## COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

**Date:** January 12, 2010 **Place:** Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber

Convened: 1/12/2010 Recessed: 1/12/2010 Reconvened: 1/12/2010 Adjourned: 1/12/2010

2:05 PM 2:55 PM 4:05 PM 7:15 PM

Present: Representatives Wendt-CH, Ficken-VC, May-RM, Abdul-Samad, Bukta, Chambers, Cohoon,

Cownie, Dolecheck, Ford, Forristall, Kelley, Koester, Mascher, Miller, L., Palmer, Raecker,

Steckman, Sweeney, Thede, Tymeson, Willems, Winckler

**Absent:** None

**Excused:** None

The meeting convened at 2:04 pm.

Attendance was taken.

Minutes from the last meeting, March 25th, 2009, were approved.

The chair assigned the following bills.

HF 2001 (Ch) Winckler, Koester, Bukta

HSB 526 (Ch) Wendt, Steckman, Chambers

HSB 527 (Ch) Wendt, Ficken, May

HSB 528 (Ch) Ficken, Wendt, Tymeson

HSB 531 (Ch) Wendt, Chambers, Steckman

The Chair asked for unanimous consent to consider HSB 527 as a subcommittee of the whole. The subcommittee of the whole recessed to caucus at 2:10 pm.

The Chair recessed the committee at 2:55 until 4:00 pm on Jan 12, 2010.

The Chair reconvened the committee, as a subcommittee as a whole at 4:05 pm. Representative Wendt turned the Chair over to Representative Ficken. The Chair recognized Representative Wendt for discussion on HSB 527. The Chair brought HSB 527 to vote for the subcommittee. HSB 527 passed by voice vote to the full committee. Subcommittee of the whole was dissolved and the Chair recognized Representative Wendt for remarks on HSB 527.

Representative Wendt moved HSB 527. The bill was passed with 19 ayes and 4 nays. Voting ayes were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, Abdul-Samad, Bukta, Chambers, Cohoon, Cownie, Dolecheck, Ford, Kelley, Mascher, Miller L., Palmer, Raecker, Steckman, Sweeney, Thede, Willems and Winckler. Voting nays were Representatives May, Forristall, Koester, Tymeson.
HSB 527 will move to the floor as a committee bill. Representative Ficken returned the chair to Representative Wendt.

The committee briefly recessed at 5:15 pm for Republican caucus and returned at 5:19 pm. The Chair asked for unanimous consent to move to subcommittee of the whole for consideration of HSB 526.

The Chair moved suspension of Rule 57 for HSB 526. The motion passed with 13 ayes and 10 nays. Voting ayes were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, Abdul-Samad, Bukta, Cohoon, Ford, Kelley, Mascher, Palmer, Steckman, Thede, Willems and Winckler. Voting nays were May, Chambers, Cownie, Dolecheck, Forristall, Koester, Miller L., Raecker, Sweeney and Tymeson.

The Chair turned the chair to Representative Ficken. The Chair recognized Representative Wendt for comments on HSB 526. The Chair brought HSB 526 to vote for the subcommittee. HSB 526 passed by voice vote to the full committee. Subcommittee of the whole was dissolved and the Chair recognized Representative Wendt for remarks on HSB 526.

Representative Wendt moved HSB 526. The bill was passed with 23 ayes and 0 nays. Voting ayes were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, May, Abdul-Samad, Bukta, Chambers, Cohoon, Cownie, Dolecheck, Ford, Forristall, Kelley, Koester,

Mascher, Miller L., Palmer, Raecker, Steckman, Sweeney, Thede, Tymeson, Willems and Winckler.
HSB 526 will move to the floor as a committee bill unanimously.
Representative Ficken returned the chair to Representative Wendt.

The Chair turned the Chair over to Representative Ficken. Representative Wendt was recognized for opening comments on HSB 531.

The Chair moved suspension of Rule 57 for HSB 531. The motion passed with 13 ayes and 10 nays. Voting ayes were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, Abdul-Samad, Bukta, Cohoon, Ford, Kelley, Mascher, Palmer, Steckman, Thede, Willems and Winckler. Voting nays were May, Chambers, Cownie, Dolecheck, Forristall, Koester, Miller L., Raecker, Sweeney and Tymeson. The Chair asked for unanimous consent to move to subcommittee of the whole for consideration of HSB 531.

The Chair recognized Representative Wendt for comments on HSB 531. HSB 531 passed from subcommittee with voice vote and the subcommittee was dissolved to the full committee.

The Chair recognized Representative Wendt for comments on HSB 531. Representative Wendt moved HSB 531. HSB 531 was passed with 23 ayes and 0 nays. Voting ayes were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, May, Abdul-Samad, Bukta, Chambers, Cohoon, Cownie, Dolecheck, Ford, Forristall, Kelley, Koester, Mascher, Miller L., Palmer, Raecker, Steckman, Sweeney, Thede, Tymeson, Willems and Winckler. HSB 531 will move to the floor as a committee bill unanimously. Representative Ficken returned the chair to Representative Wendt.

The Chair returned the chair to Representative Wendt. The Chair recessed for caucus for both parties at 5:45 pm. The Committee reconvened at 6:45 pm. The Chair assigned the following bill HSB 544 (Ch) Ficken, Tymeson and Wendt. The Chair asked for unanimous consent to move to subcommittee of the whole for consideration of HSB 544.

The Chair moved suspension of Rule 57 for HSB 544. The motion passed with 12 ayes and 10 nays. Voting ayes were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, Abdul-Samad, Cohoon, Ford, Kelley, Mascher, Palmer, Steckman, Thede, Willems and Winckler. Voting nays were May, Chambers, Cownie, Dolecheck, Forristall, Koester, Miller L., Raecker, Sweeney and Tymeson. Representative Bukta was absent for the vote.

Representative Ficken was recognized for comments on HSB 544. HSB 544 was moved from subcommittee by voice vote and the subcommittee was dissolved back to the full committee.

Representative Ficken was recognized for comments on HSB 544. The Committee recessed for Republican caucus at 7:15 pm and reconvened at 7:20 pm. Representative Ficken moved HSB 544. HSB 544 passed with 23 ayes and 0 nays. Voting aye were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, May, Abdul-Samad, Bukta, Chambers, Cohoon, Cownie, Dolecheck, Ford, Forristall, Kelley, Koester, Mascher, Miller L., Palmer, Raecker, Steckman, Sweeney, Thede, Tymeson, Willems and Winckler. HSB 544 will move to the floor as a committee bill unanimously.

Representative Kelley adjourned the meeting at 7:26 pm.

Representative Roger F. Wendt	
Erica L. Shannon, Committee Secretary	