the nation's largest and foremost accrediting and 10 credentialing organization for the nursing profession; 11 and WHEREAS, the Recognition Program recognizes health 12 13 care organizations that demonstrate sustained 14 excellence in nursing care and uphold the tradition 15 within nursing that supports professional nursing 16 practice; and 17 WHEREAS, the Recognition Program constitutes the 18 highest level of recognition that the American Nurses 19 Credentialing Center can accord to organized nursing 20 services in the national and international health care 21 communities; and 22 WHEREAS, the Recognition Program awards its coveted 23 honors only to hospitals that undergo a rigorous, 24 voluntary evaluation process, and that demonstrate 25 that they provide positive patient outcomes, recognize 26 excellence in nursing services, and reward 27 professional nursing achievement; and 28 WHEREAS, the University of Iowa Hospitals and 29 Clinics have been singled out as one of only about 100 30 hospitals in the United States and the first hospital

-1-

S.R. 114 H.R.

1 in the State of Iowa to receive the prestigious Magnet 2 Award for Nursing Excellence; and

3 WHEREAS, independent studies of Magnet hospitals 4 have shown that patients who receive care in such 5 centers average a shorter length of stay and have 6 higher rates of satisfaction, and that nurses working 7 in Magnet hospitals are more satisfied with their work 8 and the care they provide and remain in the workplace 9 for longer durations of time than do other nurses; and 10 WHEREAS, achieving Magnet status for the University 11 of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics was accomplished only 12 through the dedicated teamwork of many nursing 13 professionals led by Donna Katen-Bahensky, Director 14 and Chief Executive Officer of the University of Iowa 15 Hospitals and Clinics, and by Linda Q. Everett, Ph.D., 16 Associate Director and Chief Nursing Officer, and 17 assisted by Barbara J. (B. J.) Hannon; NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE, That the Senate 18 19 congratulates the nursing leaders at the University of 20 Iowa Hospitals and Clinics for receiving the Magnet 21 Award for Nursing Excellence, and expresses its 22 appreciation for the dedication of nursing 23 professionals at the University of Iowa, for their 24 devotion to patients, and for performing the essential 25 nursing care services which enable the University of 26 Iowa Hospitals and Clinics to provide such high-27 quality health care to Iowans and nonresidents alike; 28 and

29 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That official copies of 30 this resolution be prepared and presented to Dr. David

-2-

1 Skorton, President of the University of Iowa, to Donna 2 Katen-Bahensky, Director and Chief Executive Officer 3 of the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, and 4 to Linda Q. Everett, Associate Director and Chief 5 Nursing Officer of the University of Iowa Hospitals 6 and Clinics, to be shared with all nursing personnel 7 at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics in 8 recognition of the receipt of the prestigious Magnet 9 Award for Nursing Excellence. 

S.R. 114 H.R.

LSB 5998SS 80 rj/gg/14