COMMITTEE MINUTES for TRANSPORTATION

Date:	March 02, 2011	Place:	Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber		
Convened:	3/2/2011 1:05 Recessed: PM	Reconve	ened: Adjourned: 3/2/2011 PM		
Present:	Representatives Tjepkes-CH, Massie-VC, Lykam-RM, Arnold, Cohoon, Garrett, Hall, Hanson, Huseman, Iverson, Murphy, Pearson, Petersen, Rasmussen, Rogers, Van Engelenhoven, Watts, Wenthe, Windschitl, Wolfe, Worthan				
Absent:	None				
Excused:	None				

Chair Tjepkes called the meeting to order. Roll was taken and a quorum present.

The minutes of the previous meeting were approved as distributed.

Chair Tjepkes assigned the following bills: HF 79 Pearson, CH., Van Engelenhoven, Lykam HSB 143 Tjepkes, CH., Van Engelenhoven, Lykam

Both parties caucused from 1:10 to 1:23 p.m.

Chair Tjepkes reconvened the meeting and recognized Rep. Pearson for opening remarks on HF 79, an act concerning a study of the unlawful use of persons with disabilities parking spaces. Rep. Pearson introduced Amendment 894 and was recognized for opening remarks on the amendment. Following discussion, Rep. Pearson moved Amendment 894 which passed short form on a voice vote.

Rep. Pearson was recognized for closing remarks on HF 79 as amended. Rep. Pearson moved passage of HF 79 as amended which passed the Transportation Committee with a vote of 21 yes 0 no. Chair Tjepkes announced that HF 79 as amended, having received a constitutional majority would pass to the Floor of the House as a committee bill.

Chair Tjepkes relinquished the Chair to Vice Chair Massie.

Chair Massie recognized Rep. Tjepkes for opening remarks on HSB 143, an act concerning implementation of a statewide program for electronic registration and titling of vehicles and including effective date provisions. Rep. Tjepkes introduced Amendment 924 and was recognized for opening comments. Following discussion, Rep. Tjepkes moved Amendment 924 which passed short form on a voice vote.

Rep. Tjepkes was recognized for closing remarks on HSB 143 as amended. Rep. Tjepkes moved passage of HSB 143 as amended which passed the Transportation Committee with a vote of 21 yes 0 no. Chair Massie announced that HSB 143 as amended, having received a constitutional majority, would pass to the Floor of the House as a committee bill.

Chair Massie returned the Chair to Rep. Tjepkes.

There being no further business to come before the committee, Rep. Rasmussen moved we adjourn.

Representative David A. Tjepkes

Jean Olson, Committee Secretary