

Historical Tables of the Iowa Legislature

Legislators Who Served as Elected State Officials

Includes legislators who served as Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Auditor of State, Treasurer of State, Secretary of Agriculture, or Attorney General of the state of Iowa.

Information updated through the 2024 Regular Session.

For complete listings of Elected State Officials, see the Iowa Official Register, Chapter 7 $\,$

		Years as
Name	State Office	State Official
William S. Allen	Secretary of State	1913 - 1919
Robert T. Anderson	Lieutenant Governor	1983 - 1987
Maurice E. Baringer	Treasurer of State	1969 - 1983
Elaine Baxter	Secretary of State	1987 - 1994
Charles Beardsley	Auditor of State	1886 - 1886
William S. Beardsley	Governor	1949 - 1954
George W. Bemis	Treasurer of State	1877 - 1881
Samuel L. Bestow	Lieutenant Governor	1892 - 1894
John L. Bleakly	Auditor of State	1909 - 1915
Robert D. Blue	Lieutenant Governor	1943 - 1945
Robert D. Blue	Governor	1945 - 1949
Josiah H. Bonney	Secretary of State	1848 - 1850
Terry E. Branstad	Lieutenant Governor	1979 - 1983
Terry E. Branstad	Governor	1983 - 1999
Terry E. Branstad	Governor	2011 - 2017
Ansel Briggs	Governor	1846 - 1850
William C. Brown	Treasurer of State	1913 - 1917
Henry C. Bulis	Lieutenant Governor	1871 - 1874
Howard W. Byers	Attorney General	1907 - 1911
Frank T. Campbell	Lieutenant Governor	1878 - 1882

		Years as
Name	State Office	State Official
Cyrus C. Carpenter	Governor	1872 - 1876
Beryl F. Carroll	Auditor of State	1903 - 1909
Beryl F. Carroll	Governor	1909 - 1913
Jonathan W. Cattell	Auditor of State	1859 - 1865
Jonathan W. Cattell	Auditor of State	1885 - 1886
Russell G. Clark	Secretary of Agriculture	1924 - 1924
George W. Clarke	Lieutenant Governor	1909 - 1913
George W. Clarke	Governor	1913 - 1917
David C. Cloud	Attorney General	1853 - 1856
Dale M. Cochran	Secretary of Agriculture	1987 - 1998
Joy C. Corning	Lieutenant Governor	1991 - 1999
George Cosson	Attorney General	1911 - 1917
Albert B. Cummins	Governor	1902 - 1908
Marsena E. Cutts	Attorney General	1872 - 1877
George L. Dobson	Secretary of State	1896 - 1901
Warren S. Dungan	Lieutenant Governor	1894 - 1896
Joseph Dysart	Lieutenant Governor	1874 - 1876
Enoch W. Eastman	Lieutenant Governor	1864 - 1866
Leo Elthon	Lieutenant Governor	1953 - 1954
Leo Elthon	Governor	1954 - 1955
Leo Elthon	Lieutenant Governor	1955 - 1957
Kenneth A. Evans	Lieutenant Governor	1945 - 1951
Robert D. Fulton	Lieutenant Governor	1965 - 1968
Robert D. Fulton	Governor	1969 - 1969
Warren Garst	Lieutenant Governor	1907 - 1908
Warren Garst	Governor	1908 - 1909
John H. Gear	Governor	1878 - 1882
Benjamin J. Gibson	Attorney General	1921 - 1927
Gilbert S. Gilbertson	Treasurer of State	1901 - 1907
James W. Grimes	Governor	1854 - 1858
Benjamin F. Gue	Lieutenant Governor	1866 - 1868
John Hammill	Lieutenant Governor	1921 - 1925
John Hammill	Governor	1925 - 1931
William L. Harding	Lieutenant Governor	1913 - 1917
William L. Harding	Governor	1917 - 1921
William C. Hayward	Secretary of State	1907 - 1913
Stephen Hempstead	Governor	1850 - 1854
Bourke B. Hickenlooper	Lieutenant Governor	1939 - 1943

		Years as
Name	State Office	State Official
Bourke B. Hickenlooper	Governor	1943 - 1945
Leo A. Hoegh	Attorney General	1953 - 1954
Leo A. Hoegh	Governor	1955 - 1957
William H. Holmes	Treasurer of State	1863 - 1867
Edwin H. Hoyt	Treasurer of State	1917 - 1921
Roger W. Jepsen	Lieutenant Governor	1969 - 1973
Patty Judge	Secretary of Agriculture	1999 - 2006
Patty Judge	Lieutenant Governor	2007 - 2011
Nathan E. Kendall	Governor	1921 - 1925
Clement F. Kimball	Lieutenant Governor	1925 - 1928
Samuel J. Kirkwood	Governor	1860 - 1864
Samuel J. Kirkwood	Governor	1876 - 1877
William Larrabee	Governor	1886 - 1890
James A. Lyons	Auditor of State	1887 - 1893
Orlando H. Manning	Lieutenant Governor	1882 - 1885
William B. Martin	Secretary of State	1901 - 1907
Cornelius G. McCarthy	Auditor of State	1893 - 1899
George W. McCleary	Secretary of State	1850 - 1856
James C. McClune	Auditor of State	1925 - 1927
William M. McFarland	Secretary of State	1891 - 1897
Arch W. McFarlane	Lieutenant Governor	1928 - 1933
John F. McJunkin	Attorney General	1877 - 1881
Edward J. McManus	Lieutenant Governor	1959 - 1961
Frank F. Merriam	Auditor of State	1899 - 1903
Samuel Merrill	Governor	1868 - 1872
James C. Milliman	Lieutenant Governor	1898 - 1902
John H. Mitchell	Attorney General	1937 - 1939
Ernest R. Moore	Lieutenant Governor	1917 - 1921
William L. Mooty	Lieutenant Governor	1961 - 1965
Willison W. Morrow	Treasurer of State	1907 - 1913
Charles W. Mullan	Attorney General	1901 - 1907
John R. Needham	Lieutenant Governor	1862 - 1864
Arthur A. Neu	Lieutenant Governor	1973 - 1979
Joshua G. Newbold	Lieutenant Governor	1876 - 1877
Joshua G. Newbold	Governor	1877 - 1878
William H. Nicholas	Lieutenant Governor	1951 - 1953
William H. Nicholas	Lieutenant Governor	1957 - 1959
Kenneth E. Owen	Secretary of Agriculture	1965 - 1966

		Years as
Name	State Office	State Official
Mathies Parrott	Lieutenant Governor	1896 - 1898
Paul D. Pate	Secretary of State	1995 - 1998
Paul D. Pate	Secretary of State	2015–
Alfred N. Poyneer	Lieutenant Governor	1890 - 1892
Samuel E. Rankin	Treasurer of State	1867 - 1873
John M. Rankin	Attorney General	1940 - 1947
Kim Reynolds	Lieutenant Governor	2011 - 2017
Kim Reynolds	Governor	2017-
Wayne M. Ropes	Secretary of State	1943 - 1947
Nicholas J. Rusch	Lieutenant Governor	1860 - 1862
John Russell	Auditor of State	1871 - 1875
John Scott	Lieutenant Governor	1868 - 1870
Elijah Sells	Secretary of State	1856 - 1863
Edward M. Smith	Secretary of State	1928 - 1931
Roby Smith	Treasurer of State	2023 -
William M. Stone	Governor	1864 - 1868
John Y. Stone	Attorney General	1889 - 1895
Daniel W. Turner	Governor	1931 - 1933
Richard C. Turner	Attorney General	1967 - 1978
John K. Valentine	Lieutenant Governor	1937 - 1939
Thomas J. Vilsack	Governor	1999 - 2007
Madison M. Walden	Lieutenant Governor	1870 - 1871
George A. Wilson	Governor	1939 - 1943
Lorne R. Worthington	Auditor of State	1965 - 1966
Ed Wright	Secretary of State	1867 - 1873
Josiah T. Young	Secretary of State	1873 - 1879
Jo Ann Zimmerman	Lieutenant Governor	1987 - 1991