COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date:	March 28, 2012		Place:	Room 103		
Convened:	3/28/2012 1:05 PM	Recessed:	Reconve	ened:	Adjourned:	3/28/2012 1:40 PM

- **Present:** Representatives Raecker-CH, Wagner-VC, Olson, T.-RM, Chambers, Cohoon, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Gaskill, Hagenow, Hall, Heaton, Heddens, Huseman, Lukan, Murphy, Rogers, Running-Marquardt, Schultz, Taylor, T., Watts, Wenthe, Winckler, Worthan
- Absent: None
- Excused: None

Representative Raecker called the Appropriations Committee meeting to order. Roll was called and a quorum was present. Minutes from the March 26, 2012 meeting were approved.

There were no bills assigned.

The Chair recognized Representative Schultz for opening remarks on HSB 670, an Act making appropriations to the department of workforce development and including effective date and retroactive applicability provisions. Questions and discussion followed. Representative Schultz was recognized for closing comments and moved the study bill, which passed, 22-0. Representatives excused: Dolecheck, Running-Marquardt, and Wenthe. HSB 670 will move to the House floor as a committee bill.

Republicans and Democrats went to caucus at 1:09 PM.

Representative Raecker reconvened the meeting at 1:23 PM.

The Chair recognized Representative Wagner for opening remarks on HF 2389, an Act establishing a rural Iowa primary care loan repayment program to be administered by the college student aid commission, a rural Iowa primary care trust fund, and making appropriations.

The Chair recognized Representative Wagner for opening remarks on amendment HF 2389.5502. With no further comments offered, Representative Wagner moved the amendment, which passed, short form.

The Chair recognized Representative Wagner for opening remarks on amendment HF 2389.5036. Discussion followed. Representative Wagner was recognized for closing comments and moved the amendment, which passed, 15-10. Representatives voting aye: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Representatives voting nay: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler.

The Chair recognized Representative Gaskill for opening remarks on amendment HF 2389.4536. Discussion followed. Representative Gaskill was recognized for closing comments and moved the amendment, which passed, short form.

Representative Raecker returned the committee to HF 2389. With no further comments offered, Representative Wagner was recognized for closing comments and moved the bill, which passed, 23-2. Representatives voting aye: Raecker, Wagner, Olson, Chambers, Cohoon, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Gaskill, Hagenow, Hall, Heaton, Heddens, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Running-Marquardt, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Wenthe, Winckler, Worthan. Representatives voting nay: Murphy, Taylor. HF 2389, as amended, will move to the House floor as a committee bill.

With no further business to come before the committee, Representative Olson moved to arise.

Representative J. Scott Raecker

Martha S. Raecker, Committee Secretary

_