## COMMITTEE MINUTES for TRANSPORTATION

**Date:** February 02, 2012 **Place:** Room 103

**Convened:** 2/2/2012 2:05 **Recessed: Reconvened: Adjourned:** 2/2/2012 2:50

PM PM

Present: Representatives Tjepkes-CH, Massie-VC, Lykam-RM, Arnold, Cohoon, Garrett, Hall,

Hanson, Huseman, Iverson, Murphy, Pearson, Petersen, Rasmussen, Rogers, Van

Engelenhoven, Watts, Wenthe, Windschitl, Wolfe, Worthan

**Absent:** None

**Excused:** None

Chair Tjepkes called the meeting to order. Chair Tjepkes dispensed with the roll and declared a quorum present.

The minutes of the previous meeting were approved as distributed.

Assignment of Bills HF 2202 Iverson, Chr., Arnold, Petersen HF 2180 Pearson, Chr., Windschitl, Murphy

Both Republicans and Democrats caucused from 2:05 p.m. to 2:20 p.m.

Chair Tjepkes reconvened the meeting.

Discussion of Bills:

HF 2028

Chair Tjepkes recognized Representative Lykam for opening remarks on HF 2028, a bill for an act allowing a veteran to request that the veteran's driver's license or nonoperator's identification card be marked with the word "VETERAN" to indicate veteran status.

Following opening remarks, Representative Lykam introduced Amendment HF .3534. Following opening remarks on the Amendment, Rep. Lykam moved the Amendment which passed on a voice vote. Representative Lykam was recognized for closing remarks on HF 2028 as amended. Representative Lykam moved passage of HF 2028 as amended which passed unanimously. Chair Tjepkes announced that HF 2028 as amended, having received a Constitutional majority, would pass to the Floor of the House as a committee bill.

## HF 2048

Chair Tjepkes recognized Representative Rogers for opening remarks on HF 2048, a bill for an act prohibiting the use of automated traffic law enforcement systems, and including effective date provisions. Representative Rogers was recognized for opening remarks on HF 2048 and indicated that there are amendments.

Representative Wenthe was recognized for opening remarks on Amendment HF .3580. Following discussion, Representative Wenthe was recognized for closing comments. Representative Wenthe moved the Amendment HF .3580 and asked for a record vote. The Amendment failed with 8 aye votes and 13 nay votes. Those voting aye were Representatives Lykam, Cohoon, Hall, Hanson, Murphy, Petersen, Wenthe, Wolfe. Those voting nay were Representatives Tjepkes, Massie, Arnold, Garrett, Huseman, Iverson, Pearson, Rasmussen, Rogers, Van Engelenhoven, Watts, Windschitl, Worthan.

Representative Rogers introduced Amendment HF .3576. Representative Rogers was recognized for opening remarks. Following opening remarks, Amendment HF .3576 passed on a voice vote. Following discussion, Representative Rogers was recognized for closing remarks on HF 2048 as amended. Representative Rogers moved passage of HF 2048 as amended which passed with 15 aye votes and 6 nay votes. Those voting aye were Representatives Tjepkes, Massie, Arnold, Garrett, Hall, Huseman, Iverson, Murphy, Pearson, Rasmussen, Rogers, Van Engelenhoven, Watts, Windschitl, Worthan. Those voting nay were

Representatives Lykam, Cohoon, Hanson, Petersen, Wenthe, Wolfe.
Chair Tjepkes announced that HF 2048 as amended, having received a Constitutional majority, would pass to the Floor of the House as a committee bill.
There being no further business, Representative Petersen moved to adjourn.
Representative David A. Tjepkes
Jean Olson, Committee Secretary